New Team Australia Charity

shutterstock_201683003-730x488.jpg

Gday Everyone.
I want to start the conversation about worthy causes that we can look at supporting for our next big charity drive.

I only have 1 criteria that I'd like to stick with, is that we donate an actual product. Giving a cheque to another charitable organisation is not something that I'll support as most of that cash disappears to admin.

maxresdefault.jpg
So currently we are looking at the Burrumbuttock Hayrunners to sponsor a truck and cover the fuel for a huge load of hay to be delivered to a range of farmers. We would also have the option of putting a banner on the trucks to advertise.
All up cost of this is about $3000 or about 600Steem.

download (2).jpg
The other things floating around are the Surf Life Savers, chatting to one of the clubs, and organising new boat motors or paddles, or whatever it is that they need. This is something that could easily be spread across the country as well.

But what are your suggestions, this is a group effort and I want everyone to contribute here. With the power of the group, and the value of Steem, we can quite easily make some big donations to different groups and change a lot of peoples lives.

gohba.handcrafts01.png

Sort:  

It might sound a little self serving, but could we get a bulk order of entry-level laptops to those who struggle, physically or psychologically, to get out of the house?
This is a beautiful community, and I think a lot of lonely people could really benefit from getting involved.
(I'm thinking of people like @lauralemons, who is sadly no longer with us)

I like this @mattclarke it’s a real problem that many people face. I have a girl who works for me who is a single Mum of five kids. Last year one of her daughters broke the family’s only laptop. Three of the kids are in high school and they had no computer to do their homework on. For people who are struggling financially something that can seem so simple for the rest of us can be really hard to get.

I’m proud to say she got a “performance bonus” about two weeks later that helped cover the cost of a new computer 😉 She’s a fantastic employee who thoroughly deserved the extra money, so I was happy to help her out. Not everyone is so lucky though.

I’m not sure how you’d do it? Maybe get in touch with a shelter and coord through them?

Thats an interesting idea mattclarke.
It is a supportive community I agree. There must be an organisation that can be contacted to enquire if this would be possible. It offers challenges in the way of paying for internet and online education but its just challenges.

True. Laptops may not be the best. Particularly if a lot of them already have them.
Wireless broadband devices maybe?
You can get prepaid ones with long expiry.

Maybe like you said a cheap laptop and independant wifi device with gb to start them off - no reason it would be over $500 to start them off?

There is a group from Aus on here called voiceofhealth that advocate for those affected with mental health issues - if it went any further maybe they could assist.

Sounds like a good idea, but would we be giving a possible poisened chalice with entry level equipment? They might have difficult support or run into problems beyond the short term.

Hi Matt. I like the idea, the logistics of it could be a little difficult though. If there was an organisation that was able to facilitate REAL connections with people that really needed it, I'd been keen to chat to them.
I just worry that the laptop/device gets sold for other things.
But this is still very much something I'll look into more.

Something like this - https://orbitouch.com/ - could get amputees typing.
Maybe there are plenty of computers, but they've not previously had the option to engage?

Giving an actual product and not cash is the best idea yet! You are right, only a small amount gets through. The entire product will in this case. Good thinking and good luck with the charity.

The hay idea sounds good I'll be down to chuck in a few steem

Charity begins in Australia.

Hey @gohba I have 12 grandkids and 6 have confirmed Autism diagnosies varying from severe non verbal to high functioning (possibly a few more still to be diagnosed as they are still too young).

So needless to say I have a keen interest in supporting Autism specifically providing service dogs for severe non verbal kids. It is hideously expensive there is a horrendous waiting list and it meets your very wise criteria of cutting out admin.

I know it would mean helping less people but this is a life changing therapy and lifestyle tool for a disabled child. I think it’s worth it...

BTW not suggesting my bubbies should be the recipients just saying because we’ve been involved

Hey mate. I actually half had this conversation with your SIL the other week. An old friend of mine is "something" with Autism QLD (i forget his role, but it was relevant) and we discussed some sponsorship.

So again, it'd have to be something that we can give in its entirety to the group, I had thought of those talking devices for the non-verbal kids.

How expensive is hideously expensive for the dog? If you've got some more information, I'm keen to see if it would be possible.

Also, possibly off topic, I can't see how they justify the MASSIVE costs of guidedogs. Volunteers do most of the training, housing etc. Their overheads in staff are where the costs lay.

Well if I recall correctly about $15K per dog! But that was a few years ago, it's probably gone up a bit since then. While the first year of the pupplies life is spent boarding with a family there is a lot of heavy duty training on the back end of that. I pressume this is where the costs come in.

I know when we looked into it that most of the Autism service dogs were being trained up here on the Sunshine Coast, labradors mostly because of their temprament.

For the purposes of this particular project however, it may be better to look at funding for iPads for the non verbal kids or something like that. I'm one step removed from most of the daily issues as a grandparent, but you know my 2 daughters and SIL can shed more detailed light on this issue. I know iPads have been brilliant for all of our ASD kids, non verbal and high functioning.

So for those that can't access them for whatever reason with the government funding (or because they are inelligible for government funding) that might better suit this project.

There is also the issue of industrial strength covers for the iPads to protect the tech and the kids!

Bottom line you can help more people with iPads than service dogs, so in terms of bang for buck this makes more sense...

Let me know if I can do anything else to help and when you have things up and running where to send some SP.

Thanks mate? You're welcome to send me Steem at any time. Not for charity, just because I'm me :)

I do like the iPad/Technology thing as we are generally a "technology" group in the greater part.

LOL Your funny! Yep think you’re right tech might be a better match for Steemit and it probably won’t get fleas! Let me know if you need more info on the iPads as my SIL can get a bit busy ;)

Great ideas - will keep my eyes and ears open to give suggestions.

Give to those in need is good things. Bring it directly to them is real thing. Interact with them is something. Give your life to them is everything..cheers!

I like the idea of giving a product over giving cash, definitely a good idea. I like both ideas. Would be good if we could manage both!!

Congratulation your community ..

A product is absolutely a great idea and as you said money could easily be water down to something we may not be aware of! Transparency is key here and getting them something they need will bring immediate benefits imo! Great idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89