1 stone, 2 birds | In Penang for cn-malaysia & a short break

in #teammalaysia6 years ago


20.3.18 : Unlike some moms, I don't like school holidays much. Because it makes my daily schedule goes haywire. It's a good thing this school holiday is only a week. And it came just in time because seriously, me and my kids happen to need a break from our routine.

March is a low month for me. I have a long list of things that happened unexpectedly which are unpleasant. So a short 2 days 1 night away from it all is a welcome respite. Thanks to @davidke20 who was scheduled to give a Steemit introduction talk for #cn-malaysia, we get to have a change of environment.


@annabellenoelle is happy

The kids of course enjoyed themselves very much. We stayed at the same hotel when we came to Penang 8 months ago. I wrote about the trip a month after I joined Steemit in Weekend to Penang Part 2.

The event place where the talk was held is nicely done. That's MSogo in Prangin Mall. And OMG, Prangin Mall has changed quite a bit. In fact, every time I go to Penang there's always something new or something old made new.

The talk started and ended on time but by the time it ended, me and the kids were dead tired. @annabellenoelle joined in to listen to the talk and I saw that she enjoyed the talk by her dad very much. She had 4 plates of spicy fried rice in the span of 2 hours and kept saying the rice was very spicy but very delicious. She just shoved a spoonful in her mouth when I took the picture featured at the top of this post. @andrewnoel enjoyed the nuggets and completely happy running about the huge space in MSogo. But he soon got bored and sat down to watch youtube. At least the kids were happily settled. Me? I was nursing my sore throat and ate buns the whole time.

Despite being dead tired, we went for supper at Duck Kway Chap on Kimberly Road. Because it's Lent, there wasn't much of a choice except to have Penang prawn mee minus the pork. Ya, it was no fun. And it was too spicy for my throat. I did not have a good sleep that night. Another item added to my long list of March unpleasantness.


Thank goodness for beauty face feature in my Samsung A500


Since I'm a banana I obviously did not sit in for the talk. Plus, the room was packed. @aaronleang made a rough count about 10 minutes into the talk and there were more or less 54 attendees. After the talk I was thinking #cn-malaysia will sure grow in numbers. And later on, there may more talks and maybe a bootcamp to help this sub-community grow not just in quantity but also in quality, and to be sustainable. The effort it takes to help grow this sub-community within the bigger #TeamMalaysia community is not small. Highly commendable of @davidke20, @bitrocker2020, @aaronleang, @vamos-amigo and the others whom I don't know their Steemit handles yet to name them here for putting up a great event.

Finally, Steemit should think about having a Chinese to English translator built in for bananas like me. So at least I know what I am upvoting when and if I do upvote a Chinese post. My husband's posts included.

Have a look at @bitrocker2020's video Growing TeamMalaysia | Back in Penang for cn-malaysia.

Check out the pictures by @vamos-amigo's Steemit Sharing Session (Chinese Version) Penang

Read about their first trip to Penang in Growing TeamMalaysia | Penang is awesome by @bitrocker2020

Also, here's @aaronleang's post about the previous talk Penang Chinese version 100degree Steem talk on 20/3/2018

signature.gif


"upvote, resteem & follow"
Together, we Steem on.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@francesaw/apa-khabar-steemit-community
I'm a member of Steem Malaysia - TeamMalaysia on the Steem Blockchain
FB Page : https://web.facebook.com/groups/Steem.Malaysia/


Team Malaysia




Sort:  

good story, upvoted

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 16:09:23
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 164.90/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Lols! You are a banana too? I feel you woman...I feel you....that's why I send my girl to Chinese school, so she can read, listen, write and speak on my behalf! Lols!

Ya. I have my husband for that when we travel to China.

Woww, looks grand!!! Must be a good talk over there!!

The place is yuge. Got 2 floors. Not sure if the talk was good coz I didn't understand hahaha but I heard laughter and lots of questions asked, so must be good lah

Yuge? Is good!! I saw those photos, the audience enjoying it and laughed.

Hope your throat is better now.

Hey @redtomato thanks for asking. My throat is recovering well. Still w a bit of phlegm stuck. Taking all sorts of natural cures, propolis, tumeric blend, honey lemon, salt water, water and sleep.

Congratulations @francesaw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54