Understanding Steemit rewards and payouts specifically w.r.t. comments

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to Steemit and really fascinated about the platform. A decentralized social media platform is a superb idea. Other than the fact that I love the Steemit community for its quality content, I am also interested in the payouts/rewards. I have read many articles and even the FAQs section but still many things are unclear. I would appreciate comments/responses from the community.

Here is a list of questions I have.

  1. Does commenting also reduce your voting power ? I know up-voting the comments does.
  2. Do I get curation rewards for commenting even if my comment is not up-voted by anyone ?
  3. Is the comment reward shared with the author of the post ? If yes, does it follow the rule of 100% to the author untill 3 mins, and 100% to curator after 30 mins.
  4. If there are nested comments, how are the comment rewards distributed.
  5. Do I get curation rewards for liking a comment. What are the rules for it ?

Any additional information about curation based on comments is appreciated. I have read a lot about curation but thats all in terms of up-vote. I comment on lots of posts and need help in understanding every bit of it.

Thank You for reading the post. I hope answers to these questions will help many more new joiners of the community.

Sort:  

You earn the most $$$ when your posts and comments get upvoted. You earn very little on Curation. I only Resteem something after I have upVoted on it. The best Strategy is to post 5 Original Creative Content on your own blog every day and only upVote really good content 5 times a day ... You need to get your Steem Power up to $100 before you start to earn much. You can earn a lot by posting really good Original Comments on Whales posts. Don't waste your upVotes - It reduces your Voting Power. Only Upvote 5 times a day. Make sure your Voting Power does not drop below 80 % ... Only Vote 5-10 times a day. You can check your Voting Power here. https://steemd.com/@blog-beginner

@offgridlife to be honest i was confuse about it. and i was commenting until the low bandwidth appears to me thanks for a nice comment

True. Too much confusion. Not sure if commenting also gives us some rewards.

  1. Does commenting also reduce your voting power ? I know up-voting the comments does. - No, only upvoting.
  2. Do I get curation rewards for commenting even if my comment is not up-voted by anyone ? Yes, depending on a number of variables including your SP and vote weight, you get curation rewards on everything you vote on.
  3. Is the comment reward shared with the author of the post ? If yes, does it follow the rule of 100% to the author untill 3 mins, and 100% to curator after 30 mins. - no comment rewards are between you and the voters of your comment
  4. If there are nested comments, how are the comment rewards distributed. - Each is treated seperately. You only get rewards for your comments
  5. Do I get curation rewards for liking a comment. What are the rules for it ? For upvoting, similar to upvoting a post.

Some more clarification on #2. Rewards are paid even if no one up-vote my comment ?

you only get paid what is earned

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @blog-beginner to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Well the answers to those questions will certainly help me :)
If you find them share.

Sure I will. Resteem this post so that more people will notice this and someone may answer our questions.

Good luck on steemit ! it looks like your questions have been answered !👌👍✌💕

Hey @karenmckersie, I would love to hear out your response. Reading it from different people alsways adds up to your knowledge.
I need to understand if simple comments(without up-vote) also give you curation rewards ? I am engaged in many conversations but very less people actually do the honors to up-vote comments. They appreciate my suggestions or knowledge about the topic but care less to up-vote.

Its always better to upvote and comment ! i think you might earn a bit but its very little ! I never wondered about that much , its best to always leave a great Quality comment ( After actually reading the post through as 90% Of people on here read nothing !! lol! ) that hopefully people will upvote your comments ! You make more money sometimes on that then on posting !! this also may bring you good quality followers . Good Luck !👌💕✌👍

Sure. I hope I have many good followers. I will always focus on quality.

When just starting out on steemit its best to take the time and post one quality post a day , then spend the rest of your time replying to comments , curating and commenting on good posts , and just get to know how things work , and people to follow etc. then once you start gaining more followers and reputation goes up , you will begin to make more on your posts ! I usually only do one or two posts per day because im very busy usually with my contest entries and replying to comments and cureating like I said earlier . just keep your votes at no more then 10 per day ! So vote carefully as you dont have a slider yet to adjust your vote from 1% to 100% ! 👌✌👍

the questions that every steemians asked initially

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47