Focus Stacked Macro Photography - Killer Spider!

in #thesteemengine6 years ago (edited)

My husband shouted from the garden... 'Babe, get your camera!'

I ran outside thinking there was an eagle or a koala or something cute in the woods he wanted me to take a picture of... but no!

Here it is.... (My arachnophobia is going crazy right now! lol) A freaky looking spider...

g8uvckvfa1.jpg

This spider is a typical common Garden Spider found in the UK, however it was an unusual colour. Usually they are much darker, whereas this one didn't appear to have any pigment.

3gjsd43cwo.jpg

Don't forget to click the images for the full screen effect... if you dare!

These photos are my own taken using my Nikon D5300 and my 90mm Macro Lens. I also used focus stacking (adobe PS cc) to get a more detailed image.

Thank you for visiting!

Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

He is absolutely beautiful. So are your pictures. I live rather comfortably with spiders -- as long as they're not too big ... and as long as the big ones aren't too close to me.

Whenever a fairly large one skitters across my desk ... or my lap -- and yes, in New Mexico this is part of "living here" ... I grab an empty tomato sauce can kept nearby especially for the purpose and try to scoop it in there ... so The Weasel can take it back outside and life can continue -- for all of us. Otherwise the cats are liable to catch them and kill them, and I don't like when that happens.

We usually have some gorgeous orb weavers -- which is also a pretty big spider ... spinning webs outside our studio windows (where we keep lights on at night ... so it attracts "dinner" for them.) We've also had several from time to time out on the front porch.

But this year, for some reason we've haven't had any -- and the flies have been just atrocious. I'll be so glad when the cold weather finally kills these f**kers. But I've missed having the spiders this season ... for more reasons than that. They are lovely. And they are fascinating to watch.

I have to admit they are fascinating to watch when they are working at building their webs but I have a huge fear of them. I don't think I could be as brave as you! Luckily the spiders in the UK are harmless and don't tend to get too big but they still scare the bejeebies out of me when the sprint across the room haha

Woah, so much detail in those photographs! Glad that I'm not afraid of spiders, otherwise I couldn't be looking at it I think.

Yes, it was pretty hard to edit the pictures with my arachnophobia but I managed it! I think I am trying to cure myself through photography lol

Whoa!! Oh my gosh I couldn’t look straight on at these pictures. I did get a glimpse of how clear they are, wow you took some amazing shots. But I don’t dare, spiders creep me. Yikes I saw the hairs!! 😱

Thank you! I know exactly what you mean! It took me ages to be able to edit the pictures because looking at it freaked me out even more! Especially the hairs haha

OMG that looks nasty. How brave are you :)

I had someone on Facebook say it looked cute! CUTE!!!! lol

They must be mad, they need serious help... Lol

The Navajos consider spider spirit to be special and sacred. (And something you don't want to mess with.) I feel quite honored to have ours (as described in my comment further down.)

I certainly wouldn't be messing with them haha

Love it! Macro photography is hard but it's so exciting when you nail the shot!

How many images is this one? I'm guessing 4.

I love macro! :D It is my favourite style of photography. I really want to learn how to do it properly. I am new to photoshop and lightroom too so lots of learning to do!

Yes, I think I used 4 or 5 pictures each for these 2 images :)

Awesome. Macro is so hard which makes it fun!

Yes, I had to get waaaaay too close for way too long to get the pictures haha

That's because the closer you are to your subject - the less depth of field you have. :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Urgh - I'm not a fan of spiders....especially ones that look big enough to have a surname.

Hahaha that made me chuckle! 😂😂

It's beautiful. And that from not the world's biggest spider fan.

Thank you for it! Too bad it wasn't a Koala. That would have been big news.

Yes, a Koala would have been a much better subject haha xD

Whoa, so beautiful when you see them this large. I wonder if this mutation will breed into more and you'll find more this colour in your garden next year when it's thousands of babies hatch (not to freak you out)

Oh no!!! Now I am going to be having nightmares about these things invading my house! haha

OMG! I would not have been able to take of picture of that! Kudos to you for taking such great shots!

Thank you! I kept saying to my husband 'it better not move or I am off!' haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35