You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No More Windows! Let's Change OS!

in #technology6 years ago

My favorite part of this is the ability to try it out using a USB stick. You can load the OS out of the USB to try it out and in some cases do some fixes for example if you screwed up the windows partition (back in the day when I dual booted). Now I just use a Chromebook (e.g neither) or mobile Android.

Sort:  

Yeah, I also love that try out option, and to be honest, even though I already Installed ubuntu I'm wondering if I shouldn't have installed Linux mint instead especially since it is easier on the hardware and I do need that extra hardware capacity... What I really need is a new PC with more RAM tbh, I have a bazillion chrome tabs open with STEEM stuff, EOS stuff, ETH stuff, tradingview BTC charts, all the STEEM games, etc...

Never used or heard about Chromebook tbh... Is it any good?

Well, it runs on chrome OS which is heavily stripped Linux as really becomes pretty much a browser + chrome apps. But I find it has everything I need. And on some Chromebooks, they can we Linux containers that allow you to run Linux apps (early stage). Many of them also have Android containers to run Android apps (has been around for a bit of time by now). These features, you'd have to investigate more because Chromebooks come in a large variety now from cheap end to higher end.

This all assumes you trust Google with your data of course ;). Some people take the Chromebooks and just install Linux on them too.

This all assumes you trust Google with your data of course ;)

Nope, nope... Slowly walks away

Going to look into Chromebook, mainly to satisfy my curiosity :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61825.46
ETH 2454.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60