Chef Life Magazine Issue #60: Lasagna Burger?

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

For my 60th Issue of this blog I'll be posting up my 'Lasagna Burger' which I'm planning on introducing at the coming #teammalaysia Steemians meetup on 12 October which is next Friday. It's basically Lasagna in a burger so the more interesting part is what's in between those two classic burger buns.

74cjkux78c.jpg

(hot and piping from the oven)

The Lasagna

m8de8j2jiw.jpg

(managed to make 12 generous portions)

Overall it tastes great but there is still some work to be done to perfect it. I felt it could be cheesier so I'll be tweeking the cheese ratio the next round. I always want to get as close to perfection as possible yet at the same thing always needing to manage a workable cost and being mindful of the end consumers budget.

I made the pasta sheets by hand from scratch. I'll be making it a little thicker as this one was a little overcooked and didn't have the texture I was looking for. So I'll me rolling the sheets thinner the next time so that when it cooks and the cheese sauce on top browns and the pasta sheets will be just right as well.

9u22ensw5w.jpg

(dough resting before rolling out into sheets)

y8wdgwakhv.jpg

(bolognese bubbling away)

The bolognese is made from minced chicken instead of beef but I can assure you that this is one flavorful sauce that'll be the body of the lasagna/burger. Another reason for it being chicken instead of beef is because the general public in Malaysia can eat chicken and not so with beef.

Finish product will be done by this week in preparation for next week and I'll be uploading the final burger picture as well.

I did make a short video for my #dtubedaily vlogs. You can check out the uploaded video on DTube here: https://steemit.com/food/@danielwong/awd8va4t


#teammalaysia gathering

It's been awhile since I last met everyone so I'm looking forward to meeting them and hanging out and of course serving them good food as always. If you're around next Friday (12 Oct), we'll be hanging out and having dinner and coffee at Taman Melawati Khatulistiwah Cafe.

More info on the event will be coming up in the next few days.

-wq4w8wknqm.png

Sort:  

Lasagna? Burger? Two words I had never thought I'd hear in the same recipe. I just had to look what you were.. eh.. cooking :)
It still boggles my mind.. now that I've read the article and saw the pictures I am getting kind of hungry but I still wonder if the combination will be a success. I'm not sure pasta+bread are a combination that works?

secondly, I wonder if you'll have to be really careful eating these. Lasagna is usually blistering hot, and if you take a bite from your lasagna burger I imagine you don't want the hot tomato sauce and all that dripping down your chin causing burns!

I managed to taste it yesterday with the burger buns and it was brilliant. It just needs a little more texture so I'm thinking of adding something that'll give it a crunch.

Thanks so much for that thoughts about it being too hot to eat. I guess that'll be something to consider as well.

Here's the pic of the final thing.....

43090964_1942494086051131_190189866355523584_n.jpg

Raw Daikon radish strips for the crunch. Sliced way thin. This is my input :) I hope you will have this at your Friday event. I am looking forward to it.

I was so hungry before looking at this post. I need to learn how to cook!

Haha... I'll post up recipes every now and then but mostly food without the recipes..

Hi @danielwong!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.574 which ranks you at #5691 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 340 places in the last three days (old rank 6031).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 407 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by danielwong from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65