Sort:  

Isn't that a sniper rifle?

The M-14/M1A was a battle rifle before it became an M21 sniper rifle @darthnava. It's primary use was to be carried by Grunts into combat and used with iron sights.

It was what the M-16 replaced and there was a good many years where they were both issued as primaries at the same time by different services in the U.S. I even managed to get my hands on one a few times when I was stationed in Germany in the 80's, even though they weren't standard issue well before then. Helped us do better on a few training exercises against vehicle targets.

Oh, so that was a modified M-14! Noobs like me couldn't distinguished the same rifle if it was modded a bit and painted differently.

Shhhhh!!! Of course not (ahem) It's a "hunting" rifle!

Ha-ha! I love your humor, sir!

You never know when a squirrel will attack from 1000 meters!

Pretty much the size of it! If I remember right it's 16.7mm and has a range of 2 miles!

Well if we're talking about BB guns for them long ranging squirrels.....I'll take my M-24 over this moving parts rifle. LOL

Right tools for the job at hand. The M-14 was "out of the inventory" back as far as the 80's.....right up until it wasn't anymore. Because we weren't in the woods or jungles anymore, but the desert where it shooting farther, more accurately, with a higher penetration made it the right tool.

M-14 is a GREAT gun....but I dunno if I'd agree it's the best we've ever produced. I know I like it though and always have.

I have no real problem with any of them... Anything that gets the job done. The M-4 is a vast improvement over the M-16 prototype. In Nam they got more American's killed than the enemy. They jammed something wicked... If you beat the magazine against your steel it was a little better (but not much). I know they improved it. I've heard nothing but good things about the M-4... everybody I talk to really like it.

Mine, I rescued from Nam inside the door of a fridge I sent back... B&L 10x30... even at 72, I can still cut centers at 1000 meters (Lapua boat-tails). I know they've come out with some pretty fancy sniper rifles since the 60's- but for an all round weapon, it's still the best to me.

Current issue M-14 EBR (enhanced battle rifle). Used one a bit in Iraq and it's a good shooter. But I still favor my bolt gun to reach out and touch someone.

I've seen those (pictures) I read that the SEALs are using them for sniper rifles. I did a little long range shooting in Nam and my 14 proved reliable and accurate to 1000 meters. You don't get that many 1000 meter shots in the jungle, but up in the highlands we did.

I read something about a modified version of the M-14, the M-24 or something like that.

As far as our sniper rifles in 7.62 NATO, the M-21 is the original sniper version of the M-14. Back in your day it came with the ART scope, then the ART II scope. Trained with them when I went to sniper school, just for familiarization.

M-24 SWS (sniper weapons system) is what I mainly used back in the day....that day was a little less distant than yours. It's a modified Remington 700 bolt action. Long action, to be able to rechamber some for .300 win magnum, bull barrel, adjustable stock, Leupold M3 Ultra 10x mildot scope. Marine nomenclature was M40, Remington but different setups.

M-25 SWS was the upgraded sniper rifle based on the M-14. It was put into service a few years after the M-24, not as a replacement but to augment or for more specific SOF missions, as it was developed for Army Special Forces & SEALs.

M-2010 ESR (enhanced sniper rifle) is the upgraded version of the M-24 chambered for .300 win mag and skeletonized stock.

M-110 SASS (semi auto sniper rifle) is based on the M-16 action, made by Knights armament. 7.62 NATO, 10 or 20 rd mag.

The last 2 are current issue ones, although I hear that H&K now has a dog in the fight and may have been contracted for a new sniper rifle.

Steyr came out with this baby a few years ago...

This is what it shoots (.308 on bottom)

It also doubles as an anti-tank rifle.

PS: It must have been the M-25 SWS I was thinking of.

I feel like I need me some of this piece of awesomeness.

Kinda reminds me of this old school shooter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42