Zalux Coffee Cafe (restaurant) - Chiang Mai: Awesome

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

I love a good value. I also love friendly service with a smile. After the experience I had this morning at a terrible restaurant for breakfast I was really hoping that my lunch experience would be better. Zalux Coffee Cafe (which also goes by the name of Phumokfa Cafe and I have no idea why,) truly impressed me.


Since I am currently restricted to riding a bicycle in the city, I am able to get down some of the tighter streets and alleyways, many of which you can not enter with a car at all and if you were on a motorbike you might be moving too quickly to even notice this gem of a place.

The first thing i noticed when I pulled over is that it was very quiet and this is something you don't often encounter in the city center with a population of a million people. It was right next to a temple and it just seemed like the kind of place that I would be willing to take a chance on. I am STILL in the touristy part of town, but I don't think that a vast majority of the tourists come down these alleys because there is very little indication of there being anything inside of them from the main roads.


I also enjoyed the fact that the prices for the coffees are easily visible from the street on a chalkboard, so you don't have to be embarrassed to walk away after perusing the ubiquitous menu that every shop puts at the entrance.

51447781_354260361838401_8235752695210704896_n.jpg

I was the only customer when I walked in, and a very kind lady responded to my "sawat dee krab" (again, "hello" in Thai) with a hello-back and a big smile. This is the polar-opposite of what I experienced at the horrible-restaurant-with-an-attitude-problem that i had attended just 4 hours prior.

They have all the usual coffee beverages and while I am not a coffee expert, i was quite happy with mine. I had just completed a 10km bike journey so hot coffee was definitely not going to happen. Thankfully the iced version of it was a very reasonable 5Baht more expensive and it was absolutely gigantic.

I wasn't even sure if I wanted to have a carafe of coffee but I'll try anything once as long as there aren't needles involved.

The drink came out fast and I asked the 2nd staff member I met if i could order some food. He responded in the same extremely pleasant way that the first person did which again was in stark contrast to the experience this morning at a place I will never set foot in again




The food, while not exactly gourmet, came out fast, hot, and was delivered by a 3rd person who smiled and was very friendly.

51492396_396092464491094_4916437858161524736_n.jpg
this is called a "Rad-na" which is basically meat, noodles, and vegetables served with a savory gravy sauce

Their location is something you will need to be quite careful in order to find and I didn't notice any on-street advertising for the place on the main roads. This is the first "hidden secret" of Chiang Mai that I have discovered. I can't recommend this place enough. My big bowl of Rad Na and my humongous carafe of iced coffee came to less than $3. This is half what I spent at the tourist trap I ate at this morning.

you can find them here

Sort:  

Hi gooddream. You will find plenty of these types of places now that you aren't visiting the tourist traps. It is amazing how the price drops significantly as soon as you move off the main drag.

Nice find, this is a good resto for coffee lovers like me. The place looks like a house converted into a restaurant.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90