Four Best Things That Happened to Me In 2017

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

combined.jpg

Some of my art I shared on Steemit in the past few months.

2017 is coming to an end and I have been avoiding deep personal reflections because this year brings so much pain to me. I rarely talk about my family to protect their privacy and most of my posts talk about my art and now and then, especially lately, I have been complaining a lot about how miserable I have been healthwise.

So enough about the negative things, shall we? Let's focus on the positive things that happened to me this year. I am not going to share everything because who loves long post? I don't 😂.

board-1754932_1920.jpg

Source: pixabay.com

1) Changing my eating habit

I am not in pain or anything as long as I stick to a proper diet. In fact, I am so grateful for this changes in my eating habit. The thing about me that most people don't know is that I am not a picky eater as long as the food is not spicy. I spent 5 years of my teenagehood in a boarding school where we were fed a steady diet of tasteless food. My parents weren't rich and they gave me MYR50 (approximately US$12.31) every month as pocket money. No kidding. That barely enough to cover my basic needs let alone splurging on luxuries like fancy food. So I had to eat whatever they served at the school. And from then on I cultivated the habit of not being picky about my food. While it could be a good thing but it did have its own downside. See, because I am not selective about food, I tended to just eat anything edible - healthy or unhealthy. And it became worse when I have children because I would eat my kids' leftovers (sayang buang woii!) and piled on kilos.

It wasn't wise and ill-discipline but 2018 will be different. Since falling sick I have lost some weight and I am very pleased with it. All because I made a concerted effort (for real this time) to eat healthily because who's going to take care of my kids if I am sick? People might help to shoulder your burden for a while but seriously, for how long?

fruit-2367029_1920.jpg

Source: pixabay.com

2) Exhuming my dad's, uncle's and aunt's remains

Sounds gruesome and weird but yes, we exhumed my dad/uncle/aunt's remains in June 2017. Why? To make way for the upgraded trunk road that is known as Pan Borneo Highway. They were buried in a private land belonged to my relatives but they had to sell the land to make way for the highway. I chose to think of this as a positive thing because prior to exhuming the bodies my mum was having a very stressful time (a couple of years) dealing with the required procedures. She is finally at peace knowing that my dad is finally resting in a new place which is closer to our village (yes, I am a kampung folk).

3) Moving to KL for better opportunities

I have shared about this in my previous posts and I am not going to elaborate it further here. But it feels good to be back in KL after a couple of years in Kuching. Sarawak will always be home but I have a family to raise and in order to provide better for my kids, KL has to be our home for now.

18740425_10155251268139070_4930593814899809360_n.jpg

15697447_10154760983979070_941847212721872958_n.jpg

4) Being on Steemit

This got to be the best part-time job ever. I wished I signed up earlier when @kaylinart started to rave about it on Facebook sometime in 2016 but I was skeptical. But of course all is not lost, late is better than never and I am still one of the 'early adopters'. I hope 2018 is going to be a better year for me in Steemit and Steem will increase exponentially in value. Crossing my fingers on that one but I am positive.

positive-725842_1920.jpg

Source: pixabay.com


Thank you for visiting!

My previous posts:


Coloring For Daniel - Giving A Helping Hand To A Stranger

My Entry For InspirationChallenge ~ Blood Red

My Coloring In Stuff And Whining A Bit About Life

I Spent My Christmas Day At The Hospital


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship




APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created by @zord189

Sort:  

So interesting to learn about your year. You shared some personal stuff and I am honoured to read it. Happy 2018, my friend!

Happy new year to you too dear @deemarshall :)

Thank you for sharing @coloriniship... I am sure 2018 will be even better for you. BTW, like all your art work, really beautiful :)

All in God's hands. Thank you and happy new year to you @petaloudaart :)

Happy 2018 and looking forward to meeting you soon!

Ya...happy new year to you too @elizacheng . You will attend January 13 meet up, right? I will see you there :)

Yes. I will be there on the 13.

All the best in 2018 :)

Thank you @nazreen . Happy new year and all the best to you too :)

May the year 2018 bring you more blessings!

Thank you @francesaw . Happy new year to you and your family :)

may 2018 brings wonderful joy to your family..cheers

I just saw you comment @rambai . Thank you!

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! Too late to vote((

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40