No More Windows! Let's Change OS!

in #technology5 years ago

security-265130_1920.jpg
coffeseparator bigger.png

image.png

Today was the day I decided to give a big FU to my OS…

Like I’ve told before in this blog, after watching Snowden, Risk and CitizenFour I realized that I need to be removed out of the big corporation's centralized spying ecosystem! Windows OS? I’ll do everything I can not to use it…

Being spied, having my metadata stolen and saved in giant database server farms around the world? No way am I allowing that. That’s giving too much power to the current system. No system should have that amount of power… This reminds of the old times, the times of kings and queens!

Back in the medieval ages kings were Judge, jury, and executioners. Almost nothing has changed… Instead of having 1 king we have governments and corporations full of kings and queens… A centralized system of kings and queens that tries to dumb down the average joe into the lowest level of IQ that a human is physiologically capable off… Making the average joe and Josephine work for them their whole lives until the day they die.

image.png

Well, I’ve decided to move away from these big corporations as best as I can without losing my connection to the rest of humanity. So, my first step...no more Windows! Let’s go for an alternative Operating System (OS)! Let’s go for a Linux-based OS.

There are many Linux-kernel based OS, Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Kali Linux, Qubes OS are the ones that got my attention... the first two are the easiest for beginners.

Ubuntu

image.png

Ubuntu is very user-friendly and has a really awesome window layout. It has a Long term support version (LTS) and a normal non-LTS version, the LTS version gets support for 2 years while the non-LTS version gets support for 9 months. Out of the 4 Linux-kernel based OS, I named above, Ubuntu is probably the one with the biggest community. From what people told me, Ubuntu’s layout and design look a lot like Mac's layout, so, for the people that like the Mac layout, this is the best alternative…

Linux Mint

Linux Mint is less heavy on hardware than Ubuntu, making it great for old computers. The community is big, but not as big as Ubuntu’s community and the window Layout looks a lot like the Windows Layout. It also gets a lot of support but not as much as Ubuntu from what I’ve read.

Between these two I’m going for Ubuntu and I'll install it today, mainly because I’ve used it before!

image.png

Back in 2011 -2012 my old laptop started shutting down every couple of hours, without any warning! My brother (@ultra9k) told me that maybe I should install Ubuntu, it was less heavy then Windows and maybe it would solve the problem… well, it didn’t solve the problem, at least not straight away.

What Ubuntu allowed me to do is identify the problem, something that was next to impossible in Windows. It seems my CPU internal clock or something (it was way too long ago for me to remember…) was fried, in Windows, it would shut down the whole computer, in Ubuntu, it would freeze for a couple of seconds before unfreezing, already a big improvement from the shutdowns I was getting in Windows.

image.png

If the problem was still persisting in Ubuntu, then maybe it wasn’t software related, maybe it was hardware related, maybe it had a software solution, right? Well, Windows might not have one, but Ubuntu and most Linux-kernel based OS have communities around them! And so, I asked on the forums and got an answer after a couple of hours.

With a few lines of code in the Terminal, I was able to solve the problem, and the computer is still kicking all these years later! (Waiting for it to be Classified has Classic or Relic so I can sell it…)

But wait, what about the other two? What about Kali Linux and Qubes OS?

Well, those two are something to think about, but in the future… When I’ve become more adapted to the Linux OS. You might be wondering why, well, those two are made to be the top dogs of security. They are both, WAY too complex for me.

image.png

Kali has most of the hacking tools the hackers use to not only exploit systems but also to improve their security. Qubes OS was recommended by Snowden, it compartmentalizes your workspace in different compartments “dah...” making it so if one compartment gets corrupted or infected the others won’t.

For now, I’ll install my Ubuntu and work with it, in the future who knows! Maybe I’ll become even more worried about my privacy and security as the crypto space evolves and I’ll upgrade to one of the other two, probably to Qubes OS, Snowden knows his stuff so I’ll trust him with choosing my OS.

Images Free Source - 1, 2,3,4,5,6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 - Tradingview snapshots too.

coffeseparator bigger.png

Question of the day: What platform have you guys been using to post on STEEM? I've been using busy, but I've seen so many people on partiko...
coffeseparator bigger.png
Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD : Coinbase
Buy all kinds of Cryptocurrency: Binance
Join FreedomEX the first Steem Exchange where you can trade your Steem Tokens!: FreedomEX
Join Steemmonsters, one of the top dapps on blockchain: Stemmonsters
Join DrugWars : DrugWars
coffeseparator bigger.png

Sort:  



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting us for witness by selecting stem.witness!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Are you on the @steemcommunity 10KMinnows list? If not, you should be...

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I am, they have already helped me out a great deal with SBI shares 24 just this week and a nice amount of upvotes, hopefully, I'll get to minnow in 1 or 2 weeks max

My favorite part of this is the ability to try it out using a USB stick. You can load the OS out of the USB to try it out and in some cases do some fixes for example if you screwed up the windows partition (back in the day when I dual booted). Now I just use a Chromebook (e.g neither) or mobile Android.

Yeah, I also love that try out option, and to be honest, even though I already Installed ubuntu I'm wondering if I shouldn't have installed Linux mint instead especially since it is easier on the hardware and I do need that extra hardware capacity... What I really need is a new PC with more RAM tbh, I have a bazillion chrome tabs open with STEEM stuff, EOS stuff, ETH stuff, tradingview BTC charts, all the STEEM games, etc...

Never used or heard about Chromebook tbh... Is it any good?

Well, it runs on chrome OS which is heavily stripped Linux as really becomes pretty much a browser + chrome apps. But I find it has everything I need. And on some Chromebooks, they can we Linux containers that allow you to run Linux apps (early stage). Many of them also have Android containers to run Android apps (has been around for a bit of time by now). These features, you'd have to investigate more because Chromebooks come in a large variety now from cheap end to higher end.

This all assumes you trust Google with your data of course ;). Some people take the Chromebooks and just install Linux on them too.

This all assumes you trust Google with your data of course ;)

Nope, nope... Slowly walks away

Going to look into Chromebook, mainly to satisfy my curiosity :)

Busy, eSteem, DPoll, Actifit, DLike. I'm trying it all! 🙌

Great decision. I only use Windows when I can't escape from it.

By the way, I should have mentioned Debian, as well. That's a Distro for the Purists. It was probably one of the very first to appear and the one that outlasted all the others.

Its greatest advantage is that you can install it once and never worry about updates and upgrades at all. It will upgrade normally from one version to the next instead of forcing you to re-install. 🙆

I used version 1 of it. There were no graphical desktops back then. And it was a nightmare to install. How times have changed!!!

I still remember inputting commands in DOS to start games from a floppy disk, prince of persia, pre historik 2, Centurion: Defender of Rome, those were the days!

I'll look into Debian, but alredy got ubuntu installed, well, got it sort of working, still need to do some changes with the BIOS,etc... and add extra layers of protection

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal

Congratulations @teutonium! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I tried to get an old laptop running and get Linux as well but for whatever reason it does not even let me download it as if it knew what I waa trying to do (wouldn’t be surprised)! I will get back to it in the future. I use Busy when at my computer but Partiko when mobile (which is most of the time).

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know how you feel, my laptop also didn't want Ubuntu installed, I wonder why (sarcasm)
I had to spend 1 whole day trying to figure this out, but finally got it working!
Well, busy has been having a lot of bugs and issues, just now I had to come to steemit because my account wasn't loading...

Got some curiosity about Ubuntu, but don't know if I can cope with all the changes; let me know how that experience goes!

It's a little hard at the beginning, but you get used to it pretty fast... Humans are very adaptable, at least I am! And most software for Linux-Kernel based OS are open source, which is always great! I do most of my image editing for STEEM on one of these open source projects called Gimp, it's free to use, open-source and it's almost as good as Photoshop, if not better!

I've been using Linux for too long to know and I can't imagine anything better. So many choices and still so much quality.

Posted using Partiko Android

Linux mint or Ubuntu? I got Ubuntu installed yesterday but I'm wondering if I should have gone with mint instead, it uses much fewer resources...

Already got the ClamAV and the firewall up and running. I know Linux doesn't really need these but it's always good to have that extra layer of protection...

Thanks for reading :)

I'm a distro hopper. I don't jump around as much as I used to because I just want to create stuff now, but I mostly use Mint on anything that is not a server. It's just so easy and ready to go out of the box.

That said, I have a ThinkPad P52 with an Nvidia Quattro card and the only thing I found to work on it with the card is PopOS which I have really fallen in love with.

For servers I use Ubuntu or ArchLinux.

Why use Ubuntu instead of mint for servers? Wouldn't the decrease in resource consumption that mint offers actually be better for the server?

It's around half...

I'm surprised to see KDE (Plasma 5) so far down the list. They really are doing good things with that these days. That used to be crazy heavy.

Ah, good question.

Ubuntu has a server version that has no desktop installed. It is stipped down to just LAMP stuff. Also, I like Ubuntu for servers because it is so well supported by a huge community.

Oh yeah right!! I saw that Server version when I was downloading the LTS version to install on my laptop... Maybe I'll give you a call once I decide to run some crypto nodes (thinking about getting at least 1 master node so far) xD

I have been running Ubuntu on my work computer and one of my home computers for many years. I think it works great.

It's a really amazing OS! I'm very happy with it. It sometimes freezes but it isn't his fault, it's mainly because of the amount of tabs I got open on googlechrome... It sucks my RAM dry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13