Rifles That Changed Modern Warfare: The M16

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

M16A1, M16A2, M4, M16A4, from top to bottom (Image source)

The M16 is the U.S. military's select-fire adaptation of the AR-15 rifle. This famous rifle was adapted for semi-automatic and full-automatic fire. Colt's Manufacturing Company purchased the rights to the AR-15 from ArmaLite, and currently uses that designation only for semi-automatic versions of the rifle. The M16 fires the 5.56mm NATO cartridge. The rifle entered U.S. Army service and was deployed for jungle warfare operations in South Vietnam in 1963, becoming the U.S. military's standard service rifle of the Vietnam War by 1969, replacing the M14 rifle.

This weapon was designed during the late 1950s. The US Army wanted a very light weapon. So the M16 has a number of lightweight materials in order to save some weight. It uses aluminum in place of steel, fiberglass construction in place of wood. Also it has an ergonomic design. It had many new features. At the time of its introduction it was called the "Space Rifle".

The barrel is in one line with the buttstock. This feature better reduces the recoil. It operates smoothly during fully automatic fire and is very easy to control. Consequently, it is much more accurate during automatic fire than some other assault rifles. Its better accuracy gives it an advantage.

This fine weapon works great in battle, although it does have some problems. Newer models have a Picatinny-type rail and support various optics and detachable accessories. It can be also fitted with an under-barrel grenade launcher.

Since its introduction this assault rifle was constantly improved. This influential weapon was built in numerous variants. Approximately 8 million of these assault rifles were manufactured. The M16 and its derivatives are used by more than 70 countries.

Many people like to compare the M16 versus the AK-47. The M16 has 3 main advantages over AK-47, mainly range, accuracy and weight.

As of 2010, the U.S. Army is replacing the M16 in combat units with the M4 carbine, which is a smaller version of the M16 because of the smaller-sized M4’s overall lighter weight and easier use in close quarters urban combat.

Colt M16 A1 Carbine Full Auto by Machine Gun Mike




Sources: http://www.military-today.com/firearms/top10assault_rifles.htm
http://www.military-today.com/firearms/m16vsak47.htm


Follow me as @darthnava: "Please upvote @cryptopie everyday to help him."

Sort:  

The best weapon produced in the US... You can keep those BB guns- I'll stick with mine!

Isn't that a sniper rifle?

The M-14/M1A was a battle rifle before it became an M21 sniper rifle @darthnava. It's primary use was to be carried by Grunts into combat and used with iron sights.

It was what the M-16 replaced and there was a good many years where they were both issued as primaries at the same time by different services in the U.S. I even managed to get my hands on one a few times when I was stationed in Germany in the 80's, even though they weren't standard issue well before then. Helped us do better on a few training exercises against vehicle targets.

Oh, so that was a modified M-14! Noobs like me couldn't distinguished the same rifle if it was modded a bit and painted differently.

Shhhhh!!! Of course not (ahem) It's a "hunting" rifle!

Ha-ha! I love your humor, sir!

You never know when a squirrel will attack from 1000 meters!

Pretty much the size of it! If I remember right it's 16.7mm and has a range of 2 miles!

Well if we're talking about BB guns for them long ranging squirrels.....I'll take my M-24 over this moving parts rifle. LOL

Right tools for the job at hand. The M-14 was "out of the inventory" back as far as the 80's.....right up until it wasn't anymore. Because we weren't in the woods or jungles anymore, but the desert where it shooting farther, more accurately, with a higher penetration made it the right tool.

M-14 is a GREAT gun....but I dunno if I'd agree it's the best we've ever produced. I know I like it though and always have.

I have no real problem with any of them... Anything that gets the job done. The M-4 is a vast improvement over the M-16 prototype. In Nam they got more American's killed than the enemy. They jammed something wicked... If you beat the magazine against your steel it was a little better (but not much). I know they improved it. I've heard nothing but good things about the M-4... everybody I talk to really like it.

Mine, I rescued from Nam inside the door of a fridge I sent back... B&L 10x30... even at 72, I can still cut centers at 1000 meters (Lapua boat-tails). I know they've come out with some pretty fancy sniper rifles since the 60's- but for an all round weapon, it's still the best to me.

Current issue M-14 EBR (enhanced battle rifle). Used one a bit in Iraq and it's a good shooter. But I still favor my bolt gun to reach out and touch someone.

I've seen those (pictures) I read that the SEALs are using them for sniper rifles. I did a little long range shooting in Nam and my 14 proved reliable and accurate to 1000 meters. You don't get that many 1000 meter shots in the jungle, but up in the highlands we did.

I read something about a modified version of the M-14, the M-24 or something like that.

As far as our sniper rifles in 7.62 NATO, the M-21 is the original sniper version of the M-14. Back in your day it came with the ART scope, then the ART II scope. Trained with them when I went to sniper school, just for familiarization.

M-24 SWS (sniper weapons system) is what I mainly used back in the day....that day was a little less distant than yours. It's a modified Remington 700 bolt action. Long action, to be able to rechamber some for .300 win magnum, bull barrel, adjustable stock, Leupold M3 Ultra 10x mildot scope. Marine nomenclature was M40, Remington but different setups.

M-25 SWS was the upgraded sniper rifle based on the M-14. It was put into service a few years after the M-24, not as a replacement but to augment or for more specific SOF missions, as it was developed for Army Special Forces & SEALs.

M-2010 ESR (enhanced sniper rifle) is the upgraded version of the M-24 chambered for .300 win mag and skeletonized stock.

M-110 SASS (semi auto sniper rifle) is based on the M-16 action, made by Knights armament. 7.62 NATO, 10 or 20 rd mag.

The last 2 are current issue ones, although I hear that H&K now has a dog in the fight and may have been contracted for a new sniper rifle.

Steyr came out with this baby a few years ago...

This is what it shoots (.308 on bottom)

It also doubles as an anti-tank rifle.

PS: It must have been the M-25 SWS I was thinking of.

I feel like I need me some of this piece of awesomeness.

Kinda reminds me of this old school shooter.

.I am not a fan of guns...but just a question how do you do, to have that much upvotes?

You mean this post about guns?

No...I mean all your posts. You have a lot of upvotes, its incredible. Good job. But how do you do that?

Well, I got a year's head start (late July 2016). I did some research on big hitters in Steemit, made my posts less boring to others, made friends, be respectful to others, remained neutral in whale and flag wars, made funny comments in other posts, and it helps also that you are known to be stricken with cerebral palsy too. ;D

Playing the CP card.....I knew you were gansta brother.

;-)

American Rifles.
These needs a lot of maintenance as they would fail if sand and dirt goes into the mechanisms.
Great machine gun as it was designed not to kick up but back for firing accuracy.

fantastic article and its one of the best weapon in us millitary with advance technology, thanks for informing us.

Nice post @darthnava, I remember when I was young I was playing Counter-Strike V1.3, This gun was called Carbine. Followed, Upvoted and Resteemed ^^ also @cryptopie ^^

Thank you for that. I love to play video games too and remember that game. I suck at it.

That's my favorite game I'm one of the Pro's. Hahaha

They are powerful and accurate

Deadful guns! but helpful to kill terorist.

I think you play too many video games, buddy.

BOOM

Nice to see these destructive and dangerous weapons.

ALL weapons are destructive and dangerous.....that's why they're called weapons. ;-)

wow fantastic information about M16, i heard about this rifle but don't know much about it after reading your post i gained lots of knowledge about M16 no doubt a great weapon. thanks for sharing

I do not know but I really have fascinations over guns too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39