@foxyspirit' tattoo contest : My Entry

in #tattoocontest6 years ago (edited)

Today I stumbled onto a post that looked pretty fun. It was a tattoo contest hosted by @foxyspirit. Thank you @foxyspirit for a fun contest. You can see the original post [here](https://steemit.com/tattoocontest/@foxyspirit/tattoo-contest).

For me the idea of tattoos are individual. Some people love the idea, and others hate it. Whatever your view may be is ok!

I love the idea of tattoos. It is almost like a journal of your life. No matter if you got tattoos during a low spot in your life, or got one that was full of meaning, it is still your story to tell.

I start with my newest work.

It is a representation of the beginning of everything. I believe that God has created all things. No matter how big or small. It starts with a carbon atom and a black void, there is a burst and cosmic DNA wrapping up my arm. There is light coming from the center of the explosion as a representation of God. This whole piece has positive and negative roots going through it. The roots come from a tree tattoo and it represents what the tree is rooted in

The tree

The tree is me. For years I was told that I had to change who I was to better fit into the world. Whether it was for school or a job or a church. The candle is the light that burns inside me. Over the years the light in me has only gotten brighter. Everything around the tree is what makes the tree grow. You can also see a dove representing the Holy Spirit. And a symbol for 'faithful'.

Our family symbol

This symbol originally came from an old family bible and represents man, women, and children. We have later found this to be an ancient viking rune for family or group. This has grown for us and is now my makers mark on all of my custom creations from knives to leather work, and we used it for our wedding ring tattoos.

Our wedding ring tattoos


Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) and I

I have a couple of older tattoos as well that may be assimilated into larger tattoos or covered. All have meaning, but the quality seems to fade.

I hope you enjoyed my entry into @foxyspirit 's tattoo contest. I look forward to seeing more great tattoos. Enjoy and good luck! Be well!🙃

Sort:  

Your family symbol is strong and I love that you used it for wedding rings. That is a strong bond!
Love the tree as well and the style of it is different and unique. And with your latest tattoo on how it all starts. That is great thinking and beautifully done. The colors pop, it really draws the eyes.

Tattoos do age, but they age with us. No matter what they look like they all have meaning, just like you said. Beauty within.
Thank you for sharing your post and being part of the competition!
It's great to see all these tattoo's with their personal meaning ^_^

Thank you. I love my tattoos. I am excited to get a chance to share them! Be well.

Obviously !! we always enjoy your post @freedompoint
When it has fun, it may be more interesting ...
Good luck ...........for contest

Man you have some sick ink!!!! I love the tree and I have often thought of getting a "tree of life" style as a back piece. The shading and color of the first one is absolutely phenomenal! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! I love it. I will post a quick updated pic with detail. That tree sounds sweet! Aslong as it has meaning to you!

My take of the tree of life would be similar to a New Orleans Spirit Tree. The different colored bottles would represent life events that have meaning for me.

Oh yeah, that detail is crazy. That's why I stress to people the importance of finding a talented artist and staying with them.

Yeah, my artist is actually about to join Steemit!

sweet! I got to see more of it :D Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44