You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Question From My Own Mom: Why Is Linux Safer Than Windows?

in #technology7 years ago

Purchase less expensive Dell refurb towers and laptops and load them with Linux Mint.

That's exactly what I did, and… I love it, but I still can't work without Photoshop, Lightroom & InDesign. GIMP simply isn't enough.

But I hope some future version of Wine will allow me to forget Windows :)

Sort:  

If you are using photoshop for image manipulation... GIMP is catching up.
But, if you are using photoshop to draw, Krita is a LOT better, and getting better.
Inkscape is still a bit clunky, but I am sure it will overtake InDesign.

But, when you use those big software packages for a living, it is really hard to transition out of them.

As far as I know, Inkscape is vector drawing app that takes on Illustrator.

InDesign does not have any competition. QuarkXpress is dead.

I never used Photoshop for drawing because it doesn't have a minimum of controls. It's a painting program, and not drawing. Still it's by a large margin ahead of GIMP in photo manipulation :(

For Krita I didn't even heard. I might check it on your recommendation.

Thank you.

Great minds think alike @lighteye - I'm a HUGE fan of Mint - it's not hard to see why it's the #1 distro on http://distrowatch.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62532.98
ETH 3451.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53