What do I think of Steemit? Reflection Time~

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

benjamin-davies-265095-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Today as I was deciding on whether to post another Animation series post, a lovely Steemian by the name, @iamjadeline inspired me to do something else through her awesome post. And also at the same time, another Steemian who I was chatting with on discord tried to give me a few ideas on what I should post. Self-Reflection was one of them.

@iamjadeline posted about the Act of Kindness, which you should definitely read and how she tries to do an act of kindness everyday. The most important thing for me that she mentioned was to 'not expect anything in return' when you bless someone with kindness. Whether the person wishes to return the favor or not, that's a whole other story and we shouldn't sulk if nothing happens after that.

No one act of kindness is ever wasted. - @iamjadeline

Further into her post, she then stated several acts of kindness that she and her family have done throughout the years. From visiting orphanages, giving free tuition to children and to even feeding the needy. When they say that this kind of inspiration is contagious, I'm definitely feeling it now. Hence, this post. I wouldn't be talking so much on the acts of kindness but more to What I think of Steemit then and now.


maxim-smith-103637-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Maxim Smith on Unsplash

When I first got onto Steemit, it was definitely all about money cause lets be realistic for a second, when you heard that by posting, commenting and even curating can all earn you money, you'd probably wanted to know more. People who are searching for that additional income definitely would be interested to know more and Steemit definitely does give that edge over all social media.

For me, I got onto Steemit looking for money, as simple as that. Before Steemit, I had a business venture with a few other people and it didn't go so well. Though I've learned a lot of people skills through my business, I've also lost a lot of money. It was indeed a very expensive lesson for me and my partner. I was pretty upset that I failed that business because I had high hopes that I would make enough money to take care of my family. So, I came to find Steemit as just another source of income. If it works, GREAT. If it doesn't, I would probably quit and find something else to do.

I started grinding and finding my own niche on Steemit. I know that hardwork pays off especially on platform like these so I spent countless nights just trying to do what the guides tell me to do.

You must ENGAGE with other Steemians

Make sure you reply all your comments

Upvote good contents and leave a quality content

Yes, these are all the basics of Steemit but doing that daily seems pretty robotic. I also thought that joining the Steem Malaysia Facebook group was just another group page to dump your Steemit posts, but everything changed when I joined the #teammalaysia discord. I was pretty careful at first because everyone seemed 'Too good to be true'.After a month on Steemit, I found that the people I've met are some of the most amazing individuals here. And this definitely changed my perspective of Steemit.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-10 at 1.27.17 PM.jpeg

Photo courtesy of #teammalaysia

DQmSqtDNAUpkztHt3XRe3YNKiWCnHFBYTRvbCqMdPjaHoMm.jpg

Photo courtesy of #teammalaysia

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-15 at 8.04.58 PM.jpeg

Photo courtesy of #teammalaysia

U5dtk7SgtDCdQBkQNaVddAhZ5VKzvXX_1680x8400.jpg

Photo courtesy of #teammalaysia

Yes I came for the money, but what I've found later are beautiful friendships formed among one another, and this is priceless. I've also learned a few things along the way and I think I've shared with some of the fellow Steemians when they asked me how do I know everyone so well? How do I build these relationships with strangers? Honestly, I do not know any 'perfect' formula to this but what I would always tell them is to BE SINCERE & GENUINE.

Always BE Sincere & Genuine

People are NOT dumb and they can smell if you're insincere or have certain motive behind whatever it is you're doing. Though I am not a perfect being, but I try my best also. So if you're approaching someone just because you want his/her network or if he/she has a high upvote, you're doing it all wrong. How long can a shallow relationship built on benefits last? If you're looking for something longer, let's say.... a lifetime. Why don't you approach the person just because you want to know him/her. That way, you don't have to hide or lie and you can be yourself.

Another important thing I learned is that you should always Be Yourself and Always Improving. You will still get no where if you're lazy and wait for people to fall on your lap and maybe drop you some whaleshare tokens, you always have to put your best foot forward first.Ohhhhh you have no idea how introverted I am, I am indeed a very introverted guy when it comes to talking to people especially strangers. I don't think anyone has seen this side of me yet except my close friends who is also a Steemian. That's because I always do make an effort to mingle. Yes It is definitely hard for me, but I want to improve myself.


These are some of the things I've learned on Steemit. What I think of Steemit? Well, money has become secondary for me, and building friendships have become my main focus now. The good thing about Steemit is that you can enjoy what you're doing and still get incentives(money). The best thing there is!

Thank you to all the amazing Steemians I've met here, some of you were there for me when I was down, some of you just made my day by saying hi. Some spent time to join me in my meetups when you could be somewhere else doing something more important. I just want to say Thank you for being my friend.


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on my artworks, photography & animations.

I'm also open for

Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Sketches_Footer.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.



Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

I wanted to say hi and thank you to you.
You were actually the very first few that I encountered in Steemit that makes me feel not like a stranger when I first joined.
After I joined both the discords, I can see why. You always made the effort to engage with all the members, make them feel like home. So, thank you again Zord!

Oh wow.... I never actually thought anyone would remember me saying hi to them. It definitely encouraged me A LOT to hear that I've made you feel welcome on Steemit. Thank you for that!~ Good to have you on #steemitbloggers! :)

I guess it's true what they said about making the first impressions. You did it with your kindness.
Glad to be on board of the #steemitbloggers!

Speaking of that you actually asked me to join few months ago, just wasn't that sociable at the time, drag until now. I'm really glad I finally joined. :D

Thank you :)

Oh isit? I forgotten the part where I asked you to join a few months ago. Haha gold fish brain here. It's okay, everyone has got their own pace & timeline. :)

Yeah, this post really brings back lot of memories!

Inspiring enough to read your post in this lazy rainy Saturday afternoon! You so outgoing and responsive to other people on discord, can't imagine that you are an introverted guy. True enough that i also came here for the money, cant deny it. Im still in the midst of trying to engage with others haha

Hehe, hey! Thanks for dropping by! You know, we all have our own pace on Steemit. No pressure, take your time and most importantly enjoy the journey. Would love to meet you someday too.

@zord189, I must agree monetary is still very tempting in Steemit, except it is more fun and supportive to walk together the journey. It is truly inspirational when you see other success and would learn how to be there, and the community especially #teammalaysia never failed in sharing. Also we get the right friendship to stay motivated with each other.

That's true, agree with what you say. No doubt money is important but the community is what makes you stay. Hope to meet you soon cause haven't met you! You are always welcome for any #teammalaysia meetups and events. :)

Sure @zord189. If the timing is right, would love to meet @teammalaysia Steemians too. It is always priority to kids and families as a parent.

That's true, busy busy. :D

Be sincere and genuine. Yes. Because it is hard to maintain lies after lies after lies. Just be ourselves. Much easier to maintain. So happy to have met you and many others in Team Malaysia!
MomentCam_20180325140006.gif

That is so true! And I'm so glad that I've met you and your lovely family. We're in this together.

Same here, came here for money to support Jansen, but ended up I am loving the people here. Like you said, at first I thought "Hmm, so good one everyone. Too good to be true." But eventually realise "they all are so true and so good!"

Thank you for the shoutout. I also was being reminded by your act of kindness. The following week, I drove all the way to PPUM to visit one of my friends whom son also has lungs problem one. I hope i can do it regularly in the near future.

Indeed they are many sincere and genuine friendship here that will blossom.

Kindness is contagious ey?

That's true! Thank you for being REAL on Steemit. Sharing what's close to you. Can't wait to have that BKT

Definitely is contagious ;)

Yes see u soon during BKT.

You are one of the kindest souls I have known on Steemit, of course together with your other two musketeers, @zord189, @aaronleang and @joannewong :)

Haha and YOUR WORDS are TOO KIND. You are amazing too!

Okay I make your day now..saying Hi!

Hahaha hi :D

Ah, definitely same page. In for the money and then see other scenery after dipping into it. Now, there is more fun than just earning the bucks like building community(but of course, need the bucks to roll more support and can give more):P

That's true, money is still important no matter what people say. You still need money to do daily stuff.


Source

I do agree with the shark.

I hope you'll meet you love via Steemit platform... it will then be worth more than any money you make off the platform.

Then I'll owe it all to Steemit. Probably be the first Steem funded date? :D

I really love the idea of spending and buying with steem.. but I am doing everything to increase my SP so I refuse to spend any of my Steem... unless 0.000001 Steem can buy me a burger or a flight ticket to London... hahahah

Haha, actually it's not just you, most people think it's a great idea but when the option is available to them, they wanna hodl. :D

Congratulations @zord189! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98