Thanskgiving its origin and what it means to me


Hello again. Since its the spirit of Thanksgiving I wanted to say thank you to all of you who has supported me through the last year. I honestly couldn't have done it without you. With the support you have given me I have been able to build a chicken coop, bought more chickens for my flock, and bought hay for my horses. It is so nice to know that in this tough world people still care enough to take a few moments to upvote and comment on some strangers blog just to say hey I support you. So again thank you.
I know we learned this in school but honestly if you are like me half of what we learned has been stored way back in the memory bank of forgetfulness. Thanks giving began as a day of giving thanks for the blessing of the harvest and of the preceding year. Some historians believe the first celebration of Thanksgiving in North America occurred during the 1578 voyage of Martin Frobisher from England in search of the Northwest Passage but others do not. The origins of Canadian Thanksgiving are also sometimes traced to the French settlers who came to New France in the 17th century, who celebrated their successful harvests. As more settlers came to the new country they brought over their traditions which added to the celebrations. Most of the US traditions of Thanksgiving (such as the turkey) were incorporated when United Empire Loyalists began to flee from the United States during the American Revolution and settled in Canada.
So now we have been reminded of how Thanksgiving began it is a day to celebrate with thankfulness. One of the questions that has intrigued me for so long was why Canada celebrated Thanksgiving earlier than the United States. The common wisdom seems to be that because we’re so much farther north, our harvest days arrive earlier, and so we give thanks a lot sooner. Whatever the truth, there’s one fact history can’t deny – Canada has been celebrating the holiday a lot longer than our southern neighbours. Americans, led by the Puritans and the Mayflower, didn’t begin their annual tradition until 1621 – 43 years later. Wow I didn't know that.
Another question I had was why does the date of celebration change each year. When I looked into that question this is what I found.
In 1901 and 1904, it was on a Thursday in November.
Between 1908 and 1921, it was moved to a Monday in October.
And from 1922 to 1930, it was actually celebrated on what is now Remembrance Day – November 11th!
In fact, Canada didn’t actually settle on a true Thanksgiving Day until 1957, when Parliament finally fixed the date as the second Monday in October, where it remains now, giving us the final long weekend of the season.
Wow I love it when I can feed my brain with stuff I have forgotten. Now for the question what does it mean for me. Well obiously it means to be thankful for everything that is in my life. My kids who are extremely patient with me and help me be a better person each day. My husband who has loved me through all the ups and downs and crazy ideas and adventures I take him on. My mom who gave me life and has always encouraged me to do better than her. My house which keeps me dry and warm, my animals who drive me crazy with their messes but always have a nicker, purr or a paw to share when I'm sad, my friends who come to my side when needed. My list would go on forever if I let it but instead I will shorten it with my last and most important gratitude my God who has blessed me, lifted me up, encouraged me and always no matter how much I mess up is always there for me.
So as you celebrate today remember everything that makes your life what it is. The good times and the bad times. Through the bad times remember there is a lesson that is being taught to you, through the good times remember they are the little blessings that help us through the road of life. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @jolly-homestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00