This. Is. Hellas!

in #tabletop-rpg6 years ago

Earlier this week, my roommate received a large box delivered to our door. This isn't unusual - he often has packages delivered, as he does a lot of online shopping (at least, at lot more than this tech-dinosaur). This one, however, would be the source of hours of enjoyment for yours truly, as it contained a new board game that he had kickstarted a while ago.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/awakenrealms/lords-of-hellas

I'm not going to get into reviewing it, as that isn't the sort of thing I really do. That being said, the game is fairly simple to learn, the craftsmanship is superb, and the art is inspiring. 

That last picture is actually the inspiration of this post - just how science fiction Achilles looks. The idea of running some sort of Greek Scifi one shot geeks me out to no end. Now, admittedly, I am a little bit rusty on my Greek history/mythology, but the idea I'm working on in the back of my head isn't complicated.

It does, however, require both the miniatures from the board game as well as an upcoming expansion - Kronos Rebellion. 

https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/238994/lords-hellas-kronos-rebellion

I don't want to say too much more until I get a chance to play the expansion, but I will say I plan on using these fine Savage Worlds products to put my idea together...

And yes I know. Savage Worlds minimalists would say all I need is the corebook, and while that is true, it isn't as much fun for me. And that's what it's all about isn't it? Fun.


#Tabletop-rpg



Sort:  

I have just the thing for you, my man:

AGON.

A game about Greek heroes, being badass, being a braggart, and covering yourself in glory. GM-full, so I'm unlikely to run it myself, but rather wonderful beyond that. Not entirely crunchy mechanics, but enough that tactical decisions matter. If anything, a bit about the framework reminds me of 3:16 - Carnage Amongst the Stars (which remains one of the few GM-full games I will run at the drop of a hat and then drop it myself).

Looks impressive and exciting! Nice to see games based on ancient Greece, the myths and lore is so rich, and although it has inspired tons of fantasy authors, there are not many games set on that age as far as I know -- at least, mainstream ones.

I remember a greek RPG game published in the late 90's, named "Living Epics" ("Ζωντανά Έπη"), with heros as PCs trying to gain the favor of the gods in order to receive special powers and fighting with mythological beasts and races. The author (Θωμας Μαστακούρης) was the main translator of Lovecraft and most fantasy authors in greek, and a fantasy writer himself.

Also, kudos for using the word "HELLAS" instead of "GREECE", you don't see that often.

PS: heh, just found an entry in boardgamegeek.com:

Aiolos and Tom Mastakouris present a roleplaying game inspired by the amazing world of Greek mythology! Experience the glory, and the mortal dangers in the Homeric era through a system of rules that simulates every aspect of reality, historical and mythical. Using the rules, polyhedral dice, and their imagination, players create Homeric Heroes taking part in completely new epics. Be a noble, priest, healer, clairvoyant or hunter and follow your team in campaigns facing fierce tribes, terrible monsters, mythical creatures.

Dude, that game looks fun as fuck. Awesome rundown too, btw.

Hey man, whenever you wanna swing by and play it, I'm sure we'd love to have ya! It was a lot of fun with 2. With 3 it would be even better.

Forgot to mention, the reverse side of the board is for a single player game.

Congratulations @petersonsdc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @petersonsdc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47