You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chronicles of A Substitute Teacher: Why Would Anyone Sign Up For This? – The Challenges of Being A Substitute

in #teaching7 years ago

You have an amazing heart, @tltran !
I spent a short time as a sub in AR, but the experience was nothing like you have had to deal with. Mine was more like the liberal aunt who came to babysit while the parents were away. It's amazing how quickly all that changed. Subbing almost needs to be a profession on its own, and not one for thin-skinned.

Sort:  

Absolutely. I am so glad there are so many people that answer the call to support our students and teachers. Some days I feel like I am a glorified babysitter, like when I am asked to show the same movie in all classes for the day. But I live for the days where I am challenged and moved outside of my comfort zone to advance student learning or facilitate social skills among kiddos that I have just met.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86