Pirate Hunters

in #tellastorytome6 years ago (edited)

{Hope, what a betrayer you are. Hope, how you wish to bring happiness but at the cost of seeing what is to be done. Hope, how you dissuaded or delayed action by convincing people there's "enough" time. Hope, how hopelessness lead people to victory but you to defeat if not realized for how limited your advice is. Hope, while good for individual intakes goes quite rotten if not expended on time or when accumulated in massive quantities. Hope, how you delay courage its rightful role in desperate times and make all lament whence we fail to do the right or needed action. Hope, begone... This post today isn't only an extension of my prompt in @bananafish's 34th iteration of FinishTheStory but also an extension of @calluna's ending as well while equally an entry to her Tell A Story to Me contest. But equally an experiment I've been meaning to conduct, but I shall put to the back burner the direct representative of Order as this wasn't appropriate enough of introduction for [expunged]. Fortuna regardless shall always be watching, as she is the offspring of both... Today’s music-aides: "Lament of the Sleeping Philosophers" [1.] "Wooly" [2.] "Menagerie" [3.] and "Jevil's theme, metal remix" [4.] (Entropy: Zero Arctica and Deltarune OST + Shurk on YT).}

A re-recording of a gif on this wikia

— Pirate Hunters —

[1.]

Ho! I danced in the empty space, for I could do anything! Ho! With no worry of disturbing anyone, I needn't play a game with anybody and ow!-

And what in the World hit my damn head but brings me not to zero? Hmm... It just hit me, it can't refuse a game it already is playing... Ah! Come here oh flying machine, I must congratulate for striking a blow. Uee hee hee.

And I got you, now you can't refuse my attention. Now, what makes you a good hitter?... Hmm, interesting piece this is. Why a piece made by those Terrans, haven't seen such but worthy of my attention before I throw it back on course. So where's the hatch to open this?

Ah, now what lies inside here? Why, a golden disk of sorts. Strange these marks, especially this one with the pirate and robo-skulls. Wait! Hmm... a beauty is joying my heart! Just a simple chaos wouldn't madden my sweet child Fortuna, would it? Nie; 'tis time to see this place...

Why these be vast and deep, and I do see me two ships. Oh so many minds I could pluck into and read, but one shall suffice for now. His body, charred and withered amongst these fine metallic bots working about, but his mind so twisted that I thank my sweet child Fortuna for granting me patience. Let the games begin! Metamorphosis!

[2.]

Boots calmly walked towards an open window-hatch, a bottle of rum is lowered down onto the sill. Upon the placement, the pirate places his scarred-induced hands on his wailing back and pushes.

“Argh! Me back be free of this wretched ache! Well, guess I learned a lesson: take a break when the Cap’n says so. Welp, time to rest...”

Taking his cue, the sill creaked in annoyance as the pirate’s body self-inquired the best resting position while perched on a sill. With a hairy arm supporting his night-colored beard, he spent his leisure-time mentally capturing the seas itself. There the familiar specs of white dots danced about the blue sky; he gasped before slowly releasing the captured air, he remembered how deep in the seven seas the ship was. With the mind returning to boredom, his eyes scanned under the blue sky.

“Ah poor ship, how these blue, blue, waves harass yah. I can hear yer wails, but I judge not. And even when the harassment be over, the aches only then take over; yet only can I respond with ‘such is life’... Huh, what be a ship in these waters be doing here? Where’s me spotting scope!”

The boots thus began a chaotic dance recital; the arms took the center stage as it flailed around to uncover the hidden telescope. As the telescope may have enjoyed the scene, it soon squeaked loud upon the firm clasp on its metallic skin. The pirate returned to the window-hatch and his arms stretched the telescope wide-wards. Eyeing in on the odd element, his eyes darted around to find any friendly symbol but soon froze.

“Oh me Flyin’ Dutchman! We’ve been tracked! Hey ho! Sound the alarm, pirate hunters come and in full-mast they set sail towards us!”

Whatever wail the ship can ever muster, the cacophonies of a hundred bodies darting around alone had easily drowned out such sorrows. The pirate unsheathed his sword, the sun’s naïve light touched and bounced off the sword. Sheathing his sword, he unholstered his flintlocks and his arms helped his eyes scan such. Cocking and holstering them, his body emerged from his room and joined in the traffic of the workplace as pirate bodies shuffled and kicked around to ready on their position. Albeit the humidity would’ve granted a hasty rest through stroke, the adrenalin surging about the bodies had protected them from unwanted advances of humidity.

Finally getting to the deck, he about-faced and attempted advancing towards the Captain’s spot. However, the Captain echoed:

“Brace!”

And the pirate mass dropped dead and clung hard to any support they could find; as soon the ship screeched thanks the holes formed from the steel cannon-shots who mercilessly ripped through her. With that, the pirate mass resumed its circuitry and soon he met with the Captain; he screamed:

“Madame! I’m here, let me take over the steering and yah the commandin’!”

“Finally yer here, Wither! Please, they be gainin’ too much ground. So steer us towards oure enemy! And when we get close, steer us parallel to their starboard side and avoid portside! Today, I must accept my bounty and let them hath none of it!”

“Cap’n oh Cap’n! Are yah mad?”

“Mad? No! Blimey, avoid their hull Wither!”

[3.]

Hands twisted over each other, unwinding the downhaul, swinging the ship about face.

Thick-skinned pirates rippled, mirroring the ocean as the boom swung over their heads, and hauling wind - they skitted towards the enemy.

“Avast Ye!”

The Captain had hoisted up the rigging, commanding her attack.

“Let’s scuttle this sharkbait ‘fore our real quarry draws in, this bounty be mine!”

They hadn't been cutting the wind for ten score days, tracking this great beast, to have it stolen now. Cheers joined the rumble of boot stomping, the pirate mass readying for the assault.

Battling the currents, Wither leaned into the tiller, adding his considerable weight to the strain of his bulking muscles. Groaning in displeasure, the ship complied, contorting to come parallel on the starboard side of their fellow pirate hunters.

Shots cracked across the water, falling short on both sides and plummeting into the depths. Until they landed the first hit, and the victorious bellow of steel through wood echoed out of a hundred lungs.

Splinters sprayed across foam; catching in the eddies of previous misses, sinking into suddenly seething soup.

“Blow me down! All hands on deck!”

The Captain's words were lost in a crack of monstrous thunder, jumping down their spines with a familiar adrenaline surge.

Oh how I humour myself and ow!-

The enemy vessel, taking on water through its shattered timbers, lurched in the wake of a Kraken.

Hmm, you kids really are keeping up!

The water between them, littered with broken wood, took on a deathly calm. Both ships stopped, suspended, waiting to see where it would surface.

Flecks of foam burst into frothing waves; bubbling, toiling water swelling into a smooth balloon. Gun monkeys jumped into action, loading the bronze bellies of the cannons, as the one intact ship came about face.

Their shots rained down on the cresting cephalopod. Predictably, barbed tentacles thrashed at the source of the unpleasantry. With a dying groan, their enemy ship snatched the creature's probing attention moments before it broke the water tension.

Nu-ha! I never had such fun, fun! I ow!- This is it, boisengirls! See ya!

Boned plated encasing the mantel, deep orbs of furious eyes locked on to it's target as it lashed out in rage.

Screaming landlubbers leapt from that sinking vessel, taking their chances clinging to the splintered chunks. Their captain did not, he’d climbed the ringing, standing tall in the crows-nest, his flintlock drawn.

How cute that flintlock is, a shot rang and I felt the lead pierce. Ah, the joy of pain is quite soothing but better was that these curtains are really on fire! The squeamish cremates of the still-standing ship were mice in a maze but the dang pirate hunter was wise to load another. What can I say but that the devilsknife is smiling!

In the minutes the Kraken tore that ship limb to limb, Wither, under his Captain's sharp eye, had directed the gunners.

Hee, hee, having fun?! Join the club!

The modified flintlocks were the only thing that could pierce the beast's thick skull, killing the wretched thing.

Nay a hunter would sail it’s treacherous seas, nay a hunter, but a pirate hunter, a booted buccaneer, aye, they’d brave it’s broiling broth, for a bounty.

Hmm, I must say those flintlocks are awfully familiar. But 'tis a joy to have this inner monologue of Wither, yet methinks it strange his tongue matches not his mind...

Waiting for it to come into range, Wither cast an eye over the blue waves, spitting at the sky.

“Ahh me dear ship, we’ll keep ya watertight tonight, aye, else Davy Jones locker awaits us all.”

The ship shuddered, shivering along the frame as heavy waves slapped against the hull.

“Aye and ye might be comp’aining at such poor consolations; we be takin’ down this beast, as we taken down many a more beast ’fore it, and many a more we’ll take still, ye can be sure of that!”

[4.]

Oh they be more than complaining Madame, but now I shall not keep my peace! No I shall stir my passions! Time for them to hear me!

"THIS BODY CANNOT BE KILLED!"

"Brace! Madame, the Seas are a ragin' and they be tossin' themselves to save their precious skin. Lo, worry 'bout the damn boat bein' forc'd back as our sails cannot withstand the awe o' this Kraken!"

"Good eye, Wither! Pirates, execute the calculation order!... We've been forced back three-lis, well calculate how far our cannons are good for and prepare for this awesome creature. If slain, we shall have the World bowing to us!"

Chaos! Chaos! But shall I transform or shall I not render heart attacks right away? Wait, do robots have hearts? Uee, hee, hee! It's all too much fun!

"Wither! Watch out, the waves be actin' even stranger!"

"Aye! 'Tis a whirlpool!"

"WHO KEEPS SPINNING THE WORLD AROUND?"

"Madame, ready the guns. Listen to me, trickster-"

"JEVIL!"

"Jevil! Yah keep spinnin' the World around and endanger me crew! We shall skin yah alive when we slay thee!"

"YOUR CREW!-"

"Ah! Hush thou, or we shall nie keep oure honour!"

"I AM INNOCENT, INNOCENT. I JUST WANTED TO PLAY A GAME, GAME. SO FAR, FORTUNA PUNSHED ME NOT!"

"Don't yah dare speak her name in vein!"

"AND DON'T YAH INVOKE HER NAME IN VEIN! LO, FELLOW SINNERS, SHE'S A DESCENDANT OF ME!"

"We'll see if she favors you enough not to be slain!"

"HA HA HA. WHAT FUN!!! I WOULDN'T HAVE IT ANY OTHER WAY! NOW, NOW!! LET THE GAMES BEGIN!!"

Indeed, let the games begin. But still methinks it strange again the monologue-

And there 'splodes a concoction of gunpowder and shrapnel. Flying upon 'splosive contact, they paint red the ocean-bark skin. Ho, the old Jevil's lungs collapses but bounces back for that "body cannot be killed."

"Aye, good one me mateys. FIRE AGAIN! Wither, keep at it with the swirlin'!"

"Aye, aye, Cap'n! We'll banish thee to where yah hast came from, JEVIL!"

"THINGS DON'T SEEM SUCH FROM HERE, PIRATES!"

Indeed, the sight that pirate mass had was betrayed. Lo! Betrayed of the highest kind for which they flew far out of their posts as the ship wailed. Yet the olden ship's wails were soon on full display-

Indeed on full display as I grasped with my tendrils, I heard the lil' cries and shrieks as they began instructing others to file a level up. I-

For which rounds of cannons took the initiative and voiced their complaints of having the ship's bronze-belly exposed. The Cap'n-

Hush!... Why I feel as if I know thee, resounding that you managed to find me. What a game that must've been?

"ENOUGH!! YOU KIDS TIRED ME UP!"

"Cap'n, look out! Scythes fly about!"

Oh how the scythes unstrung the ship's masts and disjointed the bronze belly with the oak-hard exterior.-

Indeed, then, with my tendrils still grasping the ship strong, I swung my tendrils to beat upon the bronze bottom. Deforming it 'til I can smack it off, yet I was seeing the wits of our subjects here today. Say, my narrator, can you spare me the trouble and tell me thy-

"Fire! 'Til Jevil bleeds and the New Angels weep-"

...

"HWÆT! HOW DARE THOU CALL ME A NEW ANGEL! I WHIMPER FOR EVERY CHAOTIC OFFSPRING THEY SLAY!"

With the passions so stirred, the tendril smacked the entire belly off and out fell a body. Yet that same tendril snatched and brought the body close to Jevil. Lo! The body shook and attempted escaping the prison-grip of Jevil and screamed their robotic prayers. Jevil's eyes widened and, to the amusement of the pirate mass, Jevil soon placed the robo-pirate on the poop-deck and brought the entire ship closer. Yet mainly Jevil's eyes were centered on Wither and Wither holstered his gear.

"Jevil, 'tis I Wither. Do you spake truthfully?"

"...I maybe Chaos, but I know lies have short legs... OF COURSE I SPAKE THE TRUTH, THE TRUTH!... But say ole Wither, I know thou canst be truly a charred corpse that 'twas re-animated! NIE! I smell the rot of those accursed things still in thy blood. SPEAK! ART THOU AN AGENT OF THE VOID!"

"NIE! LISTEN TO ME CAREFULLY! I HAVE ESCAPED TH' VOID! NOW REVEAL THY TRUE FORM IF THOU ART NOT A NEW ANGEL OR I SHALL SLAUGHTER THEE LIKE I HAVE WITH THE CAPTAIN THAT WAS A NEW ANGEL!"

"Uee, hee, hee. I would, but not at the cost of you dying after seeing my true form. Lemme do this on dry land."

And with a snap, the night colour covered the eyes of the pirate mass. Upon the pirate mass' eyes opening, they were soon coughing sand as their hands swabbed off the sandy rocks. Not for the æsthetics, but the fear that a few sands could lodge itself in the circuitry and cause short-circuiting, the fatal kill-all of any a robot. Upon self-erect-

"Metamorphosis!"

Indeed, that word blasted from the Kraken vestige which shook the entire beachfront, made an unattended ship squeal and the water dance high and lodged more sand towards the robots. Yet 'twas the light that all the robots backed away from, but the light danced violently around and illuminated the entire sector.-

Indeed, but soon my light offended not their eyes and their bodies gazed upon my simple chaos. Why my friend Wither will strike a comment soon, so let's listen you and I.

"So, this be yah... Jevil, yah truly are the ambiguity of a Jester and a Devil."

"What else disturbs thee?"

"Why how yah dance in the air as if yer existence was an insult to the Laws of Motion. Why how yah possess an attitude and appearance of a Jester, but so dæmonic that 'twas an attempt by the Devil. But thou art neither but both at the same time, yet methinks yah more than that."

"And what's this more-ness about me?"

"Did I hear wrong that thou called thyself nie a spawn of Chaos but Chaos."

"Forgive me on my trespasses against you as I have forgiven yer trespasses against me. 'Tis true, but more truly I am an only a representative. Most of Chaos resides in Fortuna, much for the same with Order. But lemme answer a doubt about thy future, 'specially for thee Wither. This ship here, left unattended and abandoned shall do the trick - worry not of the owners. My only request is that thou come back to these shores in a fortnight, by then my request shall make perfect sense. Yet I warn you of this one thing: unfortunately, you pirates cannot have such a pleasant dream. From now, a nightmare will awaken in thy hearts... Pirates, can you stop it?... Uee, hee, hee. Either way, a mischief-mischief, a chaos-chaos! Pirates! As thou was reborn on these shores, take this and do your strongest!"

And with a violent bang, provisions appropriate for robo-pirates and Wither fell about. Yet, the last item to fall was a massive scythe with a name-tag laced on the hilt. The words: "DEVILSKNIFE, MY WEAPON TO THE SURVIVOR WITHER!"

And upon reading it, Wither torn the tag off and shouldered the DEVILSKNIFE! Now, my narrator friend, or should I say-

Save it for now... So, I see the annoyance burning in thy eyes but a gleeful smile. Why?

It means Fortuna needs me for once, but equally so I need her more than she needs me. I can guess you know as to why I did this whole act?

... Even as Jevil, thou art innocent as thou claims. But this is a dialogue not worth making massive jumps about. I wonder, how long did it actual-

Precisely after hearing Wither speak for the first time. I was testing to see if thou manifested inside of Wither or was a flying bird. I guess wrong on both. Why was I wrong? Because we're now floating about the golden disc I forgot to launch into orbit. I-

Actually I'm glad that this disc is left here still, because I was planning to send it to a new route.

Uee, hee, hee! May I take the honours?

After thou inscribes six symbols I've been meaning to work at. After this, we'll need to appear in Fortuna's presence.

If thou says so, but make it quick. Say, mind doing me one favor?

What's the nature of the favor other than to bless the ordained Chaos that's to occur?

I want also the survivor Wither to reunite with his old chop. That is all.

Consider it done, old friend.

----------

No end blurb this time around other than two things: Jevil and expansion posts.

Now it's a common sight for me to be "expanding" or serializing my posts. Heck, right after my first posts where I wrote fiction on Steemit, I expanded a fifty-word story of Jayna (of course I weaved that in with the "Shambler" Saga, but the point remains). So expansion posts are as common as my contest posts and "Indie" posts that attempts to connect all my "fiction" posts. I like the idea of expansion posts for it allows a different view to be humored, to properly lengthen or size a post out and to play this system where non-popular authors can earn more for the same story.

Yet let's go to Jevil. Of course, for those on the bananafish Discord, you got your explanation of him so this wouldn't be a necessary read. But lemme explain this character properly: Jevil is a secret NPC Boss in the first chapter of Deltarune who's attack patterns are random, and is a foil character that shouts chaos and choice to the supposedly choice-less (nota bene, that choices affect nothing) World of Deltarune. I wonder how Toby Fox will play off the massive difficulty of Jevil and make more awesome secret Boss NPCs.

- Cited posts -

@bananafish - Finish the story, week 34

@calluna - Prompt ending

@calluna - Tell a Story to Me

- Cited images -

Jevil gif

Sort:  
Loading...



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9898440660913246
This post was voted: 100%

You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @theironfelix

We have planted already 5428.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26271.25
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

A saga for sure. Have you ever seen The Ice Pirates:

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt0087451/

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments! Mein Gott, where has this been? Now I gotta watch this movie and see if I can take any interesting threads they went off. Maybe if the movie is good, I'll just declare this as canon (in my list of things that I declare canon just for the sake of later using them as comparisons and wanting to play off their worlds) in my sagas. I love to add more movies to watch as I make posts or just want to relax to from time to time.

Anyways The Ice Pirates feel like a great counter-balance to the likes of Star Wars from the trailer, but I'll see for my own two eyes if the movie is good. Fo' sho' the water thing was interesting to note, reminded me much of Mad Max right there but on a comedic scale of course. (And yeah I declared Mad Max canon in my sagas if yah were wondering. What? The Mysts love having a good spectacle to watch from time to time.)

uwu.gif

Right. The Pirate Finish the Story mixed with Tell Me a Story The Golden Disc connected the dots for me. Haven't seen this movie in a while. However, felt that I should let you know about it.

For every story, there are more sides to tell than just that of those involved. I enjoyed the shift view from Kraken/Jevil's thoughts through your intro & Tell a Story To Me, to your FTS prompt, into Calluna's ending and then back around to your story. Your weaving pulled the bits together (albeit I had to toggle up and down to connect the dots a few times) with humor and action as well as setting up more to the next adventure.

I had quite the laugh as you introduced the golden disc with a good old "thunk" on the head. 😂

Jevil was having himself a grand time, wasn't he? (Even with the ships thwacking him here and there.) And really, who doesn't love robo-pirates? (Also, what would the equivalent for a heart attack be for a robot? Frying a circuit? - which you covered, nice!)

Clever idea to make the Kraken be more than it was cracked up to be. (This sounded funnier in my mind.) I think having Jevil use that form was a good fit, as what is more chaotic to pirates than a Kraken (well Jevil now, thanks to you. 😉)

And with a violent bang, provisions appropriate for robo-pirates and Wither fell about. Yet, the last item to fall was a massive scythe with a name-tag laced on the hilt. The words: "DEVILSKNIFE, MY WEAPON TO THE SURVIVOR WITHER!"

WITHER has acquired Devilsknife!

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments!
9AC82146-26BF-4C61-954B-F20E55D5F421.jpeg
DELICIOUS!~

Oh my word, this is amazing <3 please can we play story tag again! I haven't your skills for immersive language so you'll need to give me something easier for the next one ;) but oh this is so very good!!

The first part is brilliant, brought along in the moment with the being that encountered the disc, and described so well. The tone, mixing philosophy, and humour, is so much your trade mark and makes for such an entertaining opening.

You pull together so much, so very well. It just, wow! The being, taking the form of the Kraken (or the place of, not that is matters for the plot) is genius. I had no idea how you'd do this, but you, as always, create such a complete picture. The robo-pirates, refusing the back down, determined to slay the beast even as they seem to realise what it may be, or at least, that it is much more than it seems.

The bond created by the connection between Jevil and Wither is fantastic, and I love the ending, a prophecy with gift and curse, I wonder will there be adventures more?

The results and next round are out, I sincerely hope you will gift me another wonderful story <3

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments! I would so love to play story tag again, doing one rn with @brisby for a character named Saddie (the Thief/Goat). So whenever yah feel like it, I shall humour a prompt towards yah or yah can give me a prompt to enjoy expanding upon. Whatever shall be the case, just DM me on Discord and we can work this detail for our story tag / ping-pong programme later.

I wondered how that Jevil preface to this entire post was going to work out, glad it produced the feelings it did in yah. Also, equally on that through the medium of my trademark, I enjoy respecting the reader by having fun with them; to treat them with knowing stuff while making their minds paint the picture itself with what a provide. Anyways, when ideas bake for a while and yah got contingent events happening in life, it always necessitates some connections where it is warranted; here, this self-imposed rule still applies and I shall give anything I'm given the due respect it deserves. Anywho, seeing der Kraken in yer original ending gave me a bright idea when stitching that for the "Tell me a Story Contest" when the golden disc was mentioned. Because there's one being that would enjoy, other than a multiplicity of others with similar interests, historical items like the golden disc, Jevil. So I used Jevil as a driving vehicle to not only connect my "Finish the Story" prompt with thy ending, but to also connect it with thy "Finish a Story Contest" as well - other factors and references are duly noted as well as per usual with me and my monoverse, multigalaxy story. (I really need like an anthology book that'll encapsulate all my fictional works while still giving the due respects to the music I use and the contests I used to create my fiction.)

To return from a digression, when yah hinted at the robo-pirates (which I was humouring as well in the prompt along with other survivors of The Void equally mixed in with them), I was sold in the "Tell a story to me" prompt that I had to do it then and there. Anyways, taking them and working on them was a blast and I wanted to respect the idea yah made explicit of which I made implicit with the crew. On the point of the bond, I do agree and cosmic beings do have a heart in a heartless Universe (except Him and His New Angels along with The Void - which I might add I don't make clear distinctions of except in how they operate and their primary concerns. Keep that in mind Internet and record this asterisk wherever I make reference to them, I'll reveal their non-distinction later down the road). Anywho, the ending had to be a nice bow and I'm glad yah recognized the nice bow I put on this entire post. To answer the last question, Wither (or later Cap'n Wither) already has an adventure within the New Angel Saga which goes by his name: Cap'n Wither. For which Cap'n Wither is a direct sequel to A campfire story for It - unsurprisingly this story is a direct prequel to both of them. So maybe yer next round will help me build either a sequel, midquel or a prequel to all three of these items?

Swing dance.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45