Augmented reality 3D printed headset

in #technology6 years ago

Augmented Reality 3D printed headset

Hi everyone today I want to talk about one of my biggest old project. It's about augmented reality 3D printed headset.


So I discovered virtual reality few years ago and I am always facinated by this technology, but when I saw that it could be possible to put 3D model on a reality background, I directly wanted to try to make a special headset. At the beginning of the project no AR headset was available. So I tried to build one by myself.


Step one : Find the information on internet

First of all I searched on internet for finding some blueprint for making my headset and I find out some hackers and makers which have the same idea as me. I was looking the work of them and it's inspired mine.

Finaly I found the "Polylens" project. it's was really interesting project and the creator was selling his blueprint for testing and editing. You can find it at this adresse : https://gumroad.com/l/oSQzQ

Thanks to Sabba Keynejad

Step Two : Editing Blueprint

I worked a lot around the base of the "Polylens" blueprint with Adobe Illustrator :

Step three : Started making the 3D model


Step four : 3D print !

After a really long time for 3D print the model I obtained this result. Then I added to the 3d model lens and transparent plastic foil on the front.

Step five : Testing

So the last step I added my phone and thus made some tests (sorry it's pretty hard to take picture of it)

Bonus images

I also made the variations of the project :

Sadly now you can buy this, type of Ar headset in China really cheap :

Thanks to read my post and don't hesitate to make any comments or feedback !

@zadriel


Sort:  

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Wow nice work! Looking forward for the continues!)

You got a 2.61% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @zadriel! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Congratulations, your post received 9.26% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @zadriel! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 0.96% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @zadriel!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65472.04
ETH 3323.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63