The Corner (restaurant) in Chiang Mai: Overpriced tourist restaurant with a horrible attitude

in #tasteem5 years ago

It should come as no surprise that this place is touristy and overpriced as it sits on the corner (as the name would suggest) of a very-heavily-traveled-by-tourists part of the city. Day and night, there are people walking by constantly. It was just really close to my condo and I felt like having the ultimate backpacker breakfast of museli / fruit / yogurt


source

I can see this place from my balcony and could see on their sign that they had what i was looking for and to be honest, i am not terribly fussy about breakfast as I am more of a "coffee and a granola bar" type guy, but had neither.
I walked over there, said "Sawat Dee Krab!" (hello, in Thai) and the woman said nothing back, practically threw the menu at me, and then had to be flagged down in order for me to place my order.

One good thing I can say is that it arrived quickly and it is pretty much the only good thing I can say about this place.

51970702_501993700325631_8296075107156099072_n.jpg

Even by tourist-place-standards this is a very small portion. I was finished with it in 2 minutes and was still hungry. I don't complain at restaurants because what are they gonna do? Give me another one? I can tell you for certain based on the attitude of the staff that I would just be yelled at so i let it be. Which began the next part of my problem: Paying the bill.

I quite easily could have just left and not paid because all the staff were sat around a back corner staring at their phones and i had to find them in order to get the bill. I paid, and then left. I will never return.

51429068_399648633942719_5512647604531363840_n.jpg
they at least had a nice collection of toys in their massive tatt cabinet

If you are glutton for punishment here is their location.
1 Moonmuang Road, Mueang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, 50100, Thailand
18.785194, 98.992870

I can only come to one conclusion about how a business can have this sort of attitude and still remain in business: Location, location, location. They certainly have a good one of those but I would be very surprised if they have any sort of repeat customers. They better hope the "center" of tourism doesn't shift a few blocks, because if it does, they are f**ked.

Sort:  

Most tourist traps don't care as they are not going to get return business. They are not after the locals as they know their prices are excessive. There are restaurants that we know as locals that we don't visit as it is only for the foreign visitors. Cape Town waterfront is full of them and very few locals even buy a drink there.

yep. i shouldn't be surprised. I have lived in tourist areas for quite a while now. I am actually looking forward to moving to the suburbs of Chiang Mai next month. I can visit anywhere once i get my motorbike license.

Well that acually bad for them ; i think this kind of services they give to customers with attitude
Is a horrible sign .Although this restaurant could provide a good service for tourists. Thankd for sharing :) support :D.

Overpriced and eat in 2 minutes but still hungry.
Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good review of a place to stay away from. What a disappointing experience. Even if they are catering to the tourist trade they should still offer good service and decent portions. The higher price is common for a tourist trap, but good grief, it could at aleast be decent.

I've been experiencing that I just need to go about 6 blocks from this area and the attitude completely changed for the better

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91