Civil Disobedience, or How To Be The Best Social Platform Ever.

in #the-best8 years ago (edited)

I've been part of a few protests that went on here in Malaysia. The recent one was last year, around independence day at 31st August 2015. Why was I there? Just to be around some groups of people who were wearing yellow shirts, voicing our discontent about the corrupt government?

How would it really change things anyway?

It was only a move to give the establishment some headache, and reminder that they need to buck up. To be less evil lol. These protests are reactions. Societies regulate themselves in whatever ways they can. Effective or not in affecting change, peaceful protests generate social awareness.

But, wasting time on the streets?

We're people, and history shows that we just like to have a party for our causes. It's what happens. And I had free time. For the immediate or the long term effect - the hope is really to infect enough minds to make cause changes in government. Time used well or not is just a matter of perspective.

Arguably, you can say that I'm stupid for exposing myself to great danger. Because common sense said so. Because a big bunch of people together, going up against the man on the streets is not such a bright idea. Were the streets of Kuala Lumpur the best social platform for achieving the goals of the protest? Who knows. It was a more like a social gathering, a party on the streets.

Will I go to the next Bersih that's happening in a few hours? It would have started by the time I finish writing here. I had only found out about it today after coming back from Amsterdam. So maybe not. And I think my focus on Steemit is a much better use of my time, at least at the moment.

Update: Looks like half a million people are occupying the streets in the city at the moment!

But Steemit and the streets, will it work?

Can authority be overthrown by mere thought alone?

I had a total media blackout during Steemfest, unknowingly. I was just having too much fun. My mind was occupied, on being present in person.

Coming home to the Trump fiasco, I wondered - why do people keep talking about these authoritative figures, which in effect, legitimizes authority itself and therefore making it the truth for society? I mean, it's all quite the same as my attendance in public protests.

Authority is a concept. We can delegitimize authority in whatever ways, but a person of influence with a group of order followers is still a thing that happens in society, and that has real effects on the world. Influence, reward, and attention. What's a better way to grab your attention, if not by entertainment?

Make USD great again!

If there one thing consistent about modern perception of America, is that it's a powerhouse for mainstream entertainment. Trump is a very interesting social media-(un)friendly figure. You really can't escape from any mentions of him for too long being on the Internet.

Now that I'm even writing about him, I'm actually reinforcing the idea authority and cult of personality. I accept the fact that we as humans, just like to have our brain tickled.

Trump is just.. too meme-licious and shareable. He satisfies our need for a collective mind jolt. We all yearn to have something in common, a little strain of hope to bring us together. That's really the only reason why we attempt to communicate in a social landscape, anyway.

What if 51% of the world becomes full-time Steemit users?

If there's one thing about Steemit - we really can reward and reinforce great ideas. Post payouts may be held, traded, or powered up. Generally, payouts fund the following:-

  • Attention of network.
  • Personal development.
  • Community development.
  • App development.

Months ago when I joined, I introduced myself saying that I'm also here to contribute middle-ground thinking. Well I was just throwing words around. It was my weird version of "I come in peace". I'm here to learn and build with a collaborative network of enterprising individuals.

I wouldn't know what would happen if the majority of the world starts using Steem. One thing's for sure, the value of Steem will go up when that happens. Here's a more important course of action as a Steemian -

Make Steem great again!

There are plenty of initiatives going on around now, rewarding different types of content. Here's a general outline of how we can, in our own ways, improve the chances for Steem mass adoption:-

  • Admit that we should tap into trends that are happening all around the Internet. Use this knowledge to hook in new users. For example, a trend-chaser guild could be formed to promote certain contents, framed like a Trump meme contest for example.
  • Promote participation. Sign up, try it out, and maybe earn something. Funny Trump Memes. Even Trump himself may consider funding such a project. $10,000/day reward for best Trump memes for complete world domination is cheap. The White House has $500 million allocated specifically for public relations. A yearly Steem-powered Trump meme machine is 0.73% of their PR budget.
  • Be the best in everything, short and long-term. We are just going to be the best, and make the best out of everything. Just be the best.

Reward best behaviour to build the best social platform!

All just by being your best self with others. Social is only sustainable when it's:-

  • Contributory.
  • Sustainable-minded.
  • Entertaining.

Let's recognize and reward those behaviours. Let's put it out there. The technology is already here and it's equipped to support the best of the best people like you..

Be the best by inviting the best, so we can be the best social network out there. Nothing wrong in being the best, am I right? Here's a post idea - write about what you think you can contribute best for the community, and just try to write the best post about it.

If you can't escape authoritarian beliefs in society, my as well just be a part of the best social media platform ever that runs on its own best currency, a companion that makes the best out of our attention.

Forget about words like blockchain and decentralization. Those things are already working, and they are the best of its kind. So let's be the best.

#civil-disobedience #peaceful-protest #steemit #makesteemgreatagain


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

I will definitely not be able to be a full-time steemit user ever.

The reason is that I like my day job as well. I like doing research, contributing to science, teaching, educating students, etc... For most of the associated tasks, I cannot be on steemit simultaneously.

All these things together, I am however often online in the mornings and the evenings and episodically during the day. Knowing this, would it fit your definition of a a full-time steemit user?

Steemit as a companion, like Facebook. And yeah you're pretty much a fulltime user! On the best platform ever lol!

You can't surprise me anymore with the best because it gets better and better

LOL does it get better? It gets better when we're delivering the best social experience on top of the best platform ever :D

I'm so glad to see more people getting on board with the entertainment side of things. When I started here, it seemed like many were frowning. Not all, of course. I felt out of place being a goof, but now I don't.

More people need to realize with the help of Steemit, they can still create what has the potential to go viral (like a simple meme), but this time they can get credit, and get paid.

The old way was similar to standing on a tall building when it's windy and dropping a hand full of flyers on the world, only to realize you forgot to sign your name.

I think being half-trolling, or at least not-so-serious half-the-time at the being the best out of one's goal for posting is a pretty good MO for having fun around here :) I enjoy reading your stuff (coming upon them once a while whenever doing my rounds in curie) :)

I'm not trolling at all though! It's straight up humor with good intentions. I enjoy it and enjoy making people laugh even if it is at my expense. It sounds strange, but I'm serious about my comedy. Serious about my serious stuff as well, but even those ones have humor mixed in. I'm glad you as well as a many others enjoy this stuff. I wouldn't be here if people didn't.

Oh well my usage of the word troll and serious are pretty loose, so don't mind that :) I mean, even with this post, I'm serious about what I write, or else I wouldn't have even posted it :P lol

LOL, that's just crowd control. I don't want people to think I'm a troll. It's hard enough sometimes being funny with the written word when it's really up to the reader and how they feel like reading that day. I wrote one recently using a 50's television reporter voice in my head. I doubt everyone picked up on that part. Words are hard!

It was great being caught up in the moment while in Amsterdam. Being semi-offline was a great feeling. This post has been Tweeted on the Official @Steemit Twitter.
https://twitter.com/steemit/status/799695038087364608

steemit Steemit tweeted @ 18 Nov 2016 - 19:25 UTC

Civil Disobedience, or How To Be The Best Social Platform Ever. ift.tt/2grhnes #Crypto #BlockChain #Blogging

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks @hilarski - it's what we choose or end up choosing to do because of the environment eh? Thanks for the tweet!

Interesting perspective as usual. Upvoted

Thanks @luzcypher. Just noticed that Steemit's profile pic supports transparency, as per your profile pic! It looks great on your profile page :D

Thanks. I bet Steemfest was a blast. I was thinking of you guys and watched your presentation. Looked like everyone had fun.

Will you make it on the next one if its in the US? I heard Colorado is the plan lol

Another great post from you. Loved it :)

Glad you enjoyed the read :)

Powerful Kevin Wong! Loved how well written and thoughtful your insights are. Looking forward to reading more of your work.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $24.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What were the Malaysian protests about?

Fair elections (and on the side, get the current PM to step down).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01