You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Satsuki Azalea Backbud followup

in #teambonsai6 years ago

Thank you for commenting, your feedback is very appreciated. I am going to leave the tree for now, and consider trimming some of the branches next season to start introducing some taper. I do plan on growing it out in a larger container (at least as large as its current container, maybe shallower and wider). It will need a re-pot next year regardless. It's packed into that nursery pot.

It is HOT in my location right now. averages of 95f+ with occasional days as hot as 115f. The trees are in shade most of the day now with the exception of some early morning direct sun.

I'm fine with not getting flowers on this one for now. I really want to focus on shape. I have another, smaller Azalea that needs a LOT of growth. It will have a few seasons of minor trimming and ill let it flower (even though allowing it to flower will slow the development a bit). I also got 3 rooted 'runners' from this Azalea as a bonus :) They are not really growing yet, but are still alive. I'm assuming they are spending all their energy on root development right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61204.65
ETH 2452.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58