Sort:  

Coming through the phone, a black tongue licked at the sweat that had pooled in his ear from the long sprint down the cities sidewalk toward the cave, even tickling the tips of his ear hairs.

That was great touch.

I am left with so many questions. A great action-packed snippet but I would hae love to have the mythology behind this tale unpacked a little more. Also some levels would have been nice. It was all go-go and I think a little contrast would have made the go-go more effective.

You do have a way with action:)

Thanks for the tip. That part of the writing has been difficult for me. I will be working on your suggestions.

More details dialogue is one way to go. Also set the scene first and then begin the narrative. Have your character do things in everyday life that tells us more about him. Just some suggestions.

If you're willing and you are an editor, I'd love to set up put this piece into google docs and work on making this piece better than it is. I'm willing to get us SBI for your time. If this interests you, send me your email here or PM through discord under tristancarax.

Alas ... so busy right now. But I can recommend the website writerscafe. They often have writers who are looking for exchange type things. It was a great place to do some workshopping back in the day:)

Hi tristancarax,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You guys are awesome. Thanks for the support @curie!!!

This story taken me back to good old school days when reading such horror stuffs were felt like adventurous, a matter of discussion to show the mates next day to prove that I was not afraid of reading such stories.

Thanks for posting this, lovely one and writing is an inborn talent and special gift by Almighty to write stories, poems etc...

Keep writing more and more...

Haha - And how did that work out for you, the proving that you weren't afraid?

Haha..that question ....little difficult to answer, but I remember some challenges within our friends circle to come out of the home late in the night alone, and also to stay in front of a cemetery on no moon day for 5 minutes, watching a horror movie without any one accompanying etc...

Hahaha..good old days, I am smiling while I writes this now

You crack me up.

Congratulations @tristancarax! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your story made me shiver. I'm not that much into dark stories but I like this one as he was very strong and he fought the shadow and survived. I just wonder if his son is dead already or if he has a chance to save him..

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

You and I both have the same question. Should I go back and add to this piece we might find that out.

Thanks for stopping by.

I hope and I wish you keep writing horror stories, let me tell you that I love to read this genre since the suspense attracts me a lot, writings like this deserve applause!!

It's funny how this one came about. I actually wrote the couple paragraphs about a month before this prompt came out. I was having some horrible shit going through my mind that needed to be written out. I've struggled with writing for this contest due to creating straight from scratch. I really liked the first couple of paragraphs so I used them for this piece.

Man, I undercut myself as a writer way too much. This platform is helping me see that.

I'm so very happy that you enjoyed this piece. Thanks for stopping by.

I'm happy to know that my words cause something good, hopefully you'll do well from today!

You like your metaphors in this story. Great horror twist on the prompt. Left me wondering whether his son is dead or alive. And I want to know more about these darkelves, hopefully your future stories will give us more.

I'm thinking more and more about the world I'm creating from all of the stories I've created thus far here on steemit. Some of my next challenges to come for myself will be to play around with the small worlds I've created and give some of them more life.

For me this was a hard to read story, less left for my own imagination.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your honesty. Maybe you wouldn't mind elaborating to give me something to think about.

Well, That was certainly vivid. Rather gruesome (you know me), but I did like the way you carried the theme of polar opposites throughout: light and dark, good and evil, fear and courage. And I always like it when the bad guys lose :)

This is not one that I'd ask you to edit as I know that this is not your cup of tea. 8-)

😁
You're right. I stopped watching Sons of Anarchy and Narcos with my husband because they were too violent. Happy to say he didn't enjoy them as much without me :)

This is a really cool and dark story! Great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00