The continuing adventures of Ratticus

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Because 'my last week' is now more like the last 2-3 weeks, I think it's time to admit that it's just writing about some of the time in my recent past, and that I'm unlikely to actually catch right up to now.

Last time we mostly turned into a bit of a review of a couple of food places I went to. Food is just something I love and when I get to go to good places and have tasty food, hopefully I can tell people about it and they too can experience it.

So Saturday started with a bit of a sleep in and then Jade and I went for 'breakfast' (it was around 1 pm) at the local cafe they frequent. I think we were there about 5 times while I was staying with them and mentioned them in the second edition of my adventures. This time around I had a bento box which wasn't too bad. Nice crispy Chicken Katsu, couple of bits of nigiri, seasoned rice, and salad leaves. Jade decided to finally try unagi (eel) and it came in a nice presentation box. was super tasty and she certainly enjoyed the dish. Looks like I'll get to have more unagi in my future visits!

Una Don.jpg
Photo taken by Jade. Such a huge pile of pickled ginger

Why it was so late was because the morning had been dealing with unwell children, and abandoning the plans of going to Artvo. I think we just ended up doing some things around the house and the youngest chose Maccas for dinner. I have been quite impressed by their gourmet range, compared to the regular Maccas things, but the price is still possibly a bit above where they're actually at when compared to actual gourmet burger joints.

Sunday saw one of our friends returning from a business trip, just in time for his birthday. For lunch (shocked that he'd made it to lunch after the 13+ hours of flying back from the states that morning) we went to 'The Hatter and The Hare', which I'll write about later. For now, I'll leave the teaser photo of our deserts (which we had much much later after dinner because we were so full).

Hatter and Hare desserts.jpg
Jade wanted to try the 'Cheshire Cat' (purple) and Darryl wanted 'something fruity', so I got him 'Queen' (red)

Monday was yet another birthday, with one of the best friends eldest turning 7. This led to dinner being at Pancake Parlour. I haven't been to one in many years, and while it was a nice meal out with friends, it reminded me of probably why I haven't been in so long. There wasn't anything 'bad' about it, but there wasn't anything really great either. It was all just very decent. I had a Tabriz Crepe and a pint of 'Apple Cider' (but lets be fair, it was non-alcoholic sparkling apple juice). Others around the table had Cheese and Potato Pancakes, and Country Chicken. The children had either Chicken Tenders or Fish and Chips. On the plus side, it was very quiet, given we were there between normal meal times to fit in with everyone's schedules around meetings and appointments.

Tabriz Crepe.jpg
I'd been warned that it was quite runny last time Kat had it. I was surprised how not runny it was.

And with that, we're at the end of Monday. The next edition will probably see the conclusion of my journey home, and thus become more spaced out in future.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats.png

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @ratticus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44