Unboxing and Review of the Logitech Wireless K750 Solar Keyboard

in #technology6 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends,

How many of you love wireless keyboards but hate the fact that you have to recharge it or replace the battery every once in a while. You love the freedom, flexibility, and comfort of being able to use your keyboard in any position and from various distance from your PC yet at the most inconvenient times, you glance out of the corner of your eye and notice a flashing red dot or a low on battery notice. Either that or you try to squeeze those few extra minutes of usage out of your device only to have it die mid-sentence?

I struggled for a while with those exact scenarios and finally tried to find a solution that would satisfy both wants - wireless yet never need to be recharged. I happened to be scrolling through eBay and noticed the Logitech K750 Wireless Solar Keyboard. I looked on Amazon and found it selling for roughly $40 USD and based on the ratings, overall consumers seemed happy with the product. I glanced very briefly through the comments and didn't see any alarming complaints, so I decided to order one to test it out.



Image Source

Skip a few years - I am now in Austin and because I had first purchased this keyboard when I was in the Philippines a few years ago, I decided to get another one. You might be thinking that I must love this keyboard if I'm buying a second one. I'll get back to this later in my post.

This time around I purchased the keyboard at Office Depot on sale for around $19.99 - almost half the cost of the first keyboard. Below you can see my unboxing experience.

As you can see from the above video, it is packaged like most other keyboards are packaged. Fairly secure and safe. You will also notice that there is a liquid-like spot on one of the solar panels, meaning somewhere during the manufacturing, packaging, or shipping process moisture got into the keyboard. What I also can't show you is the difference between how this new unit was packaged versus the 1st keyboard I bought.

The first keyboard came in a larger box with a lot more packaging. It also came with a clear plastic film which was not found on this new keyboard - the film is used to protect the keyboard from smudges, dust, and in my case, usually comforts me to know that it is brand new and unused. The plastic film adhesive lining below is what wasn't present in this new keyboard.

Specs-wise, this keyboard is similar to many keyboards of today. As you can see below from Logitech's site, It lists this keyboard as one of the Best products recommended for its features.

It is only 1/3-inch thick and has a sleek stylish design, Is powered by virtually any kind of light source, has smooth and easy feel-good keys, uses 2.4GHz wireless bands to connect from long distances, 128-bit AES encryption, and comes with Logitech Unifying receiver which can control a number of Logitech bluetooth devices.

The Solar power feature and the fact that you virtually never have to stop and recharge it is what makes it stand out.

Going back to my keyboard in the Philippines. It worked flawlessly for years and continues to work today - or so I'm told. It had at one time run into a known issue with charging to 100% but was fixed fairly quickly via a firmware update. I had no complaints with the keyboard - It had solved my issue allowing me to be wireless without having to worry about running out of batteries and/or needing to recharge. I could use the keyboard non-stop and it would continuously charge when and when I was not using it.

Jumping back again to present day and my current Logitech K750 keyboard. Somewhere and somehow I think the quality of the build has changed. Not only was it shipped with less packaging (not a big deal) and moisture in one of the panels, but since day one I have had issues with the left ctrl-keys response. Because I use shortcut keys a lot, this key is fairly important, especially when most of your Microsoft, copy-paste, etc shortcut combinations include this key. I nearly have to slam on it every single in order for it to work - sometimes my wife even thinks I'm pissed off at something.



Image Source

This keyboard is a good buy if you are using it for regular everyday use. If you are a gamer though, it is not the best choice, given that it does not come with programmable shortcut keys, flashy features to enhance gaming, and an ergonomic design helping you to reach key combinations for crazy killer combos and lightining fast execution required in some games.

Before I end, one other thing to note - the clear cover of the keyboard as well seems to bubble up and not fit snug on the base of the keyboard which makes it look as if it were a cheap layer of plastic designed as a removable cover - which it is not. I love this keyboard, but this second unit has so many defects and pitfalls that make using it very irritating.

I have since called Logitech for a replacement keyboard and am expecting it in the next 7-days. Hopefully, it will be just as good as the first one and not as bad as the second.

Do I love this keyboard? Yes, but for now I call it a love-hate relationship.

I hope you enjoyed my unboxing and review of the Logitech Wireless K750 Solar Keyboard. If you have any questions, inputs, or feedback, please feel free to post a comment below. I would also appreciate support in the form of Upvoting, Following, and Re-steeming my post if you found it informative.


Sort:  

Great little review. Good to see product reviews also available on Steemit. It has started becoming my one stop destination for everything I like.

Sure thing. Hopefully, Steemit will soon become the one stop shop for everyone! I hope to do more and better product reviews as my account and experience grows as well!

Good work mate. People like you really add value to this platform. I Wish everyone thinks like you. I see a lot of vote-for-vote public instead of people who struggle to post good articles.

Thanks. I always try to post quality content and try to support the Steemit community any way I can. I'm still perfecting my writing style, but practice makes perfect!

Hey cloh76, I assume you have understood the rewards system of steemit well by now. Would love to get some questions answered on this post. An up-vote would be cherry on top. lol
https://steemit.com/steemit/@blog-beginner/understanding-steemit-rewards-and-payouts

I replied to your post

Voted for you as witness.

Thanks! Your vote means a lot! My Witness account is cloh76.witness not this one :D

Oh, then I voted for the wrong one. Let me correct my vote.

You got a 0.81% upvote from @upme requested by: @cloh76.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received gratitude of 1.36 % from @appreciator thanks to: @cloh76.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95