Smalley's Bar & Grill: Harbor Beach, MI

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


In my last post I talked about how I had a really good burger when we were in Harbor Beach, MI.

Smalley's is the place to go for that burger. It is a small bar right on the main street in Harbor Beach.

If you find yourself heading North on M25 in Michigan and you pass through the stoplight in Harbor Beach, turn around because that means you missed Smalley's.

Don't blink either, that could also cause you to miss it. If you are able to find it, you won't be disappointed though.

My wife and I stopped in on a Friday afternoon after having gotten our travel trailer setup at the campground North of town.

We weren't really sure what to expect, but my wife knew she wanted some mozzarella sticks.

IMG_20180622_141459.jpg

They were your typical US bar variety deepfried from frozen mozzarella sticks, but they were tasty just the same. Especially paired with our beers. I didn't get a picture of them, but my wife got the Leinenkugel Summer Shandy and I got a Pabst Blue Ribbon both of which they had on tap.

I noticed that most of the people at the table near us were eating burgers, so I knew I had to try one out. They had a craft burger as the daily special, but I decided to stick with the plain cheeseburger.

My wife got the SouthWest eggrolls. I didn't try them because I was so engrossed in my burger, but she said they were very good.

IMG_20180622_142531.jpg

Like I said, I went for the classic cheeseburger. They advertise that they use 100% certified Angus beef. Surprisingly they also asked me how I would like my burger cooked.

It is hit or miss the places that do that these days. Many places are worried about the possibility of food poisoning and even if they do ask how you want your burger cooked, they often err on the side of over cooked.

IMG_20180622_142522.jpg

You can imagine I was pleasently surprised when the burger came out with a nice pink center just like I wanted when I asked them to cook it medium.

Even though it looks like a lot of toppings, they paired well with the size of the burger patty and It all came together in a pleasant bite.

IMG_20180622_142529.jpg

Smalley's is your average American bar & grill. It is a large open space with many tables and the bar along one wall. They have a pool table and electronic Keno you can play sponsered through the Michigan State Lottery.

TV's on the walls play whatever the present sporting event is although being a small town in the US I don't think they were showing the World Cup when we stopped.

Smalley's is definitely worth the visit if you find yourself in that part of Michigan and for me it turned out to be a real hidden gem from our trip.


Restaurant Information


Smalley's Bar & Grill
score
130 S Huron Ave, Harbor Beach, MI 48441, USA


Smalley's Bar & Grill: Harbor Beach, MI
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-29T13:20:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 522.50/200.00
Total Photos: 73
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Now I am hungry and I only had dinner a few hours ago. Thanks for that @bozz it's almost bed time and I'm going to have a growling stomach. lol..

Sorry! It is morning here and I am just trying to push myself through to lunch. It's hard knowing my grilled chicken wrap won't be as tasty as that burger!

Haha, that is a good problem to have. Lol.

Okay so maybe I should have eaten dinner first before reading this post! I’m hungry for mozzarella sticks and a burger now lol!! I think those are the fattest mozzarella sticks I have yet seen. Those egg rolls look very tasty too!!! 😋

Thanks for the tease lol!!

Yes. It was all very good!

I’m glad you both enjoyed :)

Oh yeah. Medium all the way, no question. I do know some people that don't want to risk it but eh. Beer certainly makes everything better!

Too true!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 182 (7/01/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45