You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Team Australia Charity

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Hey @gohba I have 12 grandkids and 6 have confirmed Autism diagnosies varying from severe non verbal to high functioning (possibly a few more still to be diagnosed as they are still too young).

So needless to say I have a keen interest in supporting Autism specifically providing service dogs for severe non verbal kids. It is hideously expensive there is a horrendous waiting list and it meets your very wise criteria of cutting out admin.

I know it would mean helping less people but this is a life changing therapy and lifestyle tool for a disabled child. I think it’s worth it...

BTW not suggesting my bubbies should be the recipients just saying because we’ve been involved

Sort:  

Hey mate. I actually half had this conversation with your SIL the other week. An old friend of mine is "something" with Autism QLD (i forget his role, but it was relevant) and we discussed some sponsorship.

So again, it'd have to be something that we can give in its entirety to the group, I had thought of those talking devices for the non-verbal kids.

How expensive is hideously expensive for the dog? If you've got some more information, I'm keen to see if it would be possible.

Also, possibly off topic, I can't see how they justify the MASSIVE costs of guidedogs. Volunteers do most of the training, housing etc. Their overheads in staff are where the costs lay.

Well if I recall correctly about $15K per dog! But that was a few years ago, it's probably gone up a bit since then. While the first year of the pupplies life is spent boarding with a family there is a lot of heavy duty training on the back end of that. I pressume this is where the costs come in.

I know when we looked into it that most of the Autism service dogs were being trained up here on the Sunshine Coast, labradors mostly because of their temprament.

For the purposes of this particular project however, it may be better to look at funding for iPads for the non verbal kids or something like that. I'm one step removed from most of the daily issues as a grandparent, but you know my 2 daughters and SIL can shed more detailed light on this issue. I know iPads have been brilliant for all of our ASD kids, non verbal and high functioning.

So for those that can't access them for whatever reason with the government funding (or because they are inelligible for government funding) that might better suit this project.

There is also the issue of industrial strength covers for the iPads to protect the tech and the kids!

Bottom line you can help more people with iPads than service dogs, so in terms of bang for buck this makes more sense...

Let me know if I can do anything else to help and when you have things up and running where to send some SP.

Thanks mate? You're welcome to send me Steem at any time. Not for charity, just because I'm me :)

I do like the iPad/Technology thing as we are generally a "technology" group in the greater part.

LOL Your funny! Yep think you’re right tech might be a better match for Steemit and it probably won’t get fleas! Let me know if you need more info on the iPads as my SIL can get a bit busy ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53