CENTURY OLD DOOR RESTORATION

This was my first ever restoration project and boy was I nervous to take on this job! This is a French door dating back to the Victorian era I think? My knowledge on style and era are very slim! Anyway the owner asked to have these doors restored and to repair the rotten bits along the bottom edge.
When the doors arrived they were in dire straights and very much pleading for loads of TLC.......the joins were all pulling apart and I think there was 100 years worth of paint on them as well!


The one door after I removed tons of old paint to reveal the extent of damage....not too bad

Antique French door 1.jpg


I had to remove the rotten bits using the table saw and then carefully glued and clamped the door to realign the open joints. Then using an off-cut from an old piece of oregan pine I biscuit joined it onto the bottom and applied the router to match the rest.

Antique french door 3.jpg


The result after repairs and new paint.

antique french door after 1A.jpg


antique french door after 1B.jpg



Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
  • open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
    In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

    All small letters and without the @ sign
    Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal
Thank you!


Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators

woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42