Urban Aerial Ridesharing Coming To A City Near You

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

Uber has finally narrowed down their search for which international cities might be the ones selected to host the launch of their flying taxi network.

They've already announced that Dallas and Los Angeles are likely going to be the first two launch cities for test flights for the project, which is ideally set to be operational by 2020.

Demonstration flights would launch first within the next few years, followed by the opportunity for private travel and a commercial taxi operation by 2023.

Aside from Dallas and Los Angeles, they are looking at 5 different countries that might host the third city location to be selected.

Those areas that they're looking at are said to be Japan, France, Brazil, India, and Australia.

Once they have decided on their final city, it will be a race to the finish line and the entire operation could be up and running within just a few years.

Uber has allegedly been busy working with the US government and NASA on their flying taxi project. Their efforts might some day be put to use in establishing a flying taxi network that could shuttle soldiers to different areas, aside from providing other services.

Lawmakers in some countries are more enthusiastic about others when it comes to embracing a flying taxi network.

Japan for example is reportedly eager to establish their own flying taxi plan and they are working with a number of different companies, including those such as Boeing, Japan Airlines, and Airbus, in an effort to see this goal become a reality for them soon.

If it isn't the Uber flying network, it will likely be some other version that we see eventually come to market in the next few years because there are many companies that are working in this space at the moment.

Flying taxi tests have already been conducted in some regions, such as Dubai, and this sort of travel option could truly become a reality within only a few years. Uber has projected that as user adoption for their Uber Air network grows, that it might eventually cost you less to take a flying taxi than to maintain any car ownership.

Pics:
Pixabay

Related Posts:

Flying Taxis Get A $30 Million Boost

Singapore Looks To Implement Flying Taxi System

Sort:  

Uber is really great service

How long ya reckon till you can take a transatlantic uber flight? Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

@doitvoluntarily in many countries do not want to Uber, but we must recognize that they are leaders in passenger transport, we are almost nothing is missing by 2020 that will be great.
Thank you very much for sharing this information
I wish you a great day

would you take one then? 😄

If I have the opportunity to travel to Brazil, I would not miss a trip on it, maybe after Brazil arrive in Argentina
I wish you a good day

that would be a good trip!

Do we have any info about the price we have to pay for a race? :P

That is amazing. As a world traveler this really excites me, but I usually stay in places where the regular taxis barely run, like Guatamala! lol So on the other hand maybe I shouldn't get too excited! lol

And another thing....what the heck is a flying taxi? We have cars that fly now? Like in that movie the Fifth Element? Man, I though I was out of it when Justin Beber became famous for two years and I came back to the US and everyone was laughing at me that I never heard of him.

If we have flying cars and nobody told me....man, I must be detached! lol Thanks for keeping me up with all that you share. Have a great day brother. Steem on!

This type of post is usually the choice of everyone. I think your post has been great. Thank you

Wonderful for all those modern cities, I congratulate you .. I would like that technology for my beautiful Venezuela !!. I invite you to visit my profile. Thank you.

I believe this issue will make the population divided because nowadays we know that such "flying taxi" may use fossil fuel, that means we have already so much CO2 in our atmosphere with the cars and transport on ground and the number of Asthma people raised dramatically but what about if such pollution will be thrown into air and really high in atmosphere. That will be disaster. Only decision is electric transport but you know how Oil lobby doe not want to lose control.

I am really excited to see if something is gong to happen...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53