Benjamin Schwartz aka fatpandadesign : We are here for you (Part II)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #theunmentionables7 years ago (edited)

I start my post by saying thanks to those that has contributed in one form or another. Your every effort to assist in this donation drive counts. It means a lot to me whether your effort is any of the following:

i) Upvoting;
ii) Resteeming;
iii) Curating;
iv) Creating awareness; or
v) Direct donation.

My heartfelt thanks to those that has donated generously and they are as follows:

i) @holbein81
ii) @elizacheng
iii) @coloringiship
iv) @storcogato
for their generous contribution of 5 SBD to me on behalf of @fatpandadesign. I had also used part of the donation to upvote the post titled ‘Benjamin Schwartz aka fatpandadesign : We are here for you’ by using a minnowbooster and the upvote received was $7.62 and a beautiful picture of a selfgoat.

In the entire campaign, we receive many words of encouragement and the entire group #theunmentionables had stood firmly behind a family member which is our beloved panda. I am running this second posting with the following intention:

i) To maintain full accountability for the money received and spent throughout this donation drive;
ii) To update concerned members the current condition of our ailing buddy.

Currently Ben (@fatpandadesign) has stopped all painkillers despite being in pain. The heavy doses prescribed renders him incapable of running his daily activities and he would rather tolerate the pain and continue because the income he gets from auditing websites (which is day job) is helping him pay the bills. I was shocked when I asked for photos of the painkillers that he was prescribed with, it looks as if he can start his own drug store.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

This is the image scan of the problem that Ben is facing:

SCANS Collage.jpg

Current Condition

The professional treating Ben has more or less singled out the problem to be stemming from L3 and L4 which affects the nerves. Ben has to bear with the shooting never pain that causes numbness from the kneecap right down to the toes. It has been singled out as nerve damage and woud require a neurosurgeon’s attention and will lead to surgery. Something which is really expensive which Ben would not be able to afford in Malaysia. So, he has made a very tough call to return to the States and utilise his healthcare insurance and nurse himself back to health after the Steemfest in Lisbon.

Hence there is a gap where he has to bear and manage his pain. There is also the costs of travelling back to the States to seek treatment.

How the Condition Started

If you guys had been following @fatpandadesign’s postings, you would have been aware that he was attacked in Thailand and knocked unconscious twice and these are the exact words that I picked from his blog,

‘I tried to stand up, and when I did my left ankle twisted and I instantly fell. I tried to stand again and realized that I couldn't put pressure on either legs - they had beaten the absolute shit out of my legs. With what, i'm not sure...’

The problem with the leg did not cease and of late, the pain has become unmanageable whereby prescribed drugs must be diagnosed.

Here I include the link to the previous post that I had written for Ben.

https://steemit.com/theunmentionables/@perennial/benjamin-schwartz-aka-fatpandadesign-we-are-here-for-you

Again, I hope that this post will assist Ben in small ways. It would not be sufficient but it will definitely lighten the load that Ben has been carrying all these while. We care for you like a brother!


Life has given you the beatdown,
But you are not yet down,
For life has shown you there is love,
When you least expect love.
Life has been harsh and has served you hell,
But you had not yield nor yell,
We wish to see you well,
For the little we do, you could tell.
Please do stand back up,
The ride maybe rough but we got your butt,
Pandas maybe clumsy but they are hell of a fighter,
Believe me not, go watch Po.

quotes.jpg

pandaonwhale.gif

Get well soon Panda. We got your back.

Sort:  

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @ackhoo! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Upvoted, resteemed, & $5SBD sent.

"You have two hands..."

But only one mouth, that's a surplus by definition, why not share your good fortune because, but for the grace of philanthropy, you may some day find yourself in need of the benefit of something you never cultivated.

Thank you sir. May the Lord return your deeds in the form of contentment. May u be blessed with love.

We have one mouth...its meant to speak good. We have one heart which is to love fully. Take care brother.

Thank you SO much @Neuromancer - your support is so greatly appreciated. It is so comforting to know that the people I try to help as much as possible are willing to help me at the drop of a dime.

We truly have one amazing community, and @perennial is amazing for even doing this for me.

One can only work with what one has at their disposal, and what I have around me here in steemit is very motivating.

STEEM ON!

@perennial you have shown me true friendship and you have all been the family i needed during these trials and tribulations. Dumping 103 Oxy 10's/20's down the toilet, as a former heroin addict, was one of the hardest things I've ever done in my life.

Especially since I was "legally" allowed to take them and truly need them for pain. I refuse to do it. I will never go down addiction road again - it's destroyed everything I've ever built, the people I love, and most of all, myself.

I watched someone OD and die of a heroin overdose in Vancouver 10 months ago. 2 days later I OD'ed and required 3 narcan hits to be brought back.

FUCK addiction. I will never ever EVER go down this road again. I'll deal with the pain until I make it back to where I have insurance.

Thank you so much for all you've done for me. You've shown and taught me so much about what it means to give selflessly and honestly, it's helping me grow as a leader.

I love you brother.

U wont walk down that alley again. Not after what we have shown u.

The community has got your back Panda.
Just goes to show putting your faith in humanity is worth it.
I'd honestly given up on it before I came to Steemit, but stuff like this and other kind acts I witness here on a daily basis has changed my mind. Feel better my man and really great job @perennial

Many people has done it for me before, hence i have yet to give up on this world.

Good on ya buddy 😉

Sorry to hear about this but glad that you are able to put something together to help him out! Hopefully he can get back to the US soon and get some help.

Tq for the support.

@parennial You are an awesome friend, @fatpandadesign will get well soon as he need to go to Steem Fest

We are all very hopeful.

Thanks for making sure our lovable Panda gets support. He's created a community that so many of us have fallen in love with. So glad we do our part to help! ❤️❤️❤️ Resteemed!

Thank you for such kind words, @Karencarrens - it means so much to me. Being able to help this community grow has honestly done just as much for me to grow as a man as it may have for others to grow in other ways. I am so proud to have all of you here with me.

Brother one thing I will advise you is this. Don't do the surgery unless you have run out of every option available but the surgery. Once you get the surgery you spine will never be the same like it was. Make sure you look for any kind of alternative medicine to modern medicine before you decide to go under the knife. This is my warm advice to you, and I actually got an idea for you which you might consider in the future. But, contact me privately for it. @fatpandadesign :)

@perennial this is an amazing thing you are doing for your friend. Hats off to you my friend. Only people with good hearts and soul would do this for other people.

Have an amazing day. :)

I kinda do agree with @awakentolife. So sorry I haven't been tuned in to what's happening, @fatpandadesign ... I'm not sure how many doctors or medical/traditional medicine practitioners you have seen, but if you care to check out another, I have here - Dr Alsagoff whom I met when I suffered a slipped disc years ago. Not a major condition but a lifelong one - but he recommended no surgery for my condition (just management through nerve-strengthening exercises and some meds - currently I'm only on vit. Bs) which is why I think he might be a good doctor to talk and seek consultation with before deciding next steps. My prayers are with you to overcome this hurdle, bro...

I have been around sports so long and surgery, in my opinion, is the last possible option. Your doctor recommended a good thing. If you have proper treatment and exercises you can relive and eliminate the pain in the future. Thank you for input my amazing friend. @ackhoo

I am thinking of taking panda to a chiropractor. But again i am also cautious because it involves the nerves.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54