3 things I have realized after 26 weeks of 2018 - A midyear Soliloquy special

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

26%2F52 rresolution.png


Soliloquy (an act of speaking one's thoughts aloud when by oneself or regardless of any hearers) is a weekly blog as the thoughts and takeaway or highlights of the week of my life throughout the year 2018. I aim to look back at these entries in the future as a reference of how I might change in the way I think, write, express and especially grow. This is a self-development blog, with no aim to cater to any audience other than being an open journal.

So this week has been interesting...

While nothing of much happens to me socially or physically. I did came to a few realizations that I honestly think I should put into action. I really hope that like with so many other epiphanies I've reached in the past few years, these ones stays. It's not gonna be easy though. I'm not exactly known for the type that sticks to something.

1. I need a personal Wordpress site.

shaped-blog.png

Not my blog | Image source

It's a no-brainer, I want to pursue my venture as a writer and bring it as far as I can. While I believe that now is the the best time to be a content producer, I don't need to justify what i think. Thought Leaders like Gary Vaynerchuk and Neil Patel are all saying the same thing. There is next to no barrier of entry into the content creation industry nowadays with so many platforms available, the best one of course being the Steem blockchain in my opinion.

But all means naught unless I have a "real" digital corner to claim as my own in the internet. Steemit inspired me to embark on a journey to write. I intend to take it a step further. And now it's all the more easier with @steempress-io, I don't need to crosspost my stuff as @steempress-io does it for me. And who knows, I may one day write so good that my work got featured not only by @steempress-io but all over the internet.

2. I need to implement the $1.80 Strategy

Well the original strategy is meant for those in Instagram. But of course I'm sure can be adapted to the activities on the Steem Blockchain, I realised that my comment count doesn't justify the follower count I have. Take a look at many of the most successful Steemians and you'll see that their comment game is the strongest even compared to other authors in the internet. I mean, just look at @gringalicious for example, today her post comment counts stands at OVER 33,000 over the past 2 years.. Thats average of 45 comments, a day, consistently, over 2 years!! How about @papa-pepper? 40,000+ comments over 2 years, thats over 52 average comments a day. These aren't spams too and are highly engaging comments designed to solicit conversation.. "real" comments you can say..

And people ask "how can I be successful on steemit?"

Me on the other hand.... sigh.. I do realize that i haven't been outputing enough comments and engagements as i like. It's a volume game afterall. Content creation on the web is all about volume and quality. And I hope that by implementing this strategy i can be a study case as to whether this works.. if.... i can maintain it.

3. I need to change my work environment

teamgantt_work.png

You see, I would dream about working in a place like this, in my dream | Image Source

My "work" consist of opening my laptop in my room, sit in front of hours on end, and eat and sleep whenever i want. That has been the case since i quit my last job as a full time drone pilot back in mid January. I guess the first month was okay. Morale is up, excitement is palpable, work ethic is acceptable... then come April and I was reduced to lazy unmotivated NEET with no solid schedule and clear direction. I guess not coming out of the house on weeks on end in a small town with nothing going on does that to a person.

Will power only goes far. Alot of a person's productivity comes down to being in a mindset that makes working easy, and that has to do with the environment one is in. Both immediate and general. My room is a mess. That's already a blow to my mindset. To be honest i have been dreaming about downsizing my possession for years, It's a personal story of which i believe I am not ready to share as of now. But one thing is certain. I need an abrupt change. hopefully a geographic one.

The thing about working without an office is that eventually i'd cheap out on going out to cafes, plus being in a small town, there aren't many cafes with Wifi, if the wifi even is stable...

change.

Conclusion

I guess just these 3 things will be enough to keep me planning and busy for quite some time. All 3 of them would be huge undertakings too.. Perhaps if i make it and succeed in just these small 3 things I can share my stories in the future. Progress, after all, is progress, no matter how small.


The year 2018 is 12/52 is done, it is now 50.00% gone.
██████████████████████████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒


image.png


Sign Up to Earn.com to make money reading Emails!

Buy and Sell Ethereum to your local fiat


Kristian Kho [Ian] is a 24 year old freelancer with a passion for steem and a deep desire to be a better person in every aspect. I aim to express any and all my thoughts on things that I find interesting as well as using this platform as a self-development log.

I am a part of #Teammalaysia, a decentralized community initiative that aims to empower local creatives and content creators specifically in Malaysia to create content through the Steem Blockchain.

If you want to stalk me, check out my other social media accounts too!

Sort:  

I need all these also lol. I've done something about #3 recently and really improved everything overall. Kinda reminds me of the advise "don't be depressed" instead of doing something about it, what's funny is that I made 90% improvement to my current setup by letting the sunlight in (since it used to be a soundproof music room)

The sunlight thing is real. I used to like everything dark and it really messes up my mental health. Although i don't go out much and get directly under the sun, I can say that avoiding too much artificial light and having the window sills opened in the dayreally helped..

I guess my issues has more to deal with being in a room with 1001 useless stuff sprawled over any horizontal surface and just feeling so frustrated at it as it slowly eats away at my concentration.

  1. SteemPress need a lot of tuning. It's not a bad idea using it since they give bigger rewards. 😆
  2. It take times to build such strategy. Always find alternative source of income. SteemPress give you that rewards you need. Seem like I promoting it but it's true.
  3. Coworking space definitely the best place to work and build network. Try to find it at your area.

Don't just plan. Just do it.

@legendchew

  1. I'm so excited how Steempress can eventually evolve, imagine if they soon start making it compatible with other platform (but even Wordpress itself is more than big enough market). Also it gives a reason for the wider audience to use the Steem blockchain, which was the original goal of Steempress!!
  2. Im so looking forward to that! and yea scary as it sounds this venture takes time. We need to "go on the coma and lock ourselves away for 2-5 years before making it if we can make it." Im confident though. There's so much opportunity in this day and age.. also worst case scenario can just go work starbucks and hustle in the night lor. hahahahaha
  3. Im considering that.. hopefully I can make it possible to not lose money renting the space.

Lets do it!!!!🙏🙏

Congratulations @awesomianist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@awesomianist
does not the strategy of Instagram is too good? :)

@sajjadkabir1 Im sorry, I dont understand your question..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76