Raising Tadpoles (Day 104) - Froggy See, Froggy Do

in #tenkminnows5 years ago (edited)

First Day
Previous Day

Day 104

This morning, I woke up to find that the 20 gallon tank was covered in condensation, a first as far as I can remember. I imagine it has to do with the combination of the cold water I add in during changes, the high humidity, and the high temperature of the room in the morning (in order to make sure the froglets and tadpoles receive at least the minimal amount of darkness, I make sure to close the curtains fully - forcing me to shut off the air conditioning in my bedroom every night), combined with the late time I did the water change, it was about the best combination of factors that could have caused such condensation. Regardless, it certainly gave me a start seeing the 20 gallon tank look "cloudy" before I turned the light on in the room.

GOPR2204 - Copy.JPG

Due to family matters, I simply did not have time today to test the water of any of the tanks and will have to do so tomorrow. I did have time however, to notice that the froglets mother, Tiny, has seemingly picked up a new trick. Now that the juvenile frogs are out of the main tank and the tank divider has been removed, Tiny has started to finally use the tree trunk decor that I had in with the juveniles. I had expected her to do so sooner considering it's a perfect size for her and is tall enough to allow any frog to comfortably stand and breathe air at the surface. For some reason however, she only used it once before the juveniles were moved into the tank. Now that they're gone, it seems she may have noticed that they were constantly using the tree to breathe at the water's surface and hide in. It's the same thing that used to happen when Thomas was still around, he'd explore the new decor, find points of interest, and then the other frogs would begin copying him.

Current Totals:

15 - 10 gallon (Froglet Tank)
27 - 20 gallon (Tadpole Tank)

Next Day

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46