I Picked Up My MacBook Pro Today!

in #technology7 years ago

29FA7A74-013E-4EC2-B781-631A3D5A9F85.jpeg

A Touch Of Genius?

2018 has kept on with her habit of outdoing herself and surprising me on every front. When the year began, I had no idea I'd be traveling out of my country within the first 10 days. I had no idea I'd be talking to an audience about the powers of Steemit and how anybody can benefit from this revolutionary community. I had no idea I'd be typing this post on a brand-new MacBook pro!

Over the years, I've learnt to say what I want no matter how stupid it might sound to you listening and I'm glad I have kept on with that resolution. When you say something or ask for a thing, the worst response you can receive is a "no". With this at the back of your mind, you shouldn't shy away from saying out loud, the things you want for yourself.

At the hotel after the meet up in Sunyani, I said I wanted to own a MacBook; it was a dream and a very strong desire. I have a very strong conviction that all my dreams and desires will come through, with the only issue being time. I might not know how soon or how late but I know it'll all happen. So yes, I said I wanted a MacBook Pro. Somebody smiled and a few days later I'm back in Lagos with a new MacBook Pro in my hands.

Locating the store at the mall was quite a task as I couldn't really remember where it was. It was only until I used the Google Maps before I could find the store. Walking in, there were so many Apple products displayed

If you give your all to Steemit, it will give back to you and bring out the entrepreneur or philanthropist in you. All it needs is just time. This is what I believe and it has been working well for me. I got my MacBook courtesy of the amazing community we've gone on to build here on Steemit because without the people, all these wouldn't exist.

Steeming Here Is Different

133F0411-4439-4B48-BEDD-F6A5111868F7.jpeg

This is what originally prompted this post as I was supposed to write about a different thing. I've always heard the gists that this machine could be a fast beast but nothing beats actually experiencing it. I don't know if it's because it's its first use but this thing is way way silent. Needless to say I love it!

Does This Mean Videos Are Coming Soon?

Well, let's just say that's a possibility; I won't be promising anything. Now that I've got a machine that can at least support and provide me with the necessary tools, I can begin to explore the video editing domain and play around in hopes of grabbing all I need to get started in the shortest possible time. now I wish I was in Ghana where I didn't have to worry about electricity but luckily for me, things are quite better in this part of town.

So I'm guessing it'll majorly be video editing and designing that will take place on this beauty. That's asides Steeming lol.


Do You own a MacBook Pro?

  • What are some of the major things you do on it?
  • How do you make sure it's maintained properly?

Do you wish to own one?

  • What do you plan to use it for?
  • Why this and not another type?
Sort:  

What exactly is going on with electricity in Nigeria?

It's far from being at its best. Some areas go days without it. It's so bad that you sometimes feel grateful to have electricity when it's available. A lot have been forced to run generators for hours or try out inverters. Those two options are expensive and not very accessible to the regular folks.

After a little reading it seems that government price fixing and state provided monopoly have destroyed the electricity market, making it unworkable. It's bizarre that the biggest economy in Africa would lag behind other countries in such basic infrastructure.

Crypto is always promising to disrupt the state. Given that it is a market failure (due to interference from the state), I wonder if it could be worked around.

The distribution arm was “privatized” a few years ago, leaving the electricity generation to the state. This hasn’t changed much because you can only distribute what you have. In Nigeria, I’ve not seen any sector where government monopoly worked out well. I feel it’s only when electricity generation is privatized that improvements can come.

There’s examples in telecommunications, broadcasting, education and so on. Crypto can empower more people to begin seeking for answers and solutions.

Congrats For Mac Buddy !!

I own an IT company, supporting small businesses....the VAST majority of which are Windows-based PCs and servers. In May 2015 I bought a MacBook Pro, and honestly, I'll probably stick with a Mac in the foreseeable future, but not for the typical reasons. Yes, it's stable. Yes, performance is great. But for me, it allows me to run anything I want/need, and if not within the MacOS, then it can also run Windows. And Linux. (But haven't had to install either--I remote into another system that has!)

I guess it’s just a matter of finding a usecase that resonates with you and running with it. Thanks for sharing

Yayyyy! This is fantastic! I'm so happy for you bruv! I pray someday I'll be able to afford one too. I totally feel your joy about your user experience...twould be like being let loose in a room full of your favorite chocolates when you had previously been stuck in a room full of plain old cracker biscuits...lol...Apple never fails to beat the competition. I'm also encouraged about your resolution to always speak what's on your mind, I shall be emulating it. Congratulations!

twould be like being let loose in a room full of your favorite chocolates...

And without supervision too! Lol. I believe you’ll be able to afford one someday. A week ago, I didn’t this would be happening today 😊

I swear, that's one of the major amazing things about Steemit. 1 minute, your down, the next minute you're way up there!

MacBook Pro

I don't think I have seen one in my life but since you gave some usefulness of it on your post , I'll check up for its usefulness and benefit maybe it's high time i let go of HP gadget.

I love to learn more about Macbook

I wish to own one

Oga boss lol congrats,

Ild love to own both windows and mac bro, sleep with them under my pillow,help me upvote my comment first and im on the way

Wow!. Congrats on your trip, talk and new MacBook @fisteganos.
Don't think I can afford one, but if it means faster browsing, stronger battery life(because of irregular electricity here in Naija), a dope camera for videos and higher storage capacity, I'm game!😉.
@adedoyinwealth

Thank you! I couldn’t afford one as at a week ago 😁. My motto for 2018 is Everything Is Possible. So I believe you’d be able to get all you want soon enough.

Congratulations on this one.

Thank you 🙏

I am a MacMan, for 5 years now, I don't do anything special with it, maybe because I am not a tech person but i got it because I enjoy the speed. Now that Mac is mine because it's my post over there.

Now that Mac is mine because it's my post over there.

come get it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43