Release the...

in #thoughts5 years ago

It couldn't escape...The barriers holding it in were firmly locked, secure, seemingly impregnable. It waited though, sometimes patient, and at other times like a coiled beast preparing to pounce...But the constraints held firm, the way forward utterly blocked. It wouldn't take much for it to slip its bonds, for it to issue-forth upon the world stalking its prey, the ultimate goal, and yet it was held, firmly in check...Or was it?

My flight landed in Launceston, Tasmania last night. It's the island-State of Australia being the only State not actually attached to the mainland.

I'm here to see my brother who will be attending his graduation ceremony at the university. He has completed his nautical engineering degree and I wanted to represent the family at the ceremony as the rest cannot due to being disbursed all over the world.

So, here I am...I'm not unhappy about it though as I haven't seen this brother for years and am glad to do so and on such a momentous occasion.

You see, he's been very busy working on this degree over the several years it takes to gain and simply didn't have the time, or financial ability, to fly around visiting people...He was too busy unlocking his potential. Hmm, what is this potential I speak of?

It's potential my first paragraph refers to actually. You were probably wondering how that fitted in right?

We all have it within us, just waiting for us to call on it but for many it's locked away, untapped and unused - Left dormant to waste away like last week's Chinese food in the back of the refrigerator.

But it doesn't need to be. It's there within us all and we can all reach it, release it and use it to our own ends. Many people have done so and many people have achieved amazing results.

I think many don't tap into it as they feel comfortable in the position, or reality, they currently hold - It's often the fear of failure that holds one back...Yes, that old chestnut. But potential resides there in us all and simply waits for the individual to find the right attitude, ownership, determination, need and responsibility to tap into it.

My brother has done so and I'm proud of his effort. It has not been easy financially or emotionally as he left his wife home to embark on this journey; He really had no choice after being made redundant at his previous job as an electrical engineer. There was no option other than passing too, which he did with a Credit. Good enough.

I'm not sure how my brother will feel as he puts on that stupid gown and hat thing; I'll never know as I'm not a university graduate however I'm pretty sure he'll be pleased, and that's how it should be.

I'm not one to say things like, "you can be or do anything you want to be or do," because that's just not true...I can't be the President of the United States for instance, or Pinocchio or a unicorn...I'm a realist and don't see any point in building people up for failure. But what I can do...What we all can do is take the steps to unlock our potential, to find it within to be our best, do our best and to constantly seek that state of being...In that way we are better placed to walk the road that leads us to our goals. (If one has them of course.)

Anyway, I'm off to watch my brother walk on stage in a dress and a stupid hat and will beam with pride when he does. Sure, he's moved on to a job in his field, a great salary and the rest of his life, but I know that the ability, and willingness, to tap into his potential will stay with him...That kind of awesome always does.

I'd be keen to know if any of you nutbags (said with love) had had experiences when you've had to dig deep, to unlock that potential lying dormant within...Please comment.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

I think potential is infinite and every day we get to be a better or worse version of ourselves depending on how we handle the things that come up. I've felt many times like "this is it, I'm riding the wave", only to be washed ashore naked and having to start all over. By now I think it's an eternal process of create, destroy and create again.

Yes, recreation of self is important for growth and as one travels through life it occurs many times, or so I have found.

Thank you for dropping by and commenting.

I love how you implement your reflections along with your story! You've motivated me to start writing again which I haven't done for a while. :)

Thank you for saying so and I'm honoured to have offered you some inspiration to begin writing again. I look forward to seeing your work. 🙂

Beautifully written and congradulations to your brother! That is so awesome. What a hard path to take and how amazing he must feel, having finally achieved his goal! You might just have to get drunk for the fourth time, at the very least have some sparkling cider (it's pretty good too.) Cheers to success and unlocking potential!

Thanks mate, I appreciate you saying so. Yep, really proud of my brother considering the journey he had to take. I'm not sure if tonight will be the 4th time I'm drunk...But I'll certainly pay for these nautical architect's to get that way...bloody difficult degree and they deserve it! We're out for dinner tonight.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 17000 replies. Your next target is to reach 17500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Just checked and I have a nut bag, Hope Tassie is giving you good weather for the time with the bro.

Posted using Partiko Android

Weather has been good actually, partially cloudy but mainly sunny. The graduation we t really well. Off to dinner now and some celebrating.

Howdy sir galenkp! That had to be a great experience, you probably wrote more about it. Didn't you have to wear that getup for your high school graduation?

I actually never completed high school Jon - That's why I'm so dumb.

Really! wow, that's amazing. Over here you can't get any job without a high school diploma. You didn't need it anyway!

Maybe different here.

I went to work in a GM auto plant, ended managing a division of 500 people after 14 years, did some other stuff for a couple years (in retail management) then started in property. Been there since. I have a Diploma (here the level of qualification just below a degree) so am able to own my own company in this industry as I have done...But yeah, only did 50% of my last year at school.

I don't think it's affected me too much. I never got to wear a Harry Potter gown and one of those funny hats though. 😃

I'm glad it is different there! You didn't need no stinkin diploma!

Haha, yeah I think I've done ok. All my life all I wanted to be was a fireman anyway so I wasn't ever going to be a rocket scientist.

Well being a scientist would be too boring for you, studying and doing tests in a lab all day and such.

True...I'm more a lab-rat myself...You know, study what actually is in my head...If anything.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68