Temper Temper... Using a Hindu Fable to Teach American Students About Self Control

in #teaching8 years ago

As a high school special education teacher who teaches World History, one of my favorite topics to teach is world religions. From the beginning of the unit, I stress that I will not be "preaching" that one religion is correct or better than other religions. I explain that this is not my job. Parents and guardians should educate their children about faith. My job is to educate them about the facts regarding the beliefs of religions from around the world. I explain that my main goal is to educate them in order to conquer ignorance. Far too often, people do not like those from another religion simply because they do not understand the beliefs of that religion. I hope that when my students meet a person from a different religion, they greet them with respect rather than with fear.



"The Monkey and the Mango Tree"
Inner Traditions January 1, 1998


Today, I led one of my favorite activities. My students read Hindu parables from a book called "The Monkey and the Mango Tree" by Harish Johari (Inner Traditions January 1, 1998). This book contains twenty-five traditional Hindu parables. I do not teach them as fact. I expose my students to these stories in order to illustrate the similarities between these fables and stories in Western culture and religion.

One of the stories we read is titled "The Lesson". The story centers around a teacher who is trying to teach his students about anger. He explains to them that "anger is a fire element" that burns the soul. He warns his students that they should avoid anger and to not let it affect their actions or judgement. He asks his students to memorize the lesson so they can recite it the next day.

The next day, one boy cannot remember the lesson. He tries to recite it but he fails. The teacher decides to give the boy one more chance. He demands that the boy study and return the next day to recite the lesson. When the class returns the next day, the boy fails again. He has a problem with his memory and simply cannot remember the lesson.



Think, think , think.
The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh from Walt Disney Productions (1977)

The teacher becomes enraged. He shouts and slams his hand on the desk. He questions why the boy cannot remember the lesson. The adult cannot understand why the boy is unable to remember the simple lesson that people must control his/her anger and not let this emotion affect one's actions or judgement. The teacher is so angry, that he is unable to teach and sends the class away. Before the students leave, he gives the boy one final warning that he must recite the lesson the next day.

On the third day, the student still cannot remember the lesson. He tries very hard but simply cannot recall the exact words. Infuriated by this failure, the teacher begins to beat the boy. As the teacher hits him, the boy beings to smile. This reaction enrages the teacher even more. He begins to hit him harder.



The Avengers
From Marvel Studios (2012)

The boy now starts to laugh. The laughter shocks the teacher so much that he stops. He asks the boy why he is laughing. The boy explains that he now understands the lesson. He states that anger is a fire element that burns the soul. He further explains that the emotion should be controlled in order to avoid it affecting one's actions and judgement. He points out that the teacher has given in to that anger while the boy has stayed calm. He is proud of himself for mastering the lesson.. even if he cannot repeat it verbatim.

After hearing the boy's words, the teacher becomes very ashamed. He admits to the class that this student is far wiser than he. The teacher apologizes and points out that the student is the master and he, the supposed professor, has failed.

When this is revealed, my students always explode in excitement and say some of the funniest things: "Oh snap!" "Doesn't he feel salty?" "He showed him".



Parks and Recreation
Deedle-Dee Productions, 3 Arts Entertainment, Universal Media Studios

After they calm down, I ask them this question, "What is the point of the story?". My students are always able to answer this one very quickly. They immediately understand that the story is about the need to control anger and to think before acting (especially when angry). They recognize that the teacher is a horrible role model of both of these essential skills and the incredibly strong student is truly the one whose example should be followed.

Then, I ask the students if there is a similar saying or story in Western culture. After some discussion and thought, they are able to see a second lesson being taught by this fable. Inevitably, several hands shoot up. I choose a student. They smile and say, "Practice what you preach." I don't confirm this answer. Instead, I "toss it out to the crowd" and ask the rest of the class if the student is correct. After the class signals their agreement, I pledge to them that I will try and abide by this lesson. They laugh.

After a class discussion revolving around the boy's incredible strength and the modern consequences of the teacher's actions, I end the lesson with a personal story about the importance of thinking before acting... but that will have to wait for the second part of this piece.


Batman
20th Century Fox Television and Greenway Productions

Sort:  

Such a wealth of wisdom coming from out there... Thank you form the depth of my heart. Namaste :)

Thanks for checking this out. My students are great!

I love 2 part stories... all this instant gratification stuff is for the birds! :)

Also gives the reader a break from all of my ellipses...

Just yeasterday I read a research abt influence of repressed emotions on human health. To be honest I was surprised to know tt every emotion that we havnt worked out keeps itself in our body. Some time passes and we start to feel pain. Not only in soul but also phisicaly. Thats why I believe we do need to control our emotions (now even exist such determination as "emotional intelligence"). However we also need to understand the difference between controlling and repressing to avoid illnesses in future.
Thank you @hanshotfirst for the article. Its easier to study throught stories that by long philosophical lectures)

I agree. One thing I stress to my students is that they cannot always avoid getting angry... but they can control how they act when they are angry.

This has very applicable principles btw. It is amazing how many problems emotions cause...

I had no idea you taught religions btw. That is pretty neat!

Yeah, a unit on world religions is actually a high school requirement. I teach just the fact though (about what flowers believe) and try to stress how much they all have in common. I really try to teach my students things that actually matter. They can look up names and dates. I prefer to use history as a way to teach practical lessons.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63