My Favourite Disney Princess is Princess Ariel | Why?

in #teammalaysiababes6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the contest "Who is your favourite?" hosted by @angiechin28 with the theme "Favourite Disney Princess/Character", you can check out the details of the contest here.

Looking at the photo which is straight forward, my favourite is the mermaid princess - Princess Ariel.

SmartSelectImage_2018-03-30-16-39-59.png
Image Source from Pixabay


A little info about Princess Ariel

Ariel has a distinctive beautiful appearance, with her long, flowing, bright red hair, blue-greenish eyes, green mermaid tail and purple seashell bikini top. She is a fictional character in Disney movie and television series, and she is the seventh-born daughter of King Triton and Queen Athena of an underwater kingdom of Merfolk called Atlantica.

She is fourth in the Disney Princess lineup, the first nonhuman princess. She marries Prince Eric, a human, whom she rescued from a shipwreck, and together they have a daughter, Melody. She is the only princess to become a mother to her own child. Also, she successfully transformed into a human permanently by the help of his father's blessings.

Why is she my favourite?

Believe it or not, because of her, I knew about Disney. Before that, I did watch Snow White and Cinderella on TV but I thought of them as normal cartoon. One day, my father was thrilled to bring back the tape (back then DVD did not exist) of this new Disney cartoon called "The Little Mermaid" to make us happy. True enough, my sister and I were so happy we watched it 3 times in a row until late night. I liked the story so much and of course immediately I fell in love with Princess Ariel. Thereafter, I knew about Disney.

Here are a few reasons (based on how I felt when I first encountered her at 8 or 9 years old) why I love her.

1. She can sing so well.

I know most Disney Princesses sing. But she can sing in the water without choking - THAT - is remarkable. I love all the happy songs under the sea, and how she sings with her sea creatures band. Because I love singing, so I admire her vocal range that time and quietly wish I can sing like her.

2. She can swim so well.

I don't know how to swim. Therefore when I see how Princess Ariel glides here and there so freely under the water, I just like it. She makes me feel the freedom of swimming under the water.

3. She is curious and courageous.

Despite being warned by family about the danger of outside world, she still displays her curiosity to explore and be courageous to take chance. That is how she meets her future husband, Eric. Since young, I was called by people as timid girl. When I look at Princess Ariel, she gives me a sense of assurance that one day I can be as bold as her. I seriously did not want to be shy and timid girl forever.

4. She is willing to sacrifice for love.

Due to her love for Eric, she is willing to go the second mile to transform herself into human so that she can meet him. In order to do that, she "sells away" her beautiful voice to Ursula the ugly octopus witch. I am always touched by any movie that has this sort of sentiment - where someone sacrifice herself for love. Princess Ariel's one is beyond her comfort zone yet she did it. She has to learn how to walk, learn human mannerism, and risk herself witnessing the greatest fear - watching human eating her friends (sea creature). I hope one day I will also be able to go second mile for love.

5. She has hair that doesn't get entangled even in water!

I love straight soft colored hair. So when I first saw her, I fell in love with her hair. You know what, after I finished my school, before I started college, the first thing I do was to color my hair, dark red (if I would have color my hair as red as her, I would get a sounding from my mum, lol).

6. She is just so special (and romantic too!)

She is mermaid, you see, of course she is special. Half human, half fish - what a fantasy. Any young girl at the age of 8 and 9 will imagine all sorts of thing and to imagine myself transforming into a mermaid is not exceptional. Princess Ariel gives us a new way of playrole at home. My sister and I pretended we were mermaid by wrapping our legs with blankets. What a memorable childhood all thanks to Princess Ariel. And nope, we did not use seashell as our bikini. We wore normal tshirts. We could not afford to make our mother fainted.

7. She is caring

In the movie that I watched, she saved not only Eric, but some wriggly worms (I forgot what are they called) from the curse of the witch. Come to think about it, I have forgotten 30% of the movie due to aging. Hope I can watch it one more time so I can recall the scenes where Princess Ariel shows care and concern to her community.


That's about it for my explanation of my favourite Disney Princess for this contest. I wish myself luck 😉 and I also wish everyone else luck. Thank you @angiechin28 for this creative contest.

signature_2.gif
PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png


Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator


The STEEM Engine

SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

The untangleable hair! Haha I think all the girls want that.

Yes and don't need conditioner somemore. Thank you @kimzwarch ;)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@iamjadeline, I guess all girls want to be like mermaid who can swim so well in the water.

Haha yeah I guess so too. :)

You are elaborate and funny at the same time. The seashell bikini part. Haha...

Haha. Because we thought we should but no we could not haha. Thank you @redtomato and congratations once again for winning the tomato contest. You are also funny to display the egg on the sunny beach. haha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by iamjadeline from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42