A Question From My Own Mom: Why Is Linux Safer Than Windows?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

Mum doesn't know best


Well mom, about the factors that make Linux 'safer' than Windows. It is safer and more secure than ANY version of MS Windows.

But there is more to it than the safety, security and anonymity it provides. Try MONEY as a reason to use it.

I decided to try Linux over a year ago after Microsoft began their push to coerce a billion windows users to upgrade to Windows 10. The effort pissed off a multitude of PC users around the world, giving rise to movements like "Never10". I loaded a vintage Dell Optiplex tower with Linux Mint 17 and began to learn. To be honest, I've been an IT professional for 25 years.

I quickly discovered that it was easy to use, extremely resource friendly and gave a user access to FREE programs that will do anything as well or better than what Microsoft or any of their co-conspirators can sell us. Have made the conversion in my home and personal business to all-linux and never looked back. For Windows-only programs that you absolutely must have, there is Oracle VirtualBox running Windows, or Wine emulation. More and more games are available for Linux through Steam, and other gaming communities. My mom loves her Linux Mint home workstation and her fully encrypted Linux Mint laptop for her Bitcoin trading. I've retired my Windows Server 2003 home server for an Ubuntu Server. All are solid, reliable, and easy to use.



Source


Purchase less expensive Dell refurb towers and laptops and load them with Linux Mint. You'll save a ton of money, have a lot of fun with Mint, and you get to stick your thumb in the eye of Microsoft by denying that evil giant your hard earned cash!

Mac Nation


As a side note, and it really pains me to say this, but for the longest time, Mac was a lot more secure than Windows, for the same reason that Linux is a lot more secure than the both of them. The fact that so many are using Windows, that's what virus-programmers are going to spend all of their time working on.

However, with the wake of iPhones and the fact that they are growing in usage in a rapid pace; more and more people are starting to write viruses, hacks and worms for Mac. So, Mac is losing more and more security with every passing moment.



Source


There's also something that I don't think anyone is taking into consideration, and that is the fact that I will bet dollars to doughnuts that the vast majority of the kind of people that are going to write viruses, hacks and worms are going to be using Linux. They don't want to get busted doing what it is that they are doing, so they are going to be using the security that is a Linux OS. Just something to take into consideration.

Now, the discussion becomes, which distro/kernel of linux is the most secure and the best to use with TOR. Now, I should probably state the old cliche that you get what you pay for. If I am not mistaken, the only kernel of Linux that you have to pay for is Red Hat. I would recommend, if you can afford it, and you would like to support Linux, that that is the one that you should get. I, myself, am a big fan of Ubuntu, and that is the primary OS on the laptop that I use to get on TOR. Mine is okay, I guess, but if you're not going to use Ubuntu, than I would probably recommend Tails.

Just some things to take into consideration, and I hope that you find all of this information helpful - that's both Steemians and my mom!

I remain your humble son mom,
@mindhunter


Sort:  

I totally agree. I use Mint for a while. I is easy to use. What I like the most is that we can take an old slow computer under Windows and make it perform well under Linux, especially with Mint for newbies.. :)

My other netbook has Lubuntu on it. It's lightning fast too!
http://lubuntu.net/

P.S. Hi mom if your reading the comments section :D

It used to be that you had to be a bit tech savey to install linux. Now, I consider it even easier then Winders(tm). Especially on older machines.

Linux vs Winders.

(as an operating system)
Linux wins! Because Winders isn't even in the running.
Its not an operating system. It lacks several features that are required to be an OS (unless, you pay for the professional version and then pay for a control suite like McAfee.

(as a secure system)
Linux wins! Because Winders says, "install virus here".
No, really, it does. The "I love you" virus was written out of a college text book. (complete with comments)
Winders has many PROVEN back doors for the NSA, etc.
IE is now built into the OS allowing all types of paths for virus attacks.

Worst, when Microsloth was working on Win 9, they wouldn't allow other companies access to it until it was released. So, no one except Microsloth had a anti-virus.... Soooo, Microsloth sold a product, and then had people pay them more money to secure that product. I believe that is called extortion.

The blockchain will do to banks what linux did to Windows - deball them!! :)

Actually, it will be far worse. Blockchain will destroy the entire financial sector.
Here is my new post on it.
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@builderofcastles/the-future-of-money

Excellent news @builderofcastles - I'm relishing this article :) ....

Purchase less expensive Dell refurb towers and laptops and load them with Linux Mint.

That's exactly what I did, and… I love it, but I still can't work without Photoshop, Lightroom & InDesign. GIMP simply isn't enough.

But I hope some future version of Wine will allow me to forget Windows :)

If you are using photoshop for image manipulation... GIMP is catching up.
But, if you are using photoshop to draw, Krita is a LOT better, and getting better.
Inkscape is still a bit clunky, but I am sure it will overtake InDesign.

But, when you use those big software packages for a living, it is really hard to transition out of them.

As far as I know, Inkscape is vector drawing app that takes on Illustrator.

InDesign does not have any competition. QuarkXpress is dead.

I never used Photoshop for drawing because it doesn't have a minimum of controls. It's a painting program, and not drawing. Still it's by a large margin ahead of GIMP in photo manipulation :(

For Krita I didn't even heard. I might check it on your recommendation.

Thank you.

Great minds think alike @lighteye - I'm a HUGE fan of Mint - it's not hard to see why it's the #1 distro on http://distrowatch.com/

Been a few years since I tried Linux Mint (version 3.0 I believe it was), but Mint is a safe place for everyone knew to linux. Myself I run Antergos on my laptop, used to run vanilla Arch, but when I upgraded to an ssd not long ago I wanted to test out Antergos installer and see how it worked. My servers run ubuntu or centos (my local fileserver runs centos and my remote box runs ubuntu).

I myself had Antergos in the past, but I now run Lubuntu also - it's fast and light and ideal for Steeming on @leanvix :)

Yeah, Lubuntu is lightweight. I run XFCE as my DE, which is my preferred DE for its speed and simplicity :)

I recently moved to Lubuntu after being on Xubuntu for many years!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome old friend :)

I don't think Macs are less safe today than 10 years ago, however, using an outdated OS is unsafe. You can get an used and decent Mac for less than $200. The good thing about Mac OS is that is so good you don't really need to have the latest model to do your everyday stuff in it.

A couple of years ago (like 8-9 years or so) my mom's desktop PC was struggling with Windows, possible malware and viruses. With no money or intentions of upgrading the hardware or buying a new one, there was no real reason either to reformat and reinstall Windows, so I installed Ubuntu 9.10. She was really happy, the performance was awesome and she was able to do her stuff without any slowdowns (Internet browsing, word processing, printing, facebook and youtube). Then the computer broke, maybe the motherboard I didn't care, I found a good deal on an used mac mini for her and she moved. She's been a Mac user since 2012, always using low end devices without any issues. She likes the stuff because it just works and that's what matters most.

If your mom's computer usage is limited to basic stuff such as internet browsing and word processing there's no reason not to have her move to Linux. It's free, stable, secure. It won't slow down after a couple of weeks and will take full advantage of the hardware.

I know, from back as far as the old G4 Macs. My MacBook Pro dualboots OS X and Elementary OS

Thanks for that @algarcia - Steem on! ... in whatever OS :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62579.62
ETH 3455.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53