🎵 Steemit Vision Quest - “Angel Michael In This Moment” (Original Song)

in #svq6 years ago

“Angel Michael In This Moment” is a sing-along song, designed for group singing. The format is a call-and-response, with repeating verses, inviting everyone to sing together in unison. It's one of our family's favorite bedtime songs, calling on the protective presence of Michael, the archangel.


Angel Michael In This Moment

The Story

We enjoy singing this one with the kids at bedtime, and we also sing it in the car on road trips. I believe it helps us to persevere through the various kinds of thunderstorms that sweep through our lives on a daily basis. Michael is a real source of inspiration for us. We believe this angel protects our family (and yours too!), and we have a lot of experiences to back this belief. I'll just say about that much.

One day, I believe I will complete a documentary film about the angels among us. In the past few months, I've gained interest in the traditional study of angels. I can remember when I first started to believe in the presence of angels, three years ago, during a very difficult and scary time in my life. Instinctually, I recited the name, “Angel Gabriel,” and then I felt an immediate sense of peace. My wife was pregnant at the time, and we soon had a baby boy, named Gabriel.

My rough sketch of the archangel Gabriel.

In my belief, there are many, many angels, and each is divinely designed as a unique symbol of God's love. With this in mind, there are angels that represent the Creative Fire Initiator, the Sacred Medicine Cultivator, the Warrior of Light... And this brings us to Archangel Michael. To me, Michael represents protection. The artworks that depict this angel show a blend of masculine and feminine traits, in a winged warrior spirit, holding a spear or a sword. This angel goes by many names, ranging from Mikael (Kabbalah) to São Miguel (Portuguese).

Michael

Raphael

Uriel


The Lyrics

Angel Michael in this moment
Be with me now
Be before me be behind me
Be by my side

In this present place where I am
Your protection
By the lighting strike of Your Love
I am safe I am sound


The Process

My creative process for this music performance is pretty straightforward, although there were twists. The drum you hear is a suitcase kick drum, made by my brother, similar to the kind played by our Austin local legend, Shakey Graves (here's a live recording I created). My guitar is a classic–my brother found it in an alley with a hole in the body. Seriously. Somehow it sings!

For the recording, I situated myself in the kids' bedroom, while the little ones finger painted in the living room–you can hear their voices and paintbrushes in the background. I setup a Zoom 4 audio recording device, which you can see in the lower-left corner of the frame–oops! My camera is a Canon Mark III 5D. After three years of full-time videography work, you might assume I could find an easy way to film and photograph myself. Nope! I still haven't figured out how to record a simple selfie, as you can see in my long track-record of wacky Steemit Open Mic ( #openmic ) entries. Sometimes I do get lucky, luckily. :)


The Quest

Steemit Vision Quest - Week 3: Angels Among Us

This post is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 3: Angels Among Us. At this point in my spiritual understanding, all I know about the angels among us is my own faith, backed by a limited understanding of the Spirit realm (through meditation) and the Christian religion (through my upbringing) and a random selection of books. I wish to know more!

Will you let me know what you believe about the angels?


This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

Great song and awesome performance! Thanks for sharing!
I share you faith in angels and I suppose many other wonderful things as well. Great drawings, by the way! Upped and resteemed!

Hey thank you! Your reply, your resteem, and your upvote are so kind. Very cool to sense your appreciation for the angels among us.

I thank you! Stay Steemed!
Love and Resonance
Holger

This is pure beautiful! Your voice is so warm and goes right to the soul.. 🤗

Your compliment is heart-felt, thank you. I admire your generous and adventurous creative spirit. Thank you.

Thank you too! You are too kind :)

Am grooving to your song... may Angel Michael watch over you

Ah, thank you. I really appreciate you, you know. Such a gentleman.

Hey brother... I hear you loud and clear... This parenting gig is the greatest challenge life has every served up. So many have put on a pretty face in public about it, raving about the amazing up sides, so it is truly powerful to hear your authentic voice and hurt... I think that is a great gift to others who are looking for the courage to be real in ALL relationships. Me included. Thank you.

I also hear you on the challenges of recording! So simple yet so hard to work out! These days I use an iPhone x and a RØDE lapel mic for my galactic mayan weather report videos.
Thank you for your gifts my brother!

:) Thank you for making it all the way through to the end of the song. And thanks so much for your encouragement, brother. Yeah I feel that:

This parenting gig is the greatest challenge life has every served up.

Much love to you and your family!

I like this a lot. Did you also draw the Angels?

Thank you. Yes, I drew the angels. One day, I'd like to start a daily routine of drawing, to focus on that skillset. I made it through a 30-day commitment recently, mostly drawing animals, like these ones:

I happen to really like them all. Very colorful and this last one like an armadillo or something so playful. Actually they make me feel joy and I peace at the same time and I like that.

awesome!
drawing + music = a powerful combination.
I like the horses galloping off...

These are great drawings! I would like to see more.
Who's the lady in blue?

Thanks for saying so! I'd like to do more marker illustrations like these, because I love whipping the colors around this way, drawing animals, angels... The lady in blue is Mother Mary, and Joseph is above her. Drawing what inspires me in the moment, you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43