The General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue

in #teamnz6 years ago

The General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue

General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue near Plaza hotel.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F8 1/60 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This post I will share some shots of the General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue in Grand Army Plaza, it's such a grand and powerful statue, and is also known as the Sherman memorial or Sherman monument.

It is a Sculpture of William Tecumseh Sherman by Augustus Saint-Guadens that was cast in 1902, it is Gilded Bronze.
In case like me you're wondering who he was, I looked it up and he was an American Soldier, businessman, Educator and author, who was a general in the Union Army in the American Civil war.

General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue near Plaza hotel-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 32mm F8 1/80 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And another shot of it from a different angle

General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue near Plaza hotel-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



In this close in shot you can notice the spikes in various places atop the monument i guess they are to keep birds off it, and they must work it was pretty clean and shiny

General William Tecumseh Sherman Statue near Plaza hotel-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And a final shot which shows where this is located, thats the Plaza Hotel in the background


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.764684 lat -73.973136 long Plaza Hotel NYC d3scr

Sort:  

The first thing I thought of when I saw this picture was Sherman and Peabody.

The second thing I thought when I saw this picture was, "Where's the bird poop?" But you answered my question already, the spikes keep the birds off. We have a problem now with people randomly leaving cat food in our front steps. Now the pigeons are eating the cat food and they invited their friends so there is pigeon poop all over the sidewalk. It's so hot that it doesn't matter anymore.

I dont think I ever saw Sherman and Peabody LOL

Yeah I tend to think of Pigeons as the rats of the sky so its kind of annoying when someone feeds them

Plus one of them dropped a load on my back yesterday LOL

Owe, that is nasty.

Wow! The statue is awesome. Love the angel leading. Was the general killed in battle. somewhere I read if the horse’s foot was raised in a statue it meant the rider died in battle.

@redheadpei Thnaks and I am not sure to be honest I must look that up when I get some free time

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-general-william-tecumseh-sherman-statue


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Awesome! I feel like I don't have to go to New York with all your pictures! haha of course I still want to go some day for a visit.

I bet! :) Even if only to visit the B&H Photo store. lol

Ohh yeah for sure for sure, I will meet you there LOL

hahaha awesome! and we will both try and not to spend a bunch of money.

@mrchef111 Well I may Have to leave my credit cards at home that day to be safe LOL

lol that would be a good idea! lol

With age I have developed a little self control but not to much LOL

Nice captures! With the plaza in the background is a great view point. Steem on :)

@jcsteem Thanks for your visit and support

Thank you @tattoodjay for joining Photochain's photography contest. We appreciate your support and will reward you for each entry.

This contribution earned you 10 XP and 20 photons.
Don't forget to comment on other #photochaincommunity contributions to increase your XP multiplier and earn even more!

Daily statsOverall stats
Daily contributions: 2/∞Current level: 2
Daily XP: 20/∞Total XP: 180
Daily Photons: 40Total Photons: 260
Multiplier: 1XP required to level up: 230
Comments: 0/5Total contributions: 18

To receive the reward contact @runicar on Discord with your Ethereum wallet.
More info can be found at the contest announcement post.
Read more about Photochain on this post.
Visit photochain.io.
Try out the demo.

Yeah... An illustrious man

@imohsaviourwisdo I never knew about him till taking these shots and looking him up

Yeah... That's true... Never forget to look up during your walks...
😁😁

It's amazing they can keep it so shiny. He must have been pretty important, to warrant a statue...

Those pigeon spikes are used in Europe, too, and seem to work well. I did see a detached bird foot impaled on one, once.

@fotosdenada Yeah they do keep this one in good condition, those spikes clearly work well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68