My last week in an increasingly less brief thread - part 3

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

last time out we finished off with Wednesday and swimming. I left that early and had Souvlaki from a local place that I was pleased to see was sponsoring some local sports club (They were working on the initial deal while I was there and he was very supportive of the idea). And quite happily the one I ordered (Theo's special - Chicken, Lamb, Chips, Onion, and a couple of sauces) was pretty damn good. They also wrap it in foil before wrapping in paper and a bag, so it stays hot until you get home too, which is great.

Thursday was mostly a lazy day. Catching up on some of my different subscriptions online and went out for lunch with Darryl and the kids. I had a bowl of Kimchi Chicken Don, which was very good, and quite a bit more spicy than I'd anticipated. After Jade got home we headed out to Atsav Indian Restaurant.

They brought pappadums to the table along with water before we starter. We ordered Vegetable Pakoras (described as "Cauliflower, potato and spinach deep-fried") to start with, which was not what I expected, but was still quite nice. I'm used to pakoras being pieces of battered vegetable, but these patties were certainly tasty.

Vegetable Pakoras.jpg
Nice to have an evenly divisible amount too since the 2 of us were sharing these

Following this, was the main components of the meal. We ordered Daal Gosht (Menu description "Boneless lamb and yellow lentil’s cooked together with oriental spices"), Dum Aloo Kashmiri (Menu description "Selected garden potatoes, stuffed with dry fruits and homemade cottage cheese, cooked in smooth gravy") and Pulao Rice (Menu description "Basmati rice cooked with cumin seeds and finished with saffron"). I was disappointed in the Gosht, as 2 of my 3 pieces of lamb were quite tough and chewy, however the other 1 was brilliantly tender, and so were the 2 in the leftovers and all the bits Jade had, so I just got unlucky I guess. It wasn't hot spicy at all, which can be good to know if you can't deal with chilli heat. The Dum Aloo however was spectacular. Incredibly tasty filling surrounded by nice tender potato in a very nice gravy that reminds me a bit of a good butter chicken, both in colour and taste. If you order a vegetarian dish, I'd highly recommend this as a first choice.

Pulao Rice Daal Gosht Dum Aloo Kishmiri.jpg
L-R: Rice, Daal Gosht, Dum Aloo Kishmiri. all after Jade had taken her serve as I was slow

Because we have to have it, we also ordered Keema Naan and Cheese & Garlic Naan. Both were very good. I also ordered a Mango Lassi which was pretty decent.

Naans.jpg
Keema naan was quite red inside

I'd definitely go back again, and try some of the other dishes that looked good.

Friday started lazy, but then a friend got back to me and we decided to meet up in the city to catch up. So I went in a bit earlier and had lunch at Simply Spanish at Queen Victoria Markets. They've been on my list of places for a while and it was great to try their Big Pan Paella. The place was quite busy, with every inside table being full the entire time I was there, and a couple sat outside where it was a bit cool for my liking. The Paella was very tasty, and the calamari was one of the stand outs for me with every piece being super tender and perfectly cooked, which is tough enough in a small pan, so they really know what they're doing. The menu description is "Spanish chorizo sausage, diced boneless chicken, tender calamari + local mussels cooked in huge pans with our own blend of herbs + spices. Made fresh daily and served from our giant paella pans", and from talking with one of the staff members, on the weekend they'll have the outside cooker set up with 2 pans going at once on it and they'll go through 4 or 5 pans of just the big pan paella. It's very good, although it's no longer $10 at lunch like their website says, it is well worth the $14.50 that it now costs.

Big Pan Paella.jpg
only improvement I'd make is a couple more mussels on each serve

After meeting up with my friend, we went to Betty's Burger & Concrete Co.. I only had onion rings and a cider, since I was kinda full, but we sat there for an hour or so chatting over our drinks and food (My friend had a classic burger). Pretty nice atmosphere. We followed this with a walk up to the markets through Hardware Lane looking at the food shops in it. Was a good day out.

And I'll leave this edition here as this is getting kinda long again.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats.png

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

outside where it was a bit cool for my liking

So it was subzero then? D:

strangely not. It was windy though. My normal temperature controls have been not great for the last couple of years now

Ahh well I reckon wind chill could make anyone cold.

Oh dear, you getting old in your old age? :)

Certainly took some time before I started to get old though :p Might have to do something to make me younger again though...

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43