Have you ever eaten frogs? 🐸

in #thailand5 years ago (edited)

Woot woot!! Finally I'm able to get myself in front of the laptop and do something with it. I just went on a family trip to this place with all these fun items to take photos. The drive was 3-4 hours each way and we went just for a night so imagine how tiring this would be. I had some lists written down what to do last night after I got home but after I sat on my bed and open my laptop.. it's something like... 'F* it. Let's just sleep' lol

Nothing about my excuses on this post (really?) but the food we stopped for on the way coming home yesterday. It's funny that our family seperated into 4 cars as we went like 20+ people. Guess what, on the way there and on the way back, all the cars stopped at this restaurant! I know! must be that good! The place called 'Krua Asa' located in Kanchanaburi Province.

Let's see what we got yesterday :)


Deep fried frogs


fm5cet0ima.jpg


d8tzrz838v.jpg


People might be something like 'Hellllll no!' and I totally understand! It's not for everyone but really, it's good! I personally like it a lot since I was a kid. A lot of my family members like it so that's one of the factors that get me to like it as well. Though, some don't as they just can't accept the fact that, those little green animals that jump will be putt in their mouth..

For me, the texture is something like, chicken, but much much more firm as you know, they jump a lot, they jump high. Chicken walk slowly and move just their heads most of the time lol Can't be that yummy.

Also, the skins are really just as delicious as deep fried salmon's skin. Wait, do other countries eat fish skin? Uh oh..


Jungle food

Now let's move on to some other stuffs that you probably won't find weird like 'Frogs'.. Well, did you find it weird? I was just guessing :) A few more dishes we ordered and really, this place just knew what they're doing. It's just hot, spicy and you know that #intense flavors we all (Thai) love! :) 🌶🌶🌶

Jungle food or in Thai called 'Aharn Pa (อาหารป่า)' is actually something you don't commonly find in cities. Some boar, deer, crocodile, Thai chickens and a few types of vegetables.. all those you would find in a jungle then cook them with such #intense flavors!


Jungle soup with fish


14ulpgqk7s.jpg



Stir fry Pak Whan


cplql1avhe.jpg



Stir fry pork with basils


0uhkvps8f1.jpg



Deep fried fish


zpqwh8alva.jpg



Deep fried chickens


4c8t97fnp2.jpg



Let's do this!


7pp18843v9.jpg



Family stlye's food sharing!

As always, in Thailand, we make a beautiful circle and all food in the middle so that all could share. The rice served in front of you so you could mix and match all the food you feel like.


So, have you eaten something like this? especially the frogs??? !



Lots of lots of love,
Mo ❤




I DO USE. I DO LOVE ! ❤

vaq5x9vdnu.pngwt786mgexg.png

㋡ Here's my main gears !


banner.png

All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com


We would love to talk to you ! on Fundition Discord server & eSteem Discord server

Check out My Youtube Channel!!!

Sort:  

I have never tasted them! :O
how's the taste like? what is it more similar to? :)

As mentioned, it's like chicken but firmer! I sooooo love the texture! :D

like is it softer? or more gummy?
sorry I haven't tried ever! sounds very exotic to me! :D

I would actually go for the 'gummy' one even though I have never heard people use that term. Sound right to me :D haha

hahahaha!! well now you can use that term for the future references! :D

It looks similar to our Chinese style here actually. And yes I ate frogs before and we believe it is good for health. Crocodile I tried once because my mother didn't tell me it was crocodile. Boar and deer yes. I think they are nice.

Rabbit tried once too because all the kids thought were chicken. Then when I found out it is rabbit I almost puked.

Always enjoyed reading your blog.

Have a great day, Mo.

Ohhhhhh!!!!!! You have eaten soooo many types of meat. I have tried most of them too but rabbit indeed. Too cute but yeah, would go for it a bit actually :/ (Wow, I feel like I sound mean lol but I don't think it's much different than we eat beef/pork/chicken and all :D) Thanks for reading!

Hah I'm in a hurry, came here to tell you something. But first my answer - yepp, I've eaten frogs already, they are being eaten here in Slovakia as some top notch expensive dish.

Now to my thing: I was just reading this post (https://steemit.com/steempress/@wnfdiary/erawanhighteareview-yp0tnwxuip) and there on one pic were those sweet/salty rolls you've made video about. And I've recognized them!!! Hahah dunno why but I'm totally excited that i'M getting better in thai cousine thx to you ahahah :D

That's actually good for me so that when we meet, I won't need to explain much no more! :D hahaa. I will head that way and check the post out! :D

Mo

I actually like frog🐸 better than chicken 🐔

Still love beef most

(They jump a lot, they jump high. Chicken walk slowly and move just their heads most of the time lol)

I love the way you describe the exercise habits of our food!!#😂😂 Lol

Ward

Posted using Partiko Android

Same here! Agreed with what you said. Not many things could beat beef! Oh my, now I feel like going to that all you can eat bbq again!

I love the way you describe the exercise habits of our food!!#😂😂 Lol

I love the way you describe my description for the food we all eat lolol and yes, you're right. It does sound pretty funny now that I think about it. I was writing in the mini van on the way back home half-asleep.

Love frogs. I don't think I have seen the deep fried version but I like it braised. The meat is like chicken as you said.

Love it too and yes, chicken but jump more so it's very firm lol

I've had it a few times and I actually find it less firm than chicken. To me, in the way it was cooked, the firmness was more than fish but less than chicken.

Oh ! you know why? because you said,

I don't think I have seen the deep fried version but I like it braised.

Here we love it deep fried or spicy stir fried! That's why I guess! :D

My cousin is in Thailand right now and she said she loved the frogs hahaha

Oh! I would love to meet her if she's down to meet as well. I'm in Bangkok! Please let her know and send the msg. Oh! or she's here on Steem?? Thank YOU! :D

I will tell her, I know she's ben in Bangkok and now she's at some island, but I will ask her and let you know!
Oh yeah, she isn't on Steem :(

Yayyy Thank you! :)

No problem! Sadly, she isn't coming back to Bangkok :(, oh well.

No worries! Thank YOU for asking :)

Spicy frog is really popular here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh! Good to know! We do the same in Thailand as well, I'm sure :D

Spicy rabbit head is also pretty good in Sichuan

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh my !!!!! I actually saw they sold the whole frozen rabbit in Chinatown in Vancouver actually so that makes sense. I'm not sure if I would.. well, I will give it a try actually :D hahaha

You should! It’s really great 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS


I'm honest, I have never tried the frog meat.
But I've heard that it is almost like a chicken meat :)) I hope it is...or it reminds something else ? What you say?


Yeah, like a very firm chicken :D Give it a go Koit!! :)


I try one day... Here we not have it... so I must go there where you are :))


Come already! It's been a while! :D hahaha Would be fun and interesting to meet you in person. To make that soup you sent me the other day you know! ;Dhahah

Thank you!! you are very kind :) YEs... this shop... I think I must try make more something ... but this time something new :)
Then you can come and look and say what you think :)))

Yes, frog porridge. Yum yum.

Really??! We don't have that in Thailand!!!

I won't say it's a popular dish but enough places that even people do a top 5 list.
https://www.thebestsingapore.com/eat-and-drink/the-best-5-frog-porridge-in-singapore/
strictly speaking the frog is not cook in the porridge but in a separate pot. thinking of this at 6am in the morning when is raining outside... sounds like a good like

Ohhhhh!!!! I sure would love to try that!!!

Then, you have a list if you come down here. :-)

Congratulations @waybeyondpadthai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84