CES with Playitforward

in #tech7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1335.jpg

CES with Playitforward


What a weird experience it was arriving to CES and hearing cars screeching. They had a drifting car show outside of the convention center that really set an exciting tone upon arrival. And in we go!

Terry Brock


Today I met @terrybrock! He has so much knowledge of CES. I had the pleasure of chatting with him about Steem, AR, VR, and other things that we have in common. I accidentally left my wallet in my other bag, but I was able to get Terry back for the bottle in Steem dollars within a few seconds. Thanks, @terrybrock! Terry has a great insight on crypto currency, and CES was the perfect environment for us Steemians to meet up.

I have to say, this was a high point of my trip!

IMG_1369.jpg

Overview


Today I saw a lot of things involving mixed reality, augmented reality, virtual reality, artificial intelligence, 5G, robots, drones - even several high-fidelity audio and advanced sound systems.

IMG_1362.jpg

IMG_1401.jpg

Intel


Intel is pushing strongly for the future of 5G technology. There were multiple immersive installations involving AR, VR, AI, VI experiences, and a future of a connected world. 5G allows a variety of devices to interact with each other. For example, traffic lights can be in sync with a 5G network which can also connect to conventional and autonomous cars. I’ll probably have to return tomorrow to capture more of their “booth,” though it could almost be its own convention with all of the event line-ups and innovations. I expect many innovations from Intel on the horizon in terms of transportation and a connecting city. They blew pretty much everybody away this year, and their location is a must-see.

IMG_1429.jpg

DJI


DJI did some amazing things this year. Most notably the DJI OSMO Steadycam and DJI Spark drone. The Spark is so small that you can fit it in your pocket, but has most of the features of the DJI Mavic. The package even on the Mavic is so small, so this one is a marvel.

IMG_1364.jpg

LG LED OLED Experience


LG had an exhibit showing off their TV displays again. In 2017, the monitors were mounted above and beside attendees like the half-circle encasing that someone might experience in an aquarium tunnel. This was an amazing walking experience, taking us through different natural landscapes of the world with these monitors curved like vertical waves this time. Walking through these organic shapes paired with a technological aspect was unlike any experience I have ever had. The resolution was incredible even though it was spread throughout many ultra high resolution screens (so many that there must have been a dozen attendants supervising the participants). I think that it had the impact it did, because it plants you right in the middle of a natural environment through the power of their screens, and for a moment, you believe you are there!

Segway


Laundroid


One of my greatest dreams came true today, almost. There is an artificially intelligent laundry folding machine for in home use. They call it the Laundroid. It is the first laundry folding machine in the world. The presentation was about 17 minutes long and it was able to fold.... one shirt? The overall result was unimpressive, but the innovation and technology put into this looks like there’ll be abright future ahead for me. I believe this will also be a dream for many other guys in the world, since we struggle with that stuff.

IMG_1397.jpg

Hypervsn


This is a wildly popular booth. They are creating something that looks like a hologram, achieved by rapidly spinning LED lights. The result is astonishing and below I include still images so you can see the propellers moving as well.

IMG_1375.jpg

Yamaha


Yamaha has some crazy stuff this year. Their ReDefine Smart campaign hits the nail on the head. This year, Yamaha looks beyond what we think of as smart transportation. They have a robot on an autonomous robot. It’s cool, and kind of weird.

IMG_1342.jpg

ITRI


This year they have a scrabble playing robot that is able to detect players movement, create words, and say the words until the other player when is the next turn. I know for a fact that I can do so much more but in a demonstration he was beating everybody at Scrabble.

IMG_1350.jpg

This company is advancing artificial intelligence. Part of the exhibit is this computer generated music based on information that I input. I played a four bar melody on the keyboard, and it generated a composition immediately after.

And there's this...


Dinner in Vegas


Tonight I’m at the Bacchanal Buffet at Cesar’s Palace. This will be a treat and I’m so excited for tomorrow’s show.

I will be updating this post with photos, more information, and videos later! Stay tuned, Steemians!

Steemians, this was a wonderful day at CES! Please follow to see more posts to come!

follow_playitforward.gif

Sort:  

Thank you @playitforward for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 12.35% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post has received a 10.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @playitforward.

Great post ...
Nice

Your experience is great, I am proud to see your post that is so classy .. Sometimes I think want to like you but I can not make a post like you .. very genius in that case .. I am amazed at your intelligence.

You can make posts better than me! Just takes some time :D by the way today’s post is up! @steemcros

Yes Thanks for shearing @playitforward 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73