Reading INSTRUCTIONS and why some of us suck at it.

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

I was at the gym these few days and it dawn upon me that many people do not read instructions before using the equipment there resulting in injuries or broken equipment. I realised that people do not read instructions because of a few reasons.

  1. Pride. They don’t want to look uncool.
    “It’s working right? Why should I bother reading instructions? I have been doing this since you could walk! I have no time to read instructions. I need to optimise my time here at the gym.”

  2. Know it all. They think that they know everything because they made one thing work.
    “I mean how hard can it be? Just adjust the weights and push or pull. Only newbies read instructions”

  3. Experts. They actually know what they are doing.
    This group of people been to this gym many times and had personal training in which they have learned how to use the equipment safely. They are in a league of their own.

I turn up at a new gym recently. I have been to many gyms in my lifetime because I get in either for free or minimal cost. Since I was on a 7 day trial at this particular gym, I made sure I make use of every appropriate piece of equipment possible every single day. On the day I turn up to start my 7 day, they gym staff asked if I needed a tour. I told her I would go explore instead. So I did.

IMG_20180328_163138.jpg

I realised their gym was extremely equipped with hardcore stuff. I end up spending a minute or so reading instructions of each equipment prior to making it work the way it supposed to and maximising my workout.
There was this one machine I couldn’t figure out exactly how it worked and skimmed through the instructions twice. I mean it’s a pull up assist machine. Like I’ve seen how it worked. I got on and realised I never seen how people got off. Ended up getting a big bruise on my arm hitting the sides of the handle. I ignore the developing bruise which is getting purple by the minute and decided to not speed read but read carefully what it said. Well, the last bit actually tells me how to get down. I was determined and tried again. This time round, no accidents.

IMG_20180328_163119.jpg

Instructions are there to help up get through situations and life. As trivial as instructions on a gym equipment is to help us prevent untoward accidents or injuries. Also if you please, it does help you to look cool and not like an ass, noob or uncool while using the equipment.

I realised that after years of using gym equipment, I still tend to read instructions when I use them. Just as a reminder not to skip any step. Some instructions also come with highlighted target areas of the body or muscles you are supposed to use. So if you don’t feel like that part of your muscles are being targeted, you are probably doing it wrong. There is so much weight in those picture instructions. Take it all in. Enhance your experience at the gym. If the instructions don’t make sense, do ask the staff or ‘experts’ to help you make sense of it. You will be surprise how people will not judge you and support you through your journey working out to be healthy.

IMG_20180328_163219.jpg

Workout, eat healthy, sleep well and live a balance lifestyle. Till the next post!

Vetz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61179.86
ETH 2631.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46