Can You Fill Up A Bucket If It Has Multiple Holes?

in #thealliance7 years ago


Source: Image

Have you thought about why when we travel on an airplane, they always ask us to buckle up our seat-belts during takeoff and landing, but then the seat-belt lights go off during most of the flight? I’ve given that some thought during one of my recent trips by airplane, and I found out some interesting analogy between us buckling up our seat-belts on airplanes and our personal growth and development journey.


Source: Image

Notice when do they ask us to buckle up our seat-belts. It's when the plane is taking off. Why is that? Because of the turbulence and strong air resistance while the engines are reaching their full power. So, when you're going through some changes in your life where you're growing because of those new circumstances and your limits are being pushed, you need to have a safety net. Safety nets can be achieved by one or more of the following actions / qualities:

  1. Seeking the advice of a coach / mentor
  2. Using your critical thinking ability
  3. Not rushing into risks without measuring them
  4. Being prepared
  5. Taking a gradual step-by-step approach
  6. Analyzing the pros and cons for any new venture
  7. ...what other safety nets can you think of? (Please add any in the comment section)

Those safety nets are considered to be buckling up your seat-belt. You need to grow, take risks, explore new frontiers, develop new habits, start new projects and find out about more people and build new relationships. You won't grow unless you do all that..Learn new skills and talk with new people and come up with new ideas..Terrific stuff. That's what I call flying high through the sky.


Source: Image

But hold on a second. What about in the middle of your flying high with new opportunities, new skills, new ventures, new investments, new ideas and new relationships, do you forget or ignore your old ones? Is it possible that some people build new houses on the ruins of good old ones? But what if those old habits were really good ones and were the reason you reached where you're at now in life? Would you still leave them out? Would you sacrifice a skill you already have now which has been getting you ahead in life for a new skill that you want to learn? Would you sacrifice an existing fruitful relationship with a family member or a friend or a business associate for a new relationship with someone else?


Source: Image

Would you sacrifice what you already have for what you want to acquire? If you ask me any of those questions, I would definitely say no. I come from an abundance mentality school of thought where I want to keep the beautiful flowers I have in my garden and add more flowers to them, instead of throwing away my beautiful old flowers to buy new ones.


Source: Image

And that's the seat-belt you need to buckle up during your take off. You need to maintain your already existing relationships while building and cultivate new ones. You need to keep practicing and polishing your existing skills and knowledge before attempting to acquire new ones. You need to make sure you finish your old project and keep an effective follow up system on them before you start new ones. You won't grow in your life without widening your horizons and exploring new frontiers, while maintaining your existing success factors.

Source: Image

You won't grow without expanding your comfort zone and learning more and applying this new knowledge. But you also won't grow much if you lose what you've gained so far in order to gain some more. Keep the good stuff that you have and build on it, instead of throwing it away and constantly strive to fill up a bucket that has multiple holes in it.




Sort:  

Hi @nuridin! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Sighs Poetically. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Thank you very much... So kind and generous of her.

You teach me something new every single time. Building blocks are how I taught my children, but, there has to be some movement to grow.

Awesome post! Tip!

Thank you @dswigle.... I'm glad you find some value in my posts.... makes me very happy and motivated to write more :) And thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuu for that lovley tip :)

Such a beautiful and well thought article!
You got an upvote from @arabsteem curation trail
Your post will be featured on our daily curation digest

Great.. Thanks a lot Mr. Muhammad and the whole arabsteem group. I always appreciate what you guys are doing to help us out.

Another safety net is listening to our intuition that guides us through the turbulence. Striving for growth keeps the mind, body and soul healthy @nuridin, but I get your point.

Very true. Our intuition is one of the strongest and most secure safety nets. Glad you brought this up @fiercewarrior. I'm starting to know why you call yourself fierecewarrior now... I thought it was a cool name first, but now I'm starting to get it :)

I'm very grateful, the written word has power when expressed with love and passion, I find alot of people don't take the time when required to read between the lines when they read. You describe it as 'critical thinking' which is absolutely true. Thank you @nuridin. Peace.

I always learn something new from your posts, so very thorough and very good points - we do need to build on our success and not deviate in the hope the grass is greener in a different direction.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks my friend @c0ff33a.... Yes, it's the greed that sometimes blind us from appreciating what we already have, and might lead to us losing it.

Great lessons in only 5 minutes !
So impressive ^_^

Thanks hazem... I'm glad you found value in it :)

awesome man you are dear Nurdim. you are very informative peros,. you always share new things an ideas. well done brother

Thank you @khaled-dz ... That's very kind of you... I appreciate you being there for us always my dear brother :)

Great post with a lot to think on! I really like your analogy here and it has me thinking about some of the different times in my life when things were shaking up and changing... and then times (like now in my case) where things have leveled off, but all the changes and shake up still affect my choices and what I do!

Great post, thanks for sharing!
@byn

You're very welcome @byn ... Glad to know it made you reflect on your own life. I like your way of thinking to make decisions... that's the way it should be.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97