Epic Meetup - Nashvegas

in #thealliance6 years ago

Prologue: Apologies in advance to those tagged multiple times. I'm not spamming!

I'm a bit late to the party, posting about the amazing meetup that took place in Thompson's Station, TN, but I drove a little over 14 hours each way to be there, and am just now caught up on sleep. It was rough, but soooo worth it.

I want to extend my utmost gratitude to @jonny-clearwater and @instructor2121 for hosting this epic event. For those reading this who may not know who they are (where have you been??? lol), go check out their pages and show them some love.

I didn't take very many pictures, because I wanted to meet and interact with people without our electronic leashes, and there's plenty of time to post on Steemit and Discord about it before and after. I left my phone in my car for most of the day. Nevertheless, I couldn't resist a few opportunities:

20180519_124534_HDR.jpg
the house and barn

20180519_124658.jpg
@daltono, @liberty-minded, and @anarcho-andrei

20180519_124707.jpg
@katrina-ariel, @sircork, @enginewitty, and @instructor2121

I forgot how much I love porch swings. Always had one growing up, but they're not exactly common among apartments (anyway ones that I can afford) in the NYC area. Hung out for a while on this one, chatting with a few of my co-conspirators fellow Steemians. It was hot and humid, but a gorgeous day, and still a lot nicer than I imagine Tennessee in July or August.

20180519_131006_HDR.jpg

20180519_131016.jpg
@sircork was telling me to take a pic of the inside of the bell, so here it is.

20180519_131803.jpg
@lukestokes, @daltono, @jonny-clearwater, @sircork, and Adom

Much has been said about the conversation between @lukestokes and @sircork. @lukestokes was on his way back to his family, when this spontaneously occurred. @sircork was his usual diplomatic self (#sarcasm), but they both stated their cases and listened to the other for the most part. I was surprised to find, after sitting down to film an episode of Hots or Shots with @jonny-clearwater, @liberty-minded, and @freedompoint, that their conversation was still ongoing. My best one-word description of this epic meeting of the minds is "productive". @lukestokes really impressed me with his patience, because while @sircork is a friend of mine and I wear several hats in his organization, he can be a pain in the ass sometimes. @lukestokes earned my witness vote from this encounter.

a little video of @sircork grilling, with @enginewitty and @anarcho-andrei. watching burgers cook was less exciting than I imagined it would be, so I kept my camera rolling while I took a stroll around the back of the property. hi @benfranz!

So yes, I was a guest on Hots or Shots. @jonny-clearwater brought a sauce specifically to kick my ass, which I deserved because I had been talking a lot of shit in the weeks leading up to it. And it did. "Only" 337k Scovilles but holy shit it hits hard right away and then gets more intense. That was the only one that gave me hiccups. Most sauces with the world's hottest peppers are flavor followed by heat, and you can't prepare for how fast this one's fire hits you even if you are as used to one-million-plus Scoville hot sauces as I am. I forget the name of the sauce, but now I want some. All I can say about it before the episode airs is that I didn't tap out. And I don't care how much my eyes were watering and my nose was running for the rest of the episode. Stay tuned ...

I stuck around 'til about midnight to watch Hots or Shots being filmed with @sircork, who flipped Shots. @jonny-clearwater can hold his liquor like a boss. After 13 shots, it was barely noticeable that he had been drinking, while @sircork was hunched over a picnic bench semi-conscious. He's gonna brag that he didn't get as drunk as @lukestokes, but @lukestokes had 19 shots ...

We made an after-show video of everyone at the table asking the person next to them one of the questions from the Hots or Shots list. I'm looking forward to its publication. Sitting around a barn in rural Tennessee with y'all at the end of the night was probably my favorite part, aside from being the only one at the meetup who could keep up with the amount of cannabis @sircork consumes. I really hope there's a next time, though I'm not sure I'll be willing and/or able to drive for almost 30 hours for it. NYC area, anyone? :D

Check out this post from @daltono for the full guest list.

Special shout-out to @rhondak for dog-sitting Adom while I was filming Hots or Shots. <3

alliancepagebreakpurple.png

allianceyouarehopebanner.png

alliancetarcbanner.jpeg

alliancepagebreak.png

umbrellabannerlgbtdiscord.png

phoenixtransparent.gif

Sort:  

Nice reporting. Definitely makes me wish I'd been there. I don't travel though, or I would have invited myself asked for an invitation.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.33$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

giphy (23).gif
Congrats on a Kick Arse time had by all who remember it, lol :P

Thanks for posting this @ancapbarbie. Looks like a great time and so beautiful the house and area. Would have loved to see cork and luke with their heads spinning :) lol

Oh I'm sure there's plenty of video evidence of both ... ;)

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

Missed this post the first time around.
Sounds like a blast was had by all!!!

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

Fukn Death Nectar. Destroyed my mouth and stomach. Mad respect making it through that one.

My stomach was fine but the whole front of my face was on fire. I was scoffing at "only" 337k Scovilles. But I went back after we finished filming and ate the rest of the wings. And another one @jonny-clearwater brought me with his hottest sauce on it. :broflex: lol

Lmao don't know how you did it hun. Was the hottest thing I've ever had. Can't imagine the others!

The Last Dab Scorpion I brought is one million Scovilles, but I couldn't even taste it after the Death Nectar.

Last Dab Scorpion and Death Nectar
......bwahahahahahaha

There's supposed to be a meetup in your neck of the woods soon, which I would totally violate my no-road-trips policy to come melt your face off with some of these sauces. :P

hoping the stars align, he he....plus we could go to the shooting range together all Thelma and Louise, js

I introduced that sauce to stop people dead in their tracks, it hits you like a freight train for sure...there is no preparing for it. He agreed to bring it on and it did exactly what we expected it to do...lol...that Death Nectar!

What a fun night!

Was badass man. Glad @katrina-ariel had that remedy, not sure I would have been good company Saturday lmao

Loved reading about it, sounds like an interesting meeting of minds.

02005dd0-4430-44ff-9ae6-d7cd219817fb.jpg

Since I was unable to attend, I am loving all the write-ups and photos of this meetup! Thank you! 😊

_PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

So nice to see a video too, and not just the pictures. I have been reading various posts about this meetup in the last couple of days, thank you for giving us an opportunity to read your version too 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43