Satsuki Azalea Backbud followup

in #teambonsai6 years ago (edited)

So last month I posted a followup to my Satsuki Bonsai initial pruning that showed the back budding that was starting only a week after the initial pruning. You can see it has filled in a lot in only a few weeks.
IMG_1401.JPG

Above: now
Below: 1 week after pruning

bACKbUD-3.jpg]

The buds that where just forming:
bACKbUD-4.jpg

have fully leafed out and are doing well:
IMG_1403.JPG

new buds circled in red

Now the question... Should i trim back some of the older, unwanted growth to stimulate more growth in the new branches, or leave it be for a while longer? There are many lower branches where the long straight growth needs to be brought back closer to the trunk, to add movement if nothing else. Here is an example where the branch is really long and straight before it branches again into two (also long and straight) branches:
IMG_1405.JPG

potential cut marked in red, proposed new branches in blue

and another:
IMG_1406.JPG

potential cut marked in red, proposed new branches in blue

This little tree has come a long way from how it arrived home just a month ago:
1gunrei.jpg

I have a very limited number of Bonsai trees right now, so I'm a bit afraid I might be being too eager to trim this one again... What do other bonsai enthusiast think (especially anyone with Azalea experience)? comment below and let me know!

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Go with your instinct. You said you think you already trimmed enough for the year, and I agree. I was shocked at the last photo, that this was the same tree. I would not have believed it until you told me.

What do you guys think?
@romanolsamuels
@daniellozada

The base has a really good thickness to build a shape from. It already looks like an ancient tree, just looking at this part.

The branches do not have any taper yet. I can clearly see where the wood changes from the last season's growth, to the season before, and then there is no more size change in the branches, so it gets boring, to me.

I would keep the thickest branches very long, so they can continue to grow thicker, because you want them to match the proportion of the trunk. Take off the thin long branches extending from the center, and the upper sidewinders criss-crossing multiple branches, and promote the buds to become the new secondary branches to fill the perimeter spaces.

Is the top photo showing the preferred front view? I like this view better, as the reverse view makes it hard to determine which branch is the dominant leader. My preference is to see the branches growing from a dominant branch/trunk in the middle, rather than an outer branch that seems to be competing with it. Alternatively, if you really exaggerate it (and favor thickening the side branch as the new leader), the oddity of the new balance can become its most desirable aspect that gives the tree value and unique character.

Adding movement to Azalea is very challenging for me. The wood is so brittle, and new growth only happens once a year after it blooms. I think choosing wisely where to cut to promote new buds into fun angles will be the best way to change the style of the tree shape.

Thanks for sharing @mattlovell. I forgot what your tree looked like, so I was glad to find this post. My Azalea is barely starting to push out new leaves. It doesn't have nearly as much explosive growth as yours. All that root space is allowing it to grow vigorously to fill in a third of the parts you removed. You might be able to get away with pruning a third more for this year, with new buds continuing to fill in at the correct time this season.

Thanks for the input. y es, i am liking the top photo for the front ( I made the first image clickable for full size so you can see the branches better). My thoughts are to make the 'large' trunk in the center the main trunk with the canopy centered over it (or maybe slightly to the left), with one of the low branches on the left extending out keeping the flow of the tree basically to the left... basically a windswept style. something like this (but to the left):
style.jpg

I agree, the existing branches have no taper, and basically no movement. I am completely unskilled at wiring, and I'm not about to 'learn' on this tree. so, for now it will have to be done with the 'prune and grow' technique. It will be slow going as you mentioned. That's why I'm wondering if I can encourage the new branches by cutting back some of the original long straight branches.

My other issues you also metioned: "all that root space". The tree is still in its nursery container with its nursery soil. I did not get a chance to replant or root prune it before the weather turned hot. its now averaging 95f here with 115f days (thankfully those are not too common). So, the tree is already root heavy. I don't want root dieback/rot.

My gut is telling me to leave it and let the tree recover from its initial pruning. Then repot/root prune next year and trim back the old growth to balance above and below...

Yes, do the root work when trees are normally planted in your area. Autumn or early Spring. Let it adjust a few years in a training pot with good bonsai soil to encourage smaller root divisions. Sounds like you know what you are doing with that part.

@mattlovell This is very good progress for one season. Well done. Here are two thoughts:

  1. I would leave the tree to grow in the nursery container for as long as possible to allow the tree to grow faster and thicken up. Please note that this tree still needs a lot of thickening. So leave the branches on for the season as sacrifice branches and cut them back in the next growing season. My advice would be to grow in a bigger container for development.
  2. If you are happy with the branches and want to start growing for shape trim back and start forming pads.

Azalea's are difficult because if you trim them like you have to for shape you will not get flowers during the developing stages and will only be able to enjoy your tree later on. On the other hand if you like the flowers you can enjoy them now and sacrifice the shape of the tree over the short term and build the tree over a period of time.

It's really up to you. I do not know your temperatures and local climate so care might be different then in our region.

Best of luck. I like flowering trees and I like working on them but I do not own any. The person that I apprentice at has Azalea's and he knows a lot about them.

Thank you for commenting, your feedback is very appreciated. I am going to leave the tree for now, and consider trimming some of the branches next season to start introducing some taper. I do plan on growing it out in a larger container (at least as large as its current container, maybe shallower and wider). It will need a re-pot next year regardless. It's packed into that nursery pot.

It is HOT in my location right now. averages of 95f+ with occasional days as hot as 115f. The trees are in shade most of the day now with the exception of some early morning direct sun.

I'm fine with not getting flowers on this one for now. I really want to focus on shape. I have another, smaller Azalea that needs a LOT of growth. It will have a few seasons of minor trimming and ill let it flower (even though allowing it to flower will slow the development a bit). I also got 3 rooted 'runners' from this Azalea as a bonus :) They are not really growing yet, but are still alive. I'm assuming they are spending all their energy on root development right now.

I know nothing about bonsai, but I say cut it! At least one of the cuts you want to make, and maybe hold off on the other until you're sure you're happy with the first one? And itll give the plant time to relax between the stress of cutting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67