You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🔥Steemit Vision Quest - Week 6: “Queen Of The Forest”

in #svq6 years ago


https://steemit.com/svq/@heatherthebard/queen-of-the-forest-steemit-vision-quest-week-6

A Celtic-themed free-form tune, performed on a flute I made myself. :) Enjoy!

Sort:  

This was incredibly beautiful, It stirred up the ancestors I know I have somewhere in Scotland/Ireland. It also reminded me of the captivating tv series I saw on Starz called - Outlander. You are so beautiful and rare, to have the spirit and the will to compose your own music. I will be following and thank you for your entry. @heatherthebard.

Jeesh, amazing sound. Hauntingly beautiful, and somehow so familiar. Yes it must be an ancestral remembrance or something. Very cool to know you made the flute too.

Thank you! I’ve done a tad more tweaking (and practice, lol) since I cut the video, so the flute sounds even better. 🙃 Glad you enjoyed it!

Lovely. May I ask what material/s you made the flute from?

I made it from CPVC, a grade of plumbing pipe that is rated for hot and cold water (food safe). That’s pretty much it. A section of pipe and an end cap. 🙂

Cool! I thought it might be.

I used to know a guy who made digiridoos from PVC in Florida. They actually had amazing sound, and were easier to play than the real thing, especially as they don't water out, like a wood flute does, after playing several songs.

I have an Australian digiridoo, though mine is made of wood, though it is clearly bored out, and not naturally hollowed out by termites and other borers, which is what the Aborigines use to make the traditional ones. Still lovely, but heavy, and hard to play.

I played the recorder for a number of years, but I've never tried my hand at a Celtic flute, apart from an Irish pennywhistle.

Awesome!

Yeah, the durability is something that was important for me. I have a rosewood Irish flute, and even though it is “sealed,” you can still tell a difference in the playability after a few songs. I also have small children who are kinda grabby (as all children are! Lol) and it makes me breathe easier when I don’t have to constantly guard my instrument against potential damage. 🙂

Yes, I can imagine. Kids are wonderful, but they can destroy fragile items in a heartbeat, just being curious, without ever intending harm.

That said, so can dogs and cats. Ask me how I know. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44