Gratzi - Midland, MI

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


A couple weeks ago during this same theme, my friend @slobberchops posted about a place that you would actually want to avoid if you were going on a blind date.

Gratzi, depending on your view point, might be another one of those places. It's hard because although my wife and I didn't totally enjoy our visit, I could see where this might be the perfect place for someone with different tastes than us to go on a first date.

Let me give you some background first. There is a family company in Ann Arbor, MI that owns two restaurants. One is called The Real Seafood Company and the other is called Gratzi. Gratzi is an Italian inspired eatery and the other one is pretty obvious what they specialize in based on their name.

A short time ago, The Real Seafood Company opened in Bay City, MI. I have never been there, but we have heard great things about the food. My wife doesn't eat seafood and I prefer mine on the fried spectrum so it has never been on our agenda to visit.

When the company decided to open a Gratzi in Midland though, we knew it was something that we were going to want to try out. Being Midland though (home of Dow Chemical and more business people than you can shake a stick at), I knew we were probably going to have to dress up a little to visit. We decided to go for our ten year anniversary after work one day since we were relatively "dressed up" in our work clothes.

Coming straight from work, we were able to get to Gratzi at about 4:30 and they were pretty dead. The matitre d' (host) immediately asked us if we had a reservation. Since it was just the two of us, I hadn't felt it was necessary to call in ahead. We told him no and he led us towards the back of the establishment.

IMG_20181016_161537.jpg

This was our view from the back of the restaurant towards the front. You can see the light coming in the front windows. There is another small seating area to the left and then the bar area is towards the front to the right. Additionally, there are booths along the side to the right.

The host then asked if we had ever been here before and wanted to know if we were familiar with their tablet menus.

IMG_20181016_161236.jpg

Feigning tech ignorance, I said no, and allowed him to show me how to use the tablet. The tablet is cool, but like many things in Gratzi it seemed over the top pricey to us. It also made it hard for me to get a picture of the menu for this post!

Their menu is actually a bit limited compared to what I was expecting. The one cool thing about the tablet is you can tap on the menu item and it will show you a picture of it, that way you kind of know what you are getting vs. some other menus where they only picture featured items throughout.

Eventually, our waitress came to take our order and we gave her our drink orders. I think she could tell we were a little uncomfortable and did her best to put us at ease. My wife ordered a Captain and Diet and I wasn't going to get anyting, but since it was our anniversary I decided to splurge a little and got what they called The Todd Father.

IMG_20181016_161717.jpg

It was an interesting mixture of Scotch and Amaretto with some other things mixed in. I actually really enjoyed it, but at $12 USD a pop, I stopped with just the one. Plus one of us had to drive home! My wife was not all that impressed with her $8.50 USD Captain and Diet commenting that I mix them much better at home. Apparently, this place has never heard of happy hour!

The waitress came back and we soon ordered our food. I chose the Cinque Tortelloni al Formaggio with chicken added. My wife selected the Margherita Flatbread as well as a Ceasar Salad. As we waited for our food, we began to disucss how this place really wasn't our type of venue. We are pretty simple people and much prefer a small town bar to an upscale place like this.

@mrsbozz's salad soon arrived along with some bread. You could tell that the salad dressing was not something they had poured out of a bottle. It was quite unlike any ceasar dressing I had ever had and that led me to beleive it was probably home made right there in the kitchen.

IMG_20181016_162522.jpg

IMG_20181016_162010.jpg

As amazing as the bread looked, it left us a little dissappointed. The texture and flavor was not what we were expecting. It had a definite tart taste I think in part to the cheese that they used to top it.

IMG_20181016_164533.jpg

IMG_20181016_164536.jpg

This is where my reveiw might throw you for a loop. Our entree's were absolutely fantastic. I can't remember the last time I had something from an Itialian resturant that carried so much flavor and savory goodness in one plate.

The prosciutto was fantastic and married with the mushrooms, spinach, chicken and tortellini was a basic party in my mouth. They have a pizza oven in the bar area and my wifes flatbread was just as flavorful as my dish.

I finished every last morsel of my entree and @mrsbozz ate what she wanted of her flatbread leaving a couple of pieces for me to take to work as lunch the next day.

As we were finishing up, our waitress inquired if we wanted to try a dessert. We declined and she soon showed up with our bill and two small glasses of Limoncello to drink as a digestif. Never having experieced this before, my wife and I were a little embarrassed when we had to ask the waitress if you sip it or shoot it like a shot.

IMG_20181016_174629.jpg

In all, it was definitely a memorable anniversary dinner. If we were invited to Gratzi to meet with friends or family, we would probably go again in a heartbeat (due to the fantastic food). If it were just up to the two of us trying to decide where to go for dinner, we would probably pass.

At about $63 USD before tip, it isn't the type of place that you would probably find yourself at even once a week. If you are looking to make a big first impression on a first date, this might be just the spot for you. Word of advice though, make sure you make a reservation. Even if they aren't that busy, it will still look impressive :)

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


Gratzi - Midland, MI
score
120 E Main St, Midland, MI 48640, USA


Gratzi - Midland, MI
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Where to eat for my blind date?


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I slowly followed your story about this restaurant. You have a pretty good way to present the restaurant.

[Tasteem Global Supporter]
#tasteem-curation

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Where to eat for my blind date?> Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Thank you, so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh dear.. that bread looks a bit dry, and the salad limp. Not everywhere is good and its OK to say so. Tablet menus? we havent seen those here yet.

If they are there, they will arrive here sooner or later.

Yeah, it seemed weird at the time, but being able to pull up the picture of the item was pretty cool. I think if I was running a business I would rather spend my money a different way though. The salad was pretty good, but not like a typical ceasar. I actually think it was probably more authentic than you get at most places. For those more upscale than us, this is probably their favorite place in town.

I have been there. It is somewhere between OK and good. I am still looking for an Italian restaurant that serves a good Florentine steak. One question: Is Tasteem based on the STEEM blockchain?

Yes, it is. My wife and I aren't really foodies(though we enjoy food), so what is pretty fantastic to us might not be so much for someone else. There really isn't much selection in the area though besides Olive Garden and D'alessandros when it comes to Italian though D'alessandros menu is a bit fish heavy for us to probably ever visit there. I have heard Cafe Cremosi is pretty good over in Bay City though I have never been there.

Cafe Cremosi is better (in my humble opinion), less effort to commercialize.

Good to know. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

The restaurant reviews are great. The restaurant looks more comfortable for visitors

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am a bit of a techy person so I think the tablet menu is a cool idea, from your review I am not sure it is a place I would go to often, or maybe just once to try it out

I agree, I think everyone should try it once if they like Italian food, just to say they went. It definitely isn't our go-to place on a Friday night though. That would be a Mexican place a couple blocks down!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was luckily enough for quite a few years to go to Brindisi in Italy where we had a base a couple of times a year and I had a favorite Italian Restaurant there that made everything home made and I loved, maybe because of two many Lemoncello and strawberrycellos lOl, so I havent really found an Italian restaurant that compares so the few times we go out we go to other types of restaurants, my favorite is always a good irish Restaurant

I can only imagine what that must have been like. Even in New York I know you have places that are well beyond what we have here!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes so many fine restaurants here, but I am really not a foodie most of the time i eat very plain from one of the local deli's

That is kind of how I am too. Give me some chicken wings or nachos in a bar and I am happy. You guys do have some of the best deli's in the world though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yes for sure, I am loving the Amish Market i now go to great salads and also good hot and cold food bar selection

Love the tablet menu, very nice review @bozz but like you say pricey especially when I convert it to our currency!

Yes, very much so. I have another place I am going to review in the future and the contrast in price is quite different. Of course the atmosphere is much different between the two places as well!

Look forward to that, interesting to see what the rest of the world serves up :)

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.472 which ranks you at #6536 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 49 places in the last three days (old rank 6585).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 425 contributions, your post is ranked at #141.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 306 (11/08/18)

Thank you! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64