🎵 “Be Well Bee” (Original Children's Book & Song) - Steemit Vision Quest Week 6

in #svq6 years ago

She flew, illuminated by lightning. Winds blew, with a fury quite frightening. 🐝


“Be Well Bee”

The Vision


The Story

Be Well Bee is a children's book that I wrote and illustrated, published in 2013. The story originated as a song, written in response to the mysterious disappearance of the bees, a.k.a. colony collapse disorder. After the arrival of my son and daughter, when I had an audience to sing to, my family and friends encouraged me to craft the song into a book for kids.

First, I drafted a sketchbook, and submitted it to The Sketchbook Project. Then, the sketchbook became my material for a Kickstarter Project, which afforded me the time and energy to invest in a nice set of watercolor paints and papers. You can see the first draft here, and the finished paintings below.

Before the book was published, Be Well Bee toured the country as a sketch book, in The Sketchbook Project.

The finished paintings are equally whimsical, and slightly more skillful.

This bee’s hero's journey is the same as mine – it’s all about trust. Just as I learned to trust my abilities as an artist with a weird knack for whimsy, the bee trusted her abilities as a “phenomenally hairy bee.” Even the Kickstarters who paid for the book in advance had to trust that something good would return from their investment. The result of our collective trust is an indie children’s book full of stylized bees and a heart-felt chorus line:

I'm open to every possibility. I'm hoping things will work out favorably. 🐝


The Process

Building this book has all been a matter of receptivity to the signs, and believing that the Youniverse supports us when we follow our hearts. My creative process began with gratitude, which is often the case in my experience. After learning about the disappearing bees, I grew more and more appreciative. I started to see the divinity in them, from the sacred geometry in the honeycomb pattern to the heavenly treat that is honey. Clearly, bees are a vital part of our planet's vitality!

Working on this song, I found out that when I spoke the word, “bee,” it forced a smile out of me. So, the arrival of this song was pure pleasure, practicing smiling as I sang praises to the beloved honey bee. Just imagine my delight, celebrating nature's finest example of the humble servant–the worker bee–becoming familiar with the warrior spirit, singing and playing guitar with all my heart.

I used to tell the story a bit differently, as you can see here.

The bee character is designed to be ultra-sweet, with smiley eyes, curly limbs, and heart-shaped wings. In the book illustration process, I first outlined her shape with a masking fluid, which gives her a glowing aura. I enjoyed working with the vivid colors in M. Graham line of watercolor paints.

For the book title and other areas of emphasis in the text, I hand-drew the lettering, with shading that subtly resembles the bees' stripes.

I managed the publishing part myself, with the Adobe InDesign software. I always liked the text blurb on the back cover: Bzzzreeheee! Every individual has a place of belonging in this world as well as a purpose in life, no matter how bzzzarre.

For the first edition, I printed the books out of a publishing house in Portland, Oregon, called Bookbaby. Newer editions are published through CreateSpace.


Filmmaker Wenjing Zhang documented the official book launch of the Be Well Bee children's book, beeautifully.

I often imagined making a follow-up story. There are so many more possibilities, and I'm open.


The Lyrics

She was the sweetest thing you’ve ever seen. A pollinating queen. Flower buds sprouted up, petals bursting, whenever she was thirsting. Wild poppies opened wider when this bee flew by. Everything with wings was saying, “My, oh my!” She caught the attention of the Mother bee who requested her return to the colony.

She was yellower than any other humdinger, pollen-coated from antenna to stinger. The Mother instantly delayed her egg laying, delighting in the answer to her praying. The Mother shared a long-forgotten prophecy, about the plant and animal codependency. The story glorified a star of pollination, bringing life to a desolate nation.

“Our humble hive is the nearest to the alpine. A lily blooms there by the snow line. We seek a bee with mighty pollinating power to travel far and fertilize this flower.” It would require a miracle and one brave bee, with an awesome pollen-carrying capacity. It would require a death-defying journey, incredible for a critter as little as she.

The bee sang, “I'm open to every possibility. I'm hoping things will work out favorably. Even if I fail, I believe I will be well.”

She zoomed out without hesitation, hardly knowing the destination. Heart knowing where it had to fly. Brain accepting it could not refuse to comply. Her flight blasted long past the sunset, faster than the frog with the longest tongue yet. A friendly snow goose insisted she turn back soon, entering the light of the moon. Storm clouds began looming. Thunder started booming. Her wings kept pounding. Her will was astounding.

And she sang, “I'm open to every possibility. I'm hoping things will work out favorably. Even if I fail, I believe I will be well.”

She flew illuminated by lightning. Winds blew with a fury quite frightening. Pollen grains clinging to her fur, holding firm, rain falling in a blur. Rain bomb turned to hail torpedo. The weather worsened with her need for speed, oh. When snow fell, she made the mistake of swerving directly into a flake. Wet wings sent the honey bee stumbling. Spinning into a spiral and tumbling. Winds howling when her wings stopped humming, she lifted her voice and she kept her song coming.

“I'm open to every possibility. I'm hoping things will work out favorably. Even if I fail, I believe I will be-” (SMACK!)

Waking up in a fragrant and familiar place, she found herself down in a tunnel space. Wishing to arise and fertilize, she attempted to fly. Her wings were pulverized. In the stillness she sang to the Mother Bee, “I’m open to every possibility.” And when a lightness arrived from above, she recognized the presence of the Mother’s love. Clouds opened to a cold and golden dawn. The bee recognized the flower she was resting on. A snow lily opened to the sun. The bee understood her work was done.

Be open to every possibility. Be hoping things will work out favorably. Believe. Bee leave. You will be well. Be well, bee.


The Quest

Steemit Vision Quest Week 6: Queen Of The Forest

This is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 6: Queen Of The Forest. Thanks to the SVQ team, who is a steady force of encouragement for all of us willing to bring our collective Visions together for the higher good of all: @eaglespirit, @rensoul17, and @girlbeforemirror. Thanks to all the Vision Questers, and thanks to all of the supporters. Thanks to the creators of Steemit, and thanks to those who continue to make this platform great. I appreciate you. I honor all my relations. Aho. God bless you.


This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

Oh! That truly touches my heart, dear friend! You are so talented.

Thank you so much, sister. Your encouragement touches my heart. So let's call it a heart high-five, and keep on loving up Steemit! ✨

A heart high-five it is, 'Resteemed

Beautiful drawings.

Thanks for your compliment. Hope you have a great day.

This post has received a 4.57% upvote from thanks to: @saulos.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44