The FEAR is REAL: Changing Steemit Password & Powering Up.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Z6.jpg
Source

I am not sure if any of you can relate to my fear.

Frankly, I worry if I will ever lose my Steemit account because the password is one freaking long one to remember and it is not set by me, but rather generated by Steemit.

Don’t ask me what’s my old password either, because I couldn’t remember where I put the small note of the copied password (yeah, I am forgetful these days!).

And the worst thing is, my laptop saved my password. These days I just go to my Steemit link and got in automatically without typing in the password.

Today I had the worst scare of my life. My laptop almost died on me. If it dies on me, this will be the third time I have to wheel it to ICU (ACER support centre).

Z3.jpg
Source

So I have to think of a way to save all my documents. Including my Steemit’s password.

Today I felt the itch to change it but I have no idea HOW or rather which way to do it safer.

I keep having that Steemit's Very Important message echoing in my head, PASSWORDS CANNOT BE RECOVERED. PASSWORDS CANNOT BE RECOVERED. PASSWORDS CANNOT BE RECOVERED.

Has anyone changed password successfully before? Even if you can’t remember your old password?

Z7.png
Source

Next is about Powering Up. I was worried if I missed a step in powering up, I would lose everything I worked for. So today, I found that courage to do something about it.

At the Whatsapp group that we have created for #TeamMalaysia Ladies, we don’t just upvote each other but also learn tips and get encouragement!

I am glad to have learn lots from @francesaw and @elizacheng. With @francesaw advise and her clear to follow guide HERE, I managed to experiment powering up the Steem Power with so much ease. By doing this, I can help others to earn to and at the same time increase my influence. Swwweeeeet!

I am still far from my target of at least 500SP but slowly I will get there.

I am loving this platform every day. Thank you @maverickfoo for posting about it few months back and I chanced upon it from his page then I self-invite to the gathering, lols! And not forgetting to @bitrocker2020 for his valuable guide in the early days.

P3.gif

angiechin28

Something About Angiechin28

Angie Chin is an Alpha Mom with a mission and founder of WonderWomen.Asia (coming soon), the first online portal in Malaysia that connects Women to affordable online learning, community activities, shareable contents, events, jobs and go-to market opportunities. At home, she’s a mommy to a 10 year old daughter, 6 furbabies + a grown babe. She loves travelling, cooking, exploring new food, reading and watching re-runs on Youtube.

Regularly posting up her ramblings and sharing contents (current favorities is Facebook & Instagram), she fell head over heels with Steemit after realising it’s the only platform that allows ANYONE to earn cryptocurrency by creating and posting up contents, even by liking, voting or commenting other people’s contents!

whatever you do on the platform, you will earn. Isn’t that awesome?

To start earning, sign up for Steemit already! Post up your original contents and you can almost start seeing the ka-ching in your account before you know it. Best of all, it is FREE (Love the word FREE).

Life tagline (for now): Never be afraid to try anything once!

Drop her a note at [email protected]

Sort:  

Interesting ...I have that fear too ! Btw, I like your description of yourself...I believe in empowering women too, and we should encourage each other. Good for you !

Thank you @iceskatermom! Yes lets do that shall we? :-)

I highly recommend you learn to use Keepass to store all your passwords/keys. It is free, open sourced and not very hard to use. You just need to remember one password. https://keepass.info/ I have been using it for years and it is very very helpful. You just need to keep the KBX file anywhwhere you feel safe (google drive, dropbox etc). Even if someone has access to your KBX file, they won't be able to access it without your "master" password. I would recommend using 4-5 random words put together as your master password eg. "horsechaircountrysallymama"..much harder to guessed/attacked. Hope this helps :) Need any help with it, just ask ya. Best of luck!

Thank you so much @killuminatic for the tips!!

Most welcomed!

@angiechin28 nicely written. Thanks for the mention 😊

Thanks @francesaw for the clear guide!

Hi @angiechin28, When I started my account I had a similar concern, but then I stumbled across a few great videos from @jerrybanfield. Check this one out - the video or text explains how to open a LastPass account and use your private keys to fully secure your account.
https://steemit.com/basictraining/@jerrybanfield/introducing-28-days-of-steem-basic-training-what-next-after-account-approval-1

Of course then all you have to is not lose your LastPass password. Once you have all the keys setup in there and you go to a steemit related site all you have to do is type your username, then right click in the password box and pick autofill. I have found it to be a great instructional video which has made everything very easy, and fully secured my account.

Thanks for the tips @randomwanderings! Will check it out!

Follow4follow

just because ... always happy to help my teammates ;)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

I stored my password in an excel sheet, saved on a usb key sleeping in my safe

For the Password retrieval, I have found mine already! Read this posting on how I managed to find it! Perhaps it can help you too > https://steemit.com/teammalaysia/@angiechin28/how-i-finally-found-my-steemit-password

This post has been resteemed as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. If you need a hand with anything then you can find us at #newbieresteemday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54